1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New Sport Rims no TPMS, What do I need?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Rhody76, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. Apr 3, 2011 at 8:48 AM
    #1
    Rhody76

    Rhody76 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Member:
    #47755
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    2011 SR5 DCLB 4x4
    Rear leaf TSB, Bilstein 5100s set at 1.75",1" blocks, UWS low profile toolbox in black, husky liners, tint, LED interior and reverse lights, yellow fogs
    So I just purchased a new set of 17" sport rims from a seller on ebay. These do not come with TPMS. If I want to have TPMS installed on these what exactly do I need and what am I looking at for cost? I have seen a set of 4 tpms on ebay for around $150. I have a buddy who is a mechanic so I'm pretty sure he has the tool to program them.

    I do have the 16" steelies with the TPMS still installed but from what Ive read these are not compatible with the 17" alloys. Has anyone had succcess using the TPMS from the steelies with the 17" alloys??

    I really dont want to put a piece of electrical tape on my display to hide the light but I dont want to spend big $$ on new sensors and programming. Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  2. Apr 3, 2011 at 8:53 AM
    #2
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,729
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    You have to turn the sensors 180° for them to work in alloy wheels IIRC.
     
  3. Apr 3, 2011 at 8:59 AM
    #3
    azntha1one

    azntha1one Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51070
    Messages:
    262
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Long Beach
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner
    A few
    you would a new set of tmps with an 40 degree offset. i dont believe the stock steels tmps will work, but dont quote me on it.

    if your purchasing them on ebay just make sure its compatible. btw, a dealership will want $400+ for a set of tmps. that is from my experience.

    if you have the extra cash, i would get a new set of tmps. otherwise, electrical tape it.
     
  4. Apr 3, 2011 at 10:22 AM
    #4
    cyclonerider2

    cyclonerider2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Member:
    #43739
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Youngstown, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner
    So, if I run wheels with no TMPS for the summer and just cover the warning light, will that cause any problems with the vehicle or the computer? I've been wondering about what to do if I install aftermarket wheels. It doesn't bother me to cover the light. When I reinstall the stock wheels for the winter, can I reset the system or does that need to be done at the dealership?:confused:
     
  5. Apr 3, 2011 at 12:22 PM
    #5
    Rhody76

    Rhody76 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Member:
    #47755
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    2011 SR5 DCLB 4x4
    Rear leaf TSB, Bilstein 5100s set at 1.75",1" blocks, UWS low profile toolbox in black, husky liners, tint, LED interior and reverse lights, yellow fogs
    So turning them 180 degrees will work and I can use the ones I have?
     
  6. Apr 3, 2011 at 12:56 PM
    #6
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    There's been mixed sucess with various shops trying this. For some, it has worked, others the shops claimed they couldn't get the tire on with the TPMS rotated.

    You can get a set of wheel straps and use standard valve stems also. The wheel straps strap the old TPMS sensor to the center of the wheel so their still functional. Some members are running these with aftermarket wheels so they could keep their stock sensors.
    http://www.revolutionsupply.com/strapkit.aspx
    (I just googled it and this was the first supplier that came up)
     
  7. Apr 3, 2011 at 1:06 PM
    #7
    RoyB

    RoyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Member:
    #9708
    Messages:
    1,646
    Gender:
    Male
    Chicago burbs
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD DC Sport
    ive seen people put their old sensors in a piece of pvc with a valve stem and pump it up to 30 psi. then just ziptie it under your truck somewhere. then you dont have to buy new sensors and your light wont be on.
     
  8. Apr 3, 2011 at 7:07 PM
    #8
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    x2, I had to use the TPMS straps.
     
To Top