1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Novice set-up

Discussion in 'Photography' started by backcountryj, Sep 23, 2016.

1. Sep 23, 2016 at 4:35 PM
    backcountryj

backcountryj [OP] Pending Approval

Member:
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    GA
    Hey all,
    I'm hoping to get some guidance on a camera setup (body and lense/s). I'm new to true photography but I've been wanting to dive in for a while. I honesty didn't even know what Mirrorless cameras were until recently. I don't know if I'm better off with a DSLR or a Mirrorless.
    My main goal will be for the personal enjoyment of taking and editing pictures. But if I can eventually generate some revenue that would be great. I'll primarily be shooting landscape, wildlife, indoor/outdoor of people, and would love to eventually get into night scape photography (I guess most anything and everything).
    Any suggestions on what route and where to buy concerning DSLR vs Mirrorless (pros/cons), body, lense/s would be greatly appreciated. I know photography isn't cheap, but I'm hoping to spend less than $750 total. Preferably closer to $500. Also, what if any software is a necessity (photoshop)?
    Thanks for any feedback

2. Sep 23, 2016 at 4:44 PM
    DustStorm4x4

DustStorm4x4 BBC 2020

Member:
    U S A
    Vehicle:
    04 Jeep LJ
    I think in that price range, you could get something like a Canon Rebel T5i with a couple lenses.

My grandma found a really good deal during Christmas time and gifted me the T5i and it came with a short and a longer lense.