1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

OBDII error - No communication

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Fishcraft, Apr 15, 2011.

  1. Apr 15, 2011 at 11:00 AM
    #1
    Fishcraft

    Fishcraft [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Member:
    #54961
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakewood, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD PreRunner SR5
    I took my tacoma to 3 different smog test shops and couldn't pass the test because of an error with the OBDII connection - no communication. The truck passed the actual smog test with flying color. There are no blown fused in the engine compartment or under the dash. The smog tech checked myOBD II post and it has power. I found a thread posted here from 2007, but no one replied to it. Please help if you can. Thanks.
     
  2. Apr 15, 2011 at 11:07 AM
    #2
    TiMe

    TiMe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Member:
    #44388
    Messages:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Vehicle:
    05 Dbl Cab 4x4
    6" Fabtech with coilovers 33" nitto mud grapplers
    Had the same thing happen just the other day. CEL was on and had my buddy check it with his scanner and it came up error. Had another buddy with a snap on modis scanner check it and it read the codes. Try a different scanner.
     
  3. Apr 15, 2011 at 2:44 PM
    #3
    Fishcraft

    Fishcraft [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Member:
    #54961
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakewood, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD PreRunner SR5
    The first smog station tried twice and could not communicate with the vehicle. He wanted $95 to diagnose the problem on top of the $53 for the smog test.

    The second smog station (a test only station) ran the test 3 times and he told me, he has the lastest software update for this system. He said my truck is a CAN vehicle and his computer should bypass the OBD interface, but it didn't and failed. Test and service were free!

    The third smog station also ran the test 3 times he also used a snap-on scanner which did not established a communicate line, double check the fuses and wires, all checked out ok. Test and service were free!

    I just spend 2 hours examining all of the wires and connectors under the dash and found a loose single female pin connector near the gas paddle. It looks used, but I couldn't the corresponding male pin.
     
  4. Apr 15, 2011 at 2:47 PM
    #4
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,810
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    It's common to find "spare" plugs in the dash. They are for options that your tacoma may not have come with.
     
  5. Apr 15, 2011 at 3:51 PM
    #5
    Wattapunk

    Wattapunk Stay lifted my friends !

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Member:
    #30098
    Messages:
    1,449
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Uncle K
    TX
    Vehicle:
    2005 Dbl Cab LB 4x4 TRD
    Toytec CO's, IRONMAN rear leaf pack, All pro front bumper, Body Armor rear bumper, BA steps MB TKO's w/285/75/16 Terra Grapplers, Bakflip tonneau cover, autopage remote start alarm, Ultragauge
    Have you disconnected your battery recently? Sometimes that communication error may occur if the ECU haven't totally reset. (may take 50+ miles) I would drive it around and then hook a scan tool up to make sure there are no codes before taking it for re-inspection. If not, then recommend another scanner.
     
  6. Apr 16, 2011 at 12:17 PM
    #6
    Fishcraft

    Fishcraft [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Member:
    #54961
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakewood, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD PreRunner SR5
    I took my truck to the dealer and it passed the smog test. The tech said there is nothing wrong with my port. My truck is a CAN vehicle, not an OBDII. Next time I'll just go to the dealer for the test and save me some trouble. Thanks to all who helped me!
     
  7. Apr 11, 2014 at 2:18 PM
    #7
    Asphaltjunkie

    Asphaltjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Member:
    #127463
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    Don't mean to hijack the thread but I'm having a similar problem, so better to kickstart this one.

    06 Tacoma PreRunner, V6 Auto. Never had any problems other than gas cap lost it's seal last year. Tried to get it inspected today (96 and up require emissions testing in NC) and she failed. Reason stated was "could not establish communication." I checked every fuse in both blocks, under the hood and under the dash. Any suggestions before I by a new ECM? Thanks
     
  8. Apr 11, 2014 at 2:58 PM
    #8
    smd3

    smd3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Member:
    #106086
    Messages:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    Seems like OP was able to get smog at the toyota dealership, can you do that?
     
  9. Apr 14, 2014 at 5:28 PM
    #9
    Asphaltjunkie

    Asphaltjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Member:
    #127463
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    I've got another mechanic/inspection station who's willing to test the connection and see what happens. If it fails again I guess the dealership will be next stop
     
  10. Apr 14, 2014 at 8:29 PM
    #10
    edm3rd

    edm3rd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Member:
    #89550
    Messages:
    695
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Duke
    Memphis TN
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner AC 6sp
    hard tonneau,scangauge
    CAN is a protocol that is OBDII compliant along with several others. It is like a subcategory.
     
