1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Noob question. 2013 OEM Radio quit working? Repalcement?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Toyadk57, Dec 30, 2021.

1. Dec 30, 2021 at 12:27 PM
    Toyadk57

Toyadk57 [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma 4x4
    Sorry, new to this forum. Apologize if this topic has been covered before. Tried searching site, but I am not very tech savvy.
    Maybe a simple answer to this.
    Original radio quit picking up most stations, only picks up local ones that are close by and even those tend to fade in and out.
    Called Toyota dealer asked about getting a replacement OEM( NO Nav system, just radio and CD player) and was told it was over $3000. WTF?
    Looked on ebay, etc and can find a used replacement OEM for about $200 to $300. Same model as confirmed by the #s on the face plate of the radio.
    My real concern is that if I get a used radio will it have to be reprogrammed or something to make it work? Has anyone done this? How big of a job is it. You tubed it and just the physical replacement doesn't look to bad.
    Suggestions? Comments? Other Threads? Thanks for any help.

This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
  2. Dec 30, 2021 at 12:34 PM
    rnish

rnish Well-Known Member

Member:
    Peoples Republic of Maryland (USA)
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2nd gen
    King's, Camburg UCA, Dirt King LCA, armor
    Try unplugging the antenna clean the contacts and plug it back in.

Suggest buyin the new radio from somewhere that does installation.

ZMan2k2 likes this.
  3. Dec 30, 2021 at 2:51 PM
    ZMan2k2