1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

new tires and now getting tps sensor

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by 80s toysport, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. Jul 8, 2012 at 9:15 AM
    #1
    80s toysport

    80s toysport [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Member:
    #63461
    Messages:
    233
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nikolai (Nik)
    kansas city, ks
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD off road
    Camper, nerf bars, visors, hood bug gaurd, ABS killswitch, bed light
    I just put on my new tires and now my tps sensor keeps coming on. I have the right amiunt of psi on all 4 tires. Anyone have this same problem.
     
  2. Jul 8, 2012 at 12:43 PM
    #2
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,400
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Does it stay illuminated or is it blinking? Did you reset them using the button under the steering wheel?
     
  3. Jul 9, 2012 at 2:17 PM
    #3
    80s toysport

    80s toysport [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Member:
    #63461
    Messages:
    233
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nikolai (Nik)
    kansas city, ks
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD off road
    Camper, nerf bars, visors, hood bug gaurd, ABS killswitch, bed light
    it would blink then stays on. i tried different psi but still getting the same thing. the tires max is 44psi. i had it from there to 30psi but still nothing. i tried resetting it with the button also but nothing. i know the tire place didnt mess around with it cause i watched them take the old ones off and mount the new ones.
     
  4. Jul 10, 2012 at 11:52 AM
    #4
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy The dog did it...I swear!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,058
    Gender:
    Male
    High Desert... land of junipers, sage brush, and l
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop supersport canopy, black westin bullbar/tube steps, piaa offroad lights, weathertech floor mats, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    Take it back to the place that did the work and tell them to fix it. Ir's possible they might have damaged one of the sensors.
     
  5. Jul 11, 2012 at 9:06 PM
    #5
    80s toysport

    80s toysport [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Member:
    #63461
    Messages:
    233
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nikolai (Nik)
    kansas city, ks
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD off road
    Camper, nerf bars, visors, hood bug gaurd, ABS killswitch, bed light
    I dont think they did. I was there watching them the whole time. I didnt notice it till the next day but then i only drove it from the tire shop witch is like half a mile from my house. Im gonna take the spare off this weekend and see if i still get it. Forgot all about the spare which is still the originaland smaller series.
     
  6. Jul 12, 2012 at 8:00 AM
    #6
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,400
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    The spare does not have a tpms sensor on the 2009s
     
  7. Jul 12, 2012 at 8:02 AM
    #7
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    11,682
    Gender:
    Male
    I'd take it back to the shop and have them fix it.
     
  8. Jul 13, 2012 at 11:40 AM
    #8
    80s toysport

    80s toysport [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Member:
    #63461
    Messages:
    233
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nikolai (Nik)
    kansas city, ks
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD off road
    Camper, nerf bars, visors, hood bug gaurd, ABS killswitch, bed light
    yeah, i looked the other day and there is none. ill think bout taking it up there. im not to worried bout it though. just thinking bout going under the dash and removing the light or pulling it out of its area so i dont get that annoying light. thanks for all the help guys.
     
  9. Jul 13, 2012 at 11:43 AM
    #9
    Bobbb

    Bobbb "Rumors of Bob, but never Bob. It is Bob, right?"

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63498
    Messages:
    1,204
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Bob
    Vehicle:
    Bob
    Tundra TRD/OR
    This. Have them plug into the OBD port and reset the computer to make sure it's recognizing all sensors. Should only take them a few mintues.
     
To Top