1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Newbie with a dead Tacoma

Discussion in 'New Members' started by yodagal, Nov 28, 2015.

1. Nov 28, 2015 at 5:32 PM
    yodagal

yodagal [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2003 Tacoma 4x4
    It's my first time posting anything on anything...A few days ago I forgot my oil cap and drove about 20km without it. I checked the dipstick and it showed level was still fine but after replacing cap and doing another short drive I noticed the check oil light coming on (I don't have an oil pressure gauge) and could hear a very very faint rattle sound when I pushed on gas. Today I was driving it to the shop to get oil pressure checked when I started losing power, the engine started banging and she died. I'm having a hard time believing that I just blew my engine because I had no oil cap for 20 km. Could the oil pressure have gotten that low in that time and if it was a pressure issue, why didn't it build up after the cap was back on? I don't see any oil drops under my truck.

2. Nov 28, 2015 at 5:52 PM
    fxntime

fxntime Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma off road TRD and 2014 FJC
    Leaving the oil fill cap off had absolutely no bearing on your engine seizing up, especially if you had checked your oil level and it was fine. To lose enough oil to seize, your engine compartment would have been drenched in oil and there would be an absolute mess under it.

3. Nov 28, 2015 at 6:05 PM
    MTgirl

MTgirl too many frogs, not enough princes... Moderator

Member:
    First Name:
    Weesa
    Bob's secret mod lair
    Vehicle: