1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Odd Mod Has Anyone Tried Anything Like This?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by panthergm, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. Oct 21, 2008 at 7:13 PM
    #1
    panthergm

    panthergm [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5259
    Messages:
    32
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Vehicle:
    SR5
    None Yet
    Hey Everyone,


    Got a Question for anyone who might have an idea. I have a 2007 Tacoma NO TRD Package. I have an alpine CDA-9886 I think. it has a usb input for auxulary input. I will attach pics of the deck and USB interface. what I want to do is hook an external laptop hard drive to the deck and be able to play all my mp3s off the hard drive. but hte external drive requires 2 USB Ports. Any Input from anyone is to how I could acomplish this?

    DECK FRONT SHRUNK.jpg
    USB PLUG SHRUNK.jpg
     
  2. Oct 21, 2008 at 7:31 PM
    #2
    gavonder

    gavonder She's Kickass!

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Member:
    #3825
    Messages:
    390
    Gender:
    Male
    Bethel, Ct
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Sunroof, Leer Cap w/ Thule rack, Factory Running Boards, Fog Light Mod, Hood Struts, Scangauge, w/homemade mirror mount, AC/Defrost mod, Rear Spring TSB, TRD Center Caps
  3. Oct 21, 2008 at 7:34 PM
    #3
    panthergm

    panthergm [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5259
    Messages:
    32
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Vehicle:
    SR5
    None Yet
    Sorry,

    The Drive Needs one for Data Transfer and one for power. hence 2 usb ports avaible
     
  4. Oct 21, 2008 at 7:40 PM
    #4
    panthergm

    panthergm [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5259
    Messages:
    32
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Vehicle:
    SR5
    None Yet
    My Concern is the Deck Cant Support the Power needed. I dont know yet as I havent tried it yet. The Cord that came with the drive is a usb cord that came with the drive. I tried a 5V Adapter on it and it wouldnt work for some reason. Go Figure? any ideas?
     
  5. Oct 21, 2008 at 7:46 PM
    #5
    panthergm

    panthergm [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5259
    Messages:
    32
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Vehicle:
    SR5
    None Yet
    sorry,

    its a plug almost like a headphone jack sorry. but one for power.
     
  6. Oct 21, 2008 at 8:04 PM
    #6
    TorenApart

    TorenApart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Member:
    #6665
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport
    Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit, Total Chaos UCA's, 18'' Black XD Monster, 285/60R18 Cooper Zeon LTZ, OEM Skid Plate, Weather Tech Floor Mats, Lund Tonneau, Custom 2-tone gray leather, Aero Turbine 2525 muffler with AR25 resonator, Aero Turbine Exhaust Tip, Mr. Marv subwoofer enclosure w/ 2 JL 10W3v2's, AFE Pro Dry S, TRAIN HORNS, Eclipse AVN-6620, Pioneer PRS-D2100T, Hybrid Audio Clarus 6.5'' Front Components, Black Headlight Mod, Tinted tail lights, PL5300 with Eclipse BEC-109
    Buy a large flash drive that doesn't need all that extra stuff.
    here's a 16gb for $25.
     
  7. Oct 22, 2008 at 1:28 AM
    #7
    808trdsport

    808trdsport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5882
    Messages:
    242
    Gender:
    Male
    Honolulu
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Sport Prerunner
    6000k HIDS, double tint in the back and tint front side windows, CGS cat back exhaust, AFE Pro Dry filter
  8. Oct 22, 2008 at 5:46 AM
    #8
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,446
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft
    Have you tried running with one USB plug? Most drives that have 2 plugs only require the second one for low power USB ports like laptops, hubs, or the front ports of a desktop. If you have a full power USB port only 1 needs to be plugged in more often than not. So give it a shot with 1 if you haven't already.
     
  9. Oct 22, 2008 at 6:45 AM
    #9
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I was just about to say that.

    If the head unit does not supply enough power, you could also look at hooking up a powered USB hub and using that. Then again, if you're going to start hacking apart power adapters and usb cables, you might as well make your own cable. Find a 12V to 5V adapter, cut off the end and splice the USB tip to it. Check to make sure your polarity is correct.

    Before you go to all the trouble though, make sure that the head unit doesn't require re-indexing everytime you start your truck. I think the DNX 8120 indexes every file on your hard drive each time you start up. I think I read that it took some about a minute per GB. :eek: That's why I'm waiting for a model that remembers the index.
     
  10. Oct 22, 2008 at 9:31 AM
    #10
    Rudbwoy7s

    Rudbwoy7s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9114
    Messages:
    1,504
    Gender:
    Male
    TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    08 Double cab 4x4 sr5
    3" Revtek suspension lift, 17" Black and silver American Eagle Alloy wheels, 285/70 Nitto Terra Grapplers, Flowmaster 40 series muffler, sockmonkey brake light cover, Maglight mod, Viper alarm, Smith & Wesson hitch receiver cover
    That would be my suggestion. For the price you can buy a few and just swap em out when you want to listen to something different.
     
