1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

OEM Running board mount hardware

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by MAtrdguy, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. Nov 24, 2010 at 7:11 AM
    #1
    MAtrdguy

    MAtrdguy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Member:
    #37957
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pete
    Western Ma ( on the lake) / Danvers N Shore
    Vehicle:
    06 Taco DC LB
    None YET
    I got some of the grey OE running boards for my base model Taco, does anyone know ( I'm sure someone does) what the mounting screws look like , whe size they are etc... Are they Toyota specific ?? or will regular grade * work ?

    Any help, especially a pics would be great ...thanks
     
  2. Nov 24, 2010 at 7:15 AM
    #2
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    They're not toyota specific. They mount to holes in the bottom of the cab, if you didn't have anything mounted there from the factory there are little plastic pieces covering the holes. If you don't get a definitive answer on here, I'd go to one of those local mom & pop hardware stores and I'm sure they'll be able to get a bolt that fits. I say the smaller ones because they're more inclined to help you and would more than likely go into the parking lot with a handful of bolts to try out.
     
  3. Nov 24, 2010 at 7:20 AM
    #3
    DeeKay21

    DeeKay21 Lieutenant Dan.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10651
    Messages:
    14,188
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada/Utah
    Vehicle:
    06' TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah like what Mike said, they shouldnt be Toyota specific cause I installed some Avid step bars and I believe they use the holes where the factory running boards screw in too. All you need is the right thread and length of the screw and you should be good to go.;)
     
  4. Nov 24, 2010 at 7:22 AM
    #4
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    The holes in the underside of the cab ar 8mmx1.25

    I installed the OEM black running boards on my 07 and I had to get new bolts. The size I used was 8mmx1.25 and they were approx 1.5" long (38mm).
    I also picked up flat & lock washers.
     
  5. Nov 24, 2010 at 2:46 PM
    #5
    MAtrdguy

    MAtrdguy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Member:
    #37957
    Messages:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pete
    Western Ma ( on the lake) / Danvers N Shore
    Vehicle:
    06 Taco DC LB
    None YET
    thanks to all who replied...appreciated
     
To Top