1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New Joying 7" Android Head Unit JY-UM128P2 Octacore 2GB/32GB

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Atomic, Feb 10, 2018.

  1. Mar 21, 2018 at 10:13 AM
    #21
    rondog

    rondog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Member:
    #45618
    Messages:
    2,289
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ronnie
    Escondido/San Diego
    Excellent. I will order that too since I got the same head unit. What are the two harnesses that come with the head unit? One is labeled ISO CABLE and the other is 20P ALL. Am I supposed to use one or the other?

    I think I still need something else to make sure my OEM sub and amp can connect. I think something like this: https://www.crutchfield.com/p_120TY...7luUqztEyso1jaSFX9xB64-QVhbUf0vRoC9TwQAvD_BwE
     
  2. Mar 23, 2018 at 9:29 AM
    #22
    Atomic

    Atomic [OP] Master Cylinder

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Member:
    #119478
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Sport Double Cab Long Bed

    The Hilux harness is used in lieu of any other cables that come stock with the unit. I don't have a sub or amp, so I can't help there. But the Hilux cable did have a fused output for an external amp.
     
  3. Apr 4, 2018 at 9:13 AM
    #23
    rondog

    rondog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Member:
    #45618
    Messages:
    2,289
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ronnie
    Escondido/San Diego
    I got my joying unit installed. I use an iphone so I tether the head unit using my mobile hotspot but it doesn't seem to automatically connect. Bluetooth connects automatically. Do you know if there is a way to use data via bluetooth so I dont have to use my wifi hotspot?
     
  4. Apr 5, 2018 at 7:05 AM
    #24
    Atomic

    Atomic [OP] Master Cylinder

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Member:
    #119478
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Sport Double Cab Long Bed
    I don't think it will tether via bluetooth. I tried and couldn't get it to work, even though my provider (Verizon) said I should be able to based on my data plan. I use my phone as WiFi hot spot for tethering, and that works. Connects automatically for me if I have my phone as a hotpsot on, it connects automatically to the phone as soon as I lose range for my home WiFi.

    I am not sure if I would try to get the bluetooth to work too hard because Joying is getting ready to release Andoid 8.0 Oreo and I suppose that will change some things on the connectivity of the head unit. The Joying Android 8.0 Oreo release is only going to be for the PX5 Rockchip based units, not the Intel Sofia units.
     
  5. Apr 5, 2018 at 3:05 PM
    #25
    rondog

    rondog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Member:
    #45618
    Messages:
    2,289
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ronnie
    Escondido/San Diego
    Even if I leave my hotspot on, iOS turns it off to save batter or something. It still requires me to to at least go to settings > hotspot in my phone (even though it is already checked on) and then the head unit connects after about ~20 seconds.

    I think the head unit I got has android 6 on it. Are we able to update to the newer OS or is it hardware based?
     
  6. Apr 5, 2018 at 3:15 PM
    #26
    Atomic

    Atomic [OP] Master Cylinder

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Member:
    #119478
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Sport Double Cab Long Bed
    I am on a Samsung android phone. Not a iPhone guy, so I can't help.

    You should be able to upgrade the Android 8.0 version on your head unit if you have the PX5 octacore head unit. They haven't come out with the upgrade yet. What model headunit do you have?
     
  7. Apr 6, 2018 at 3:15 PM
    #27
    Cozza

    Cozza Hi

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Member:
    #190357
    Messages:
    1,152
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Westminster, CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM DCSB
    5100s / 885 / AAL / SOS Sliders and Skids
    I got it wired up today! So nice to have the controls back.

    I did have to change the large wide plug from the hilux harness to the other one that matched the truck harness i had previously. Not sure if this was due to my 2010 or what. 20180406_174944.jpg 20180406_173015.jpg

    Thanks again!
     

Products Discussed in

To Top