1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

OEM Camera Connection below Dash

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by DNahas, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. Feb 16, 2011 at 6:21 AM
    #41
    JLink

    JLink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36795
    Messages:
    10,580
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    The "Big Nig"
    Lifted, Locked, Armored. Ready To Wheel.
    Idk.. I used this thread as a guide for my install and had no problems. I guess have them make sure they tapped into the correct wires for the rear view camera and for the reverse sensor. Maybe print out and install thread from here to have them check
     
  2. Mar 17, 2011 at 1:42 PM
    #42
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    12,638
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and an Evenflow car seat in the back seat
  3. Mar 17, 2011 at 7:43 PM
    #43
    Jerry Bear

    Jerry Bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Member:
    #51743
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    :eek:

    The OEM backup camera runs on 6 Volts DC, not 12 Volts. The power supply to the camera should not exceed 7.05 VDC.

    I know this from the factory service manual and because I tested an OEM camera on the bench yesterday with a 6 Volt power supply.

    The OEM mirror/display supplies 6 VDC power to the camera when it receives the 12 Volt backup light signal.

    The OEM camera outputs standard NTSC composite video and will drive the composite video input of any display intended for use in North America. I used the composite input of a TV for my bench test.

    I just checked my 2010 and the lower connector (Factory Camera connector) is exactly the same as shown in the photo below of a 2009.

    The upper connector (Red wire = reverse signal trigger) is different on my 2010. It doesn't have a yellow wire. It does have the red wire, and the 2010 Electrical Wiring Diagram says that the red wire is the right place to attach the reverse light wire from the HU. Be careful. On my 2010, there is also a pink wire on the same connector. Don't connect to the wrong wire.

    Thanks to everyone who has posted about this. It was very helpful to me.
     
  4. Mar 18, 2011 at 4:12 AM
    #44
    rawdogie

    rawdogie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Member:
    #47862
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    GA
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner

    AWW CRAP......the guys that installed my Pioneer head unit couldnt get the back up camera to work and they said they called Toyota who confirmed it was a 12 volt camera. They could never get it to work so we hooked up an aftermarket camera in the stock location. It works now, but i really liked the stock camera better. It had much better peripheral visibility. Surprising i know. Sucks to think all they had to do is wire it up as a 6 volt. :(
     
  5. Mar 18, 2011 at 5:25 AM
    #45
    Westdog976

    Westdog976 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Member:
    #10514
    Messages:
    163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frankie
    Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    4x4 SR5 TRD Sport S/B D/C Magnetic Gray
    MX black upper and lower girlles, debadged, limo tints, TRD CAI, flowmaster dual side exit cat-back, DRL mod, 33x12.5 Toyo Open Country M/T, 18x9 XD Monsters, 6" stage II pro comp lift, smoked LED tails and third brake light, mag gray eyelids, 5901 viper remote start alarm, one touch window modules, 10,000k bixenon hid headlights, 3,000k hid fogs, 4x4 switch LED mod, RBP nerf bars, weathertech floor liners, muth signal mirrors, avid light bar, kenwood excelon dnx9140 nav
  6. Mar 18, 2011 at 5:44 AM
    #46
    AZBACKCOUNTRY

    AZBACKCOUNTRY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28443
    Messages:
    700
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    AZ-between the hammer and the anvil
    Vehicle:
    11' AC TRD OFF-ROAD 4x4
    AVID off road bolt on sliders, upper grillcraft, OEM color matched front grill color matched-rear bumper, ARE MX camper shell, wet Okole realtree seat covers,pelfreybuilt hi lift mounts,Timcha shackle receiver,bulaculla trailer harness relocate harness,ICON 2.5 Coilovers, ICON tubular UCA's. Allpro expo leafs, SS lines.Bilstein 110 extended rear shocks.
    Subbed for later
     
  7. Apr 3, 2011 at 12:13 PM
    #47
    MartyMcfly

    MartyMcfly Time Traveler

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Member:
    #49960
    Messages:
    952
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    ROB
    Clearwater Floriduh
    Vehicle:
    07 4runner V8
    see Build page for details.
    Ok guys. Hoping for some help here. I cannot get this thing to work.

    Anyone have this setup? factory backup camera but no backup review mirror?

    I have a base 09 reg cab. No backup mirror.
    However, from the factory, the truck does have the backup camera installed, wiring harness, and backup camera connector under the fuse box. And I've confirmed that it's all hooked up.

    I have the AVIC-Z110bt installed (with z120 software upgrade).

