1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Northeast folks: advice needed re: Winch/4x4

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by o5iiawah, Aug 30, 2011.

1. Aug 30, 2011 at 2:33 PM
    o5iiawah

o5iiawah [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tim
    Philly 'burbs, PA
    Vehicle:
    '11 4x2 access cab 2.7l
    I bought my 4x2 ac 5-lug for chewing up the FL highway miles but am considering transferring to the northeast, specifically Philly/NY areas.

I am a cell tech and work primarily at cell towers. The access roads are dirt, cut through woods and I can almost guarantee are not plowed.

I just got it in Feb and already have 22k miles on it. I think I'll get screwed if I try to trade it in on a DC 4x4 so should I just invest in a 3" lift and a winch to get out of the crappy spots? What do you guys think?

2. Aug 30, 2011 at 2:39 PM
    bigbri04103

bigbri04103 Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Brian
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD
    Seat belt dinger shut off, debadged, window tint, 3" toytec lift, front fended trim, D rings in front of bed, and mangled rear bumper (soon to be a relentless rear)
    I'm further north than that but when it comes to snow a two wheel drive truck is way to light in the rear with out some sort of weight. I don't think you will be happy with out 4X4. good luck with the move.

3. Aug 30, 2011 at 2:45 PM
    ktmrider

ktmrider Senior Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB 4x4 Sport S/C
    Junk
    trade for a 4x4 while you still are not too far behind, get a early 2nd gen and I doubt you will take that big of a hit.

4. Aug 30, 2011 at 2:52 PM
    Pugga