1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Newbie here

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by twfsa, May 29, 2010.

1. May 29, 2010 at 4:59 AM
    twfsa

twfsa [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tom
    Omaha Ne
    Vehicle:
    04 TRD 4X4
    881 Front coils, Bilstien 5100's all the way front set to "0" Icon Dynamic's mini leafs in rear, stock tires.
    Bought a 04 TDR 50k on the clock, just wondering where problem areas are for body rust, seen where frame rust was an issue on some models in certain areas, I live in Nebr and we use salt on the street. This truck was a Kansas vehicle, the underside looks pretty rust free, the bottoms of the doors are rust free tailgate was clean.On other trucks I have owned I used to pull the tail lights out 2 times a year and hose out that area that was above the rear wheel openings, where dirt collected.

I bought the trk from Carmax its a one owner its had some use, I was wondering if it would be a good idea to change all the fluids, gear box's, ATF, coolant and sparkplugs. Its kind of a maintance thing I've always been concerned with, I do all the maintance on my bike and wifes car the only thing I am a little leary of is removing the spark plugs, all of my other vehicles had plug wires, and not individual coils, don't want to break anything. Once I get the title I may try and contact the previous owner to see what kind of service it has had.

Drove back to Omaha from KC, 70 mph A/C and cruise on 186 miles 9.1 gals 20.4 mpg hope I do well in the city.

Checked in town no freeway driving mpg 16.79 MPG, better than I thought I would do