    Reverse signal wire hooked up and working, so the head unit does recognize reverse and displays the message for reverse images blah blah.

    However, the camera image does not display on the head unit.

    A coax video cable is connected to the head unit and the other end split and soldered onto the red and black wires as instructed. (negative is "shielding" black and positive is "center wire" red). All factory backup camera wires are still connected as instructed.


    wtf?

    Am I missing something? Is it because my truck doesn't have the towing package? Am I missing a fuse or relay or something?

    Can someone with the backup camera mirror please post an image of their fuse box and fuse & relays? I'm thinking that maybe the backup camera is hooked up to the Towing Relay missing from my truck but I don't know what relay it's supposed to use. I moved one of the blue relays to the empty towing relay port and tried it. no dice. I grabbed a spare fuse and plugged it into every empty port under the hood and under the dash. no dice.

    Anyone have this setup? factory backup camera but no backup review mirror?


    Thanks.
     
  8. Apr 3, 2011 at 10:33 PM
    #48
    Jerry Bear

    Jerry Bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Member:
    #51743
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    I believe that you need a 6 VDC supply to the camera:
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacomas/149448-noob-help-backup-camera.html
     
  9. Apr 5, 2011 at 10:58 AM
    #49
    MartyMcfly

    MartyMcfly Time Traveler

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Member:
    #49960
    Messages:
    952
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    ROB
    Clearwater Floriduh
    Vehicle:
    07 4runner V8
    see Build page for details.
  10. Apr 5, 2011 at 2:17 PM
    #50
    Jerry Bear

    Jerry Bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Member:
    #51743
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    The rearview mirror with display has a 12 VDC to 6 VDC converter. I don't know of anywhere else in the truck to get 6 VDC.
     
  11. Apr 5, 2011 at 3:21 PM
    #51
    MartyMcfly

    MartyMcfly Time Traveler

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Member:
    #49960
    Messages:
    952
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    ROB
    Clearwater Floriduh
    Vehicle:
    07 4runner V8
    see Build page for details.
    That would explain it. Sheeeit.

    Thanks
     
  12. Apr 17, 2011 at 4:25 PM
    #52
    CCFBERG

    CCFBERG The Shocker and Me Tall Dark TACO

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42572
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    LRAFB Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD 4x4 SR5 DBL cab
    Kenwood 516 DD head unit, Kenwood 12" sub, Kenwood 1800W amp, Brighter reverse light mod, 2nd Air filter ripped out, Tailgate anti-theft. Fog light anytime. Rearview mirror display in HU mod. JBA shorty headers & Catback. K&N Filter. Smittybilt Nerf Steps. Smittybilt M1 Grille. Pro Comp stage II, 6" Lift. 12V Bed PWR. LED interior lighting
    Did this Mod today. Works Great!!! When I was testing out everything before making any perm connections, I was having the "black scrolling line" changed out the AV cable to a high end AV cable and its crystal clear now. Thanks to the OP and everyone else that posted up on this Mod. Its been irritating me that my HU has the capability to display the BU cam but hasnt been connected up until today.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Jun 1, 2011 at 3:09 PM
    #53
    testedone

    testedone Speak English..it's America

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Member:
    #20476
    Messages:
    829
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    U.S.A.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Weathertec Mats, Pioneer AVIC-X930BT, Pioneer GEX-P920XM (SAT), Pioneer Premier TS-D602P 6.2, Blaupunkt THb 200A Sub, Trimmed Mud Flaps, BF Goodrich AT/KO 285/70/17 ... Toytec Ultimate Lift, Tuffy Bed Box, A.R.E. Cover, Pop-n-Lock, TRD Exhaust
    Thanks fro the tips guy, did this install in 25 minutes. used pins to insert into the factory harness as shown in the instructions... very cool mod...
     
  14. Jul 20, 2011 at 10:41 PM
    #54
    cgrove04

    cgrove04 2010 tacoma v6 fox's

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2398
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cory
    Richmond
    Vehicle:
    '10 trd sport v6 tacoma, fox's, ap bump, 33's
    hey how do I get rid of the scrolling black lines yall, I used a high end rca cable too, and im still getting those freakin lines any ideas.
     
  15. Jul 21, 2011 at 6:02 AM
    #55
    mrmumbels

    mrmumbels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46331
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    Land O Lakes, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 prerunner
    none
    I used a sheilded cable and had the same issue. Turns out it was just how I connected it under the dash. Try reconnecting it a few times and you'll get it. If you wiggle the wires down there you'll probably see it temporarily get better.
     
