1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

new rims/tires - need tpms?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by D44boy, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. Jul 10, 2012 at 4:05 PM
    #1
    D44boy

    D44boy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Member:
    #82003
    Messages:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Kaneohe, hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2011 prerunner double cab
    Hey guys,
    Got a 2011 dblcab prerunner with stock steelies 15x7. If I buy new rims and tires, do I have to get the TPMS pulled out from the stock tires, then put in? I wouldn't want to buy new ones, but I am just understanding how they work. They go inside the tire and is attached to the valve stem right? To pull them out of the stockies seem like a lot of extra work.
     
  2. Jul 10, 2012 at 5:43 PM
    #2
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    15,732
    Gender:
    Male
    15s on a 2nd gen? Pics.. And you don't need tpms if you check your psi at least weekly, it's the annoying light that comes on the dash that bugs everyone.
     
  3. Jul 11, 2012 at 10:49 AM
    #3
    D44boy

    D44boy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Member:
    #82003
    Messages:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Kaneohe, hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2011 prerunner double cab
    Ope. I mean 16x7. Ok, thats what i thought, just gotta deal with the light. Thanks!
     
  4. Jul 11, 2012 at 10:52 AM
    #4
    krimson

    krimson Nothin

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Member:
    #6714
    Messages:
    3,437
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    OME 3" lift with 885 coils. OME Shocks with TSB 1.5 AAL. 285/75/16 KM2s. XD Hoss 16" wheels. DDM Tuning 6000K HIDs, H10 6000K Fogs. BHLM. Debaged. 20% tint on front windows.
    Yes, the place where you are getting the new wheels and tires will install the OEM TPMS sensor for you on the new wheels. They will charge you extra for it though.
     
  5. Jul 11, 2012 at 11:19 AM
    #5
    SCSPerformance

    SCSPerformance Stealth Custom Series™

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57195
    Messages:
    3,230
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Vin
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma
    Camburg LT kit DMZ SUA kit SCS wheels Matte Black custom paint
    They will try to charge you extra for it, but ask if they can make you a deal. More often than not, they'll do it for you for very little.
     
  6. Jul 11, 2012 at 11:26 AM
    #6
    JdMeF9SiR2

    JdMeF9SiR2 PARTS HOARDER

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Member:
    #35758
    Messages:
    2,150
    Gender:
    Male
    Riverside CA
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma
    One thing to keep in mind - if you are upgrading wheels you will more likely than not be changing to aluminum alloy wheels. The TPMS sensors from stock steel wheels will not mount properly into an alloy wheel. If you do want to keep your TPMS system functional you will need to purchase new sensors from Toyota that are designed to work with alloy wheels, EZ Sensor aftermarket sensors, or something similar.
     
  7. Jul 11, 2012 at 8:48 PM
    #7
    tacoma07pre

    tacoma07pre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Member:
    #68529
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    kansas city
    will the tpms sensor adapter straps work with the sensors in the stock steel wheels?
     
  8. Jul 11, 2012 at 10:08 PM
    #8
    JdMeF9SiR2

    JdMeF9SiR2 PARTS HOARDER

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Member:
    #35758
    Messages:
    2,150
    Gender:
    Male
    Riverside CA
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma
    You can use the straps, yes. Just make sure anytime you go in to have your tires changed or a flat fixed you alert the installer. It's possible they can break the sensors if they don't know they are strapped to the barrel.
     
To Top