1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

no high beams

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by trussell456, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. Dec 21, 2012 at 10:30 PM
    #21
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Nope. One positive power feed to each side. Separate switched high and low beam grounds.
     
  2. Dec 22, 2012 at 1:47 PM
    #22
    trussell456

    trussell456 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Member:
    #70322
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    03 TRD V6 5-Speed
    Bilstein 5100's / Eibach's / AAL / All Pro Front Bumper / Skids / Billet Grill / 33x12.5x15 Duratracs / Dick Cepek DC-2's / TRS Retrofit / 20" Light Bar / 6" HID Fogs / Wet Okoles / WeatherGuard Tool Box
    Oh wow now i feel stupid, tried it like that and the factory plug gets power when the high beams are on. That leaves me to believe the relay control box from TRS is faulty. Contacted Andrew about the issue.
     
  3. Dec 22, 2012 at 9:00 PM
    #23
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    I think you are on the right track.

    The only reason I know about the switched ground is I learned the hard way on my previous Toyota truck. I had built a heavy duty harness to run 80/100W H4 headlights. It's a screwy system, and all kinds of odd things can happen if you hook into it like it's a positive switched setup.
     
  4. Dec 23, 2012 at 7:39 AM
    #24
    trussell456

    trussell456 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Member:
    #70322
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    03 TRD V6 5-Speed
    Bilstein 5100's / Eibach's / AAL / All Pro Front Bumper / Skids / Billet Grill / 33x12.5x15 Duratracs / Dick Cepek DC-2's / TRS Retrofit / 20" Light Bar / 6" HID Fogs / Wet Okoles / WeatherGuard Tool Box
    Unfortunately trs is closed until Wednesday for the holidays. Hopefully he can send out a new relay box short after that.

    Thanks for the help guys! Appreciate it. Have a great holiday
     
  5. Dec 27, 2012 at 7:54 PM
    #25
    sebassusmc

    sebassusmc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Member:
    #74894
    Messages:
    223
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    kevin
    va beach
    Vehicle:
    09 dub cab trd
    fox's on all 4 corners, expo leafs, BHLM D2S retro fit, custom grill, black out badges, lower bumper plasti- dipped........
    ok i have had my d2s retros in a couple months and bout 2 weeks ago the drivers side started acting up but would go back to low beam.it was stuck on high beam but i unplugged the projector and it went back but now its stuck again and i cant get it back to low beam. TRS said to make sure every thing on the slides are not bent and from what i can tell they are now.

    any one had this or know how to fix it? thanks
     
To Top