  16. Aug 18, 2011 at 11:11 PM
    #56
    SxDx

    SxDx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Member:
    #56904
    Messages:
    281
    Gender:
    Male
    TX
    HID HEADS/Fogs Fosgate P3L-S12 Sub Fosgate 800w AMP Pioneer 7" 4300DVD Widescreen Ballistic Seat Covers Bilstein Shocks/Lift set at 2.5" Spidertrax Goodyear Duratrac 285/70-17 LED SMD Reverse Lights Bed Cubby Lights TRD Catback Exhaust Custom Bedside Decals
    Ok I have a few questions. I did this today and for the most part i did it correct (i think). I have a Pioneer 4300dvd headunit.
    This is where I am stumped....
    1. I connected the RCA wire to "Video In" on the headunit and in order for it to show my reverse cam I need to toggle the unit to A/V. Do I have the RCA in the wrong plug on the headunit?
    2. In order for the unit to recognize reverse I know i need to tap into the reverse signal, is this done by running a separate wire altogether? If so, once i connect the pin into the reverse signal under the coin box where do I run it to on the HU?

    Here's a picture of the back of my headunit if it helps any.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Aug 19, 2011 at 5:38 AM
    #57
    Yota Toy

    Yota Toy Taco Sauce

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Member:
    #59913
    Messages:
    232
    Gender:
    Male
    FX retros, Blazer fog-light retro, JVC KW-NT30HD head unit, Pioneer 6X9's in front doors, Pioneer 6.5's in rear doors, two Pioneer 12" subs in sealed boxes, Sony X-Plod amp, Hidden Hitch trailer hitch, EGR window visors, two PIAA low-tone horns, Westin light bar with two 100-watt KC low profile driving lights.

    There should be a separate input that says "Camera".
    You do have to run a separate wire for the reverse signal, and there should be a input on your head unit just for this.

    I found the owners manual for that unit, attached is a screenshot of the camera connection and reverse wire connection.

    4300.JPG

    I used this thread as a guide when I installed my new head unit and it worked perfectly the first time.
     
  18. Aug 19, 2011 at 10:41 AM
    #58
    SxDx

    SxDx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Member:
    #56904
    Messages:
    281
    Gender:
    Male
    TX
    HID HEADS/Fogs Fosgate P3L-S12 Sub Fosgate 800w AMP Pioneer 7" 4300DVD Widescreen Ballistic Seat Covers Bilstein Shocks/Lift set at 2.5" Spidertrax Goodyear Duratrac 285/70-17 LED SMD Reverse Lights Bed Cubby Lights TRD Catback Exhaust Custom Bedside Decals
    Thanks a lot yota, I saw the rc in but never snapped that it was for the camera. As for the reverse signal input on the headunit, is it within the harness that is plugged in? Do I need to run a fuse resistor between the pin and wire for the input? Thanks again, this guide really helps. Much appreciated.
     
  19. Aug 19, 2011 at 11:00 AM
    #59
    Yota Toy

    Yota Toy Taco Sauce

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Member:
    #59913
    Messages:
    232
    Gender:
    Male
    FX retros, Blazer fog-light retro, JVC KW-NT30HD head unit, Pioneer 6X9's in front doors, Pioneer 6.5's in rear doors, two Pioneer 12" subs in sealed boxes, Sony X-Plod amp, Hidden Hitch trailer hitch, EGR window visors, two PIAA low-tone horns, Westin light bar with two 100-watt KC low profile driving lights.
    It appears that the reverse wire should be a violet/white wire on your new 4300DVD harness that needs to be connected to the wire specified in this picture. I really don't know what a "fuse resistor" is so I can't comment. If you are asking if you should put an in-line fuse in this reverse wire circuit, I didn't but you should use your own judgment. I used this wire for my JVC KWNT30HD and it worked great on the first try.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Nov 30, 2011 at 3:37 PM
    #60
    Whitster

    Whitster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Member:
    #63656
    Messages:
    344
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Whit
    Golden, CO
    Vehicle:
    '09 AC w/SR5 & TRD, 6' bed

    Thanks for all your efforts, mine finally worked fine with your info.
    On mine the connector for the 'reverse signal' was on the smaller red wire in the connector. (There were two red wires in my 2009)

    I cut up a cable that had the bogus 'gold' connectors, but it does have more shielding than the audio cables, and used that. Worked fine no hash, lines or static.

    Thanks again,

    Whit
     
To Top