  11. Oct 23, 2014 at 2:34 AM
    #11
    IceMan50

    IceMan50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Member:
    #89063
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Western MA
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DBL Cab Long Bed TRD
    TRD Intake
    Im having the same issue with my 08' No connection when brought to the inspection station. Next step is taking it to the dealer. Any updates on this? Thanks.
     
  12. Oct 23, 2014 at 4:41 AM
    #12
    offgrid taco

    offgrid taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Member:
    #131718
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    ned
    mass
    Vehicle:
    05 6sp TRD off road
    DT long tubes headers, DT y pipe Urd TCAI, OME 3" lift
    Just had the same problem with mine. Three tries with their computer and could not connect. My scan gauge connects right away. Took it to a friend at a shop and could not get their new snap on diagnostic computer to connect. Messed with the connection for twenty min and finally connected. Took the entire obd wire harness and jammed it forward into the connector. This seemed to solve the problem at least for now.
     
  13. Oct 23, 2014 at 4:53 AM
    #13
    kg5ie

    kg5ie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Member:
    #137680
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Tx
    Vehicle:
    '14 PreRunner
    UltraGauge

    [​IMG]


    Often the "no communication" error has nothing to do with the connector. It is a product of the machine finding the correct protocol and communication parameters in order to communicate with the computer. Not unlike the old baud rate issues some of us old folks fought with computer telephone modems. ;)
     
  14. Oct 23, 2014 at 5:09 AM
    #14
    gearcruncher

    gearcruncher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Member:
    #90305
    Messages:
    3,409
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Canadain bumper technician
    Great white North 51.0333° N, 93.8333° W
    Vehicle:
    2010.TRD.SportDCLB4x4Limited leather package
    TRD Sport Rally -5 speed automatic Limited ,Factory heated leather seats ,chrome package,Super white with front windows tinted to 35 % Dick Cepek DC-2 wheels Summer tires - Good year silent armor P265/65R17 Winter tires - Good year P265/65R17 Ultra Ice studded Illuminated 4x4 switch TRD 3rd brake light cover ($20) TRD seat belt shoulder protectors (5). ($50) TRD ...B pillar emblems ($20) TRD rear slider sticker with devil horns ( $6) TRD summer floor matts ($60) TRD steering wheel emblem ($20) TRD floor pedals .($95) TRD shorty antenna ($14) TRD front Windshield emblems ($17) TRD head pillows .($60) TRD head rest protectors TRD door scuff protection $20 TRD floor matt emblems ($40) TRD tow plug emblem . ($40) TRD cigarette lighter with LED.($35) TRD tissue dispenser ($12) TRD front bezel emblems ($9) TRD door emblems ($6) TRD lanyards($9) TRD lisence plates with TRD bolts($50) TRD fender emblems TRD center caps Part Number:PT904-35070-CC ($80) TRD cd
  15. Oct 23, 2014 at 9:28 PM
    #15
    IceMan50

    IceMan50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Member:
    #89063
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Western MA
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DBL Cab Long Bed TRD
    TRD Intake
    Brought mine to the dealer today for a second attempt at inspection; same issue (could not communicate). The tech checked all the fuses under the hood with a test light (I watched him) with no luck. He also, tried pushing all the pins into the connector to make sure everything was properly seated, this didn't help. So this makes two different shops that are unable to link up with the OBDII. At this point I have scheduled an appointment in a week to have them diagnose the problem, but at $95/hr to start, I was really hoping for some additional advise. I've read all the threads on TacomaWorld pertaining to this issue and no one seems to have a definitive solution besides the fuse (which is functional in my case). Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
     
  16. Jun 6, 2016 at 12:55 PM
    #16
    WhiteNemesis

    WhiteNemesis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Member:
    #101165
    Messages:
    1,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mr PattyCakes
    T-Town, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Cant get enough
    Blow it through the roof
    what was the outcome?
     
  17. Jun 6, 2016 at 4:20 PM
    #17
    Drivesector

    Drivesector Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Member:
    #78302
    Messages:
    201
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD sport
    Snap on and every other decent newer obd 2 scanner will work with your truck. You have a problem with your port most likely.
     
To Top