  11. Oct 22, 2008 at 10:21 AM
    #11
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    I have been wanting to do this for the longest time i have about 40+ gigs on my external and want to hook it up but i have to buy the usb attachment from pioneer its the only thing setting me back.
     
  12. Oct 22, 2008 at 11:36 AM
    #12
    TorenApart

    TorenApart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Member:
    #6665
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport
    Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit, Total Chaos UCA's, 18'' Black XD Monster, 285/60R18 Cooper Zeon LTZ, OEM Skid Plate, Weather Tech Floor Mats, Lund Tonneau, Custom 2-tone gray leather, Aero Turbine 2525 muffler with AR25 resonator, Aero Turbine Exhaust Tip, Mr. Marv subwoofer enclosure w/ 2 JL 10W3v2's, AFE Pro Dry S, TRAIN HORNS, Eclipse AVN-6620, Pioneer PRS-D2100T, Hybrid Audio Clarus 6.5'' Front Components, Black Headlight Mod, Tinted tail lights, PL5300 with Eclipse BEC-109
    If a power source becomes an issue at that size of disc space, you could just buy a USB hub and plug in multiple flash drives....

    Otherwise, I wouldn't be surprised if you wait long enough they'll have affordable 32+ gb flash drives ...
    Here's one for $170...
     
  13. Oct 22, 2008 at 12:12 PM
    #13
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    True i have too many flash drives and i got my external free we will see when it comes time to install.
     
  14. Oct 22, 2008 at 12:32 PM
    #14
    Agent475

    Agent475 "Mark It Zero"

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Member:
    #8829
    Messages:
    2,876
    Gender:
    Male
    Waldorf, MD
    Vehicle:
    2006 Red TRD Sport
    Hood Struts, 3" Tuff Country Lift, Shortie Antenna, WeatherTechs, Tinted front windows, custom TRD seat covers, custom pedals, debadged, custom USMC badging, quasi-functional hoodscoop (i.e. I cut it open), black front Yota emblem, Tailgate Theft-Prevention mod, Horn Relocation mod, Old Man Emu Carrier Bearing Drop, Brighter Backup Lights Mod, Smittybilt Reciever Hitch Tow Point, currently working on Satoshi Grill Mod
    I'd prefer to use an external HD - one item less space. What about running that into the glove box instead of that spot on the dash?
     
  15. Oct 22, 2008 at 3:33 PM
    #15
    808trdsport

    808trdsport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5882
    Messages:
    242
    Gender:
    Male
    Honolulu
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma TRD Sport Prerunner
    6000k HIDS, double tint in the back and tint front side windows, CGS cat back exhaust, AFE Pro Dry filter
    http://www.gifflix.com/
     
  16. Oct 22, 2008 at 4:23 PM
    #16
    panthergm

    panthergm [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5259
    Messages:
    32
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Vehicle:
    SR5
    None Yet
    Wow, Thx For All The Responses Guys, That Cord Is In The dash like that because I want to custom fab a slot in the plastic piece that goes over that spot and just have a USB Port there. Can Plug a Hard Drive or A Thumb Drive and Just Put a Label Above it that says usb. For the person about the pioneer Yeah Alot of Decks are offering USB connectivity now. Mine Just Came WIth the USB Port Allready in Back Of It. I Just Had To get an extension cable up to the front of the vechicle which was like 5 Bucks. theres also an ipood Interface hooked up that you didnt see but I dont use ipoods. its in case I have a passenger with one or their iphone. it also has 2 additional Auxulary inputs so a total of 4 external devices can be hooked up to it. anyway I am feeling Cruddy today Gotta get back to the bathroom had some bad Lunch. Wish Me Luck and be back later
     
  17. Oct 23, 2008 at 7:42 AM
    #17
    Lithified

    Lithified Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Member:
    #9450
    Messages:
    23
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    09 4x2 Access Cab SR5
    side step bars
    I have one of these 2.5" hard drives that requires two USB ports, I wish it only needed one. But, I know there are 2.5" out there that only require 1 USB port. A friend of mine has one (250GB), I think it's a Western Digital unit. He said it cost him about $100.
     
  18. Oct 23, 2008 at 7:46 AM
    #18
    Lithified

    Lithified Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Member:
    #9450
    Messages:
    23
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    09 4x2 Access Cab SR5
    side step bars
    I just had another thought...still slow right now until the coffee kicks in, but if you already have the drive, would a USB hub work with your head unit? If so, you would be able to use both plugs.
     
  19. Oct 23, 2008 at 7:48 AM
    #19
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    just because it has two plugs, that doesn't mean it always needs both of them.
     
  20. Oct 23, 2008 at 7:55 AM
    #20
    Lithified

    Lithified Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Member:
    #9450
    Messages:
    23
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    09 4x2 Access Cab SR5
    side step bars
    I'll have to try it with one more often, but it doesn't seem to want to work with only 1 in (it's only a backup drive anyway, so doesn't really matter).
     
To Top