1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Outside Temp Gauge

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by blackmax, Dec 22, 2013.

  1. Dec 22, 2013 at 2:07 PM
    #1
    blackmax

    blackmax [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Member:
    #69674
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont, Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 Stepside 4X4
    Outside Temp Gauge. My other vehicle has one and I always miss it when I'm in my truck so I ordered one off Amazon. I tested for a week and compared it to the factory one in my other vehicle before setting it up in my truck. It seems fairly accurate so it's set up in my truck now.

    111.jpg
    DSC02511.jpg
    DSC02508.jpg
     
    Rocan and Voltron4x4 like this.
  2. Dec 22, 2013 at 2:12 PM
    #2
    RAT PRODUCTS

    RAT PRODUCTS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Member:
    #35140
    Messages:
    13,727
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    Cummins Coal Roller
    Smokin with a smarty.
    I dig it! I might keep this in mind for a rainy day.
     
  3. Dec 22, 2013 at 2:17 PM
    #3
    ToyTaco79

    ToyTaco79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Member:
    #117208
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Red dirt middle America
    Vehicle:
    11 Tacoma TRD sport 6cyl
    this is also probably a cheaper fix than replacing the factory temp gauge in the overhead console in the 2nd gens... hmmmm good ideal
     
  4. Dec 22, 2013 at 2:41 PM
    #4
    fast5speed

    fast5speed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Member:
    #118419
    Messages:
    491
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Washington D.C.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Access Cab 5speed 4cyl 4x4 SR5
    So how does it install? Intercept a hot wire, a ground, and stick the temp probe some where?
     
  5. Dec 22, 2013 at 3:04 PM
    #5
    blackmax

    blackmax [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Member:
    #69674
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont, Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 Stepside 4X4
    There is just a (+) (-) and the probe. I tested the probe in various locations and found it to be best in the grill.
     
  6. Dec 22, 2013 at 3:20 PM
    #6
    jdkilroy

    jdkilroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Member:
    #90514
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern NH
    Vehicle:
    '02 4x4 SR5 Access Cab
    Nice job.

    I noticed there was a model from same company that will display any one of three inputs; temp, voltage and time. Looks like the the display is just a little longer and might fit the pop-out opening perfectly.

    well done.
     
  7. Dec 22, 2013 at 4:24 PM
    #7
    offrdmania

    offrdmania Taco Wagon

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Member:
    #113684
    Messages:
    536
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Templeton, Ca
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma LX 4 banger
    Does it have a dimmer feature?
     
  8. Dec 22, 2013 at 4:54 PM
    #8
    blackmax

    blackmax [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Member:
    #69674
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont, Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 Stepside 4X4


    I agree it could have fit better. The one with 3 inputs does look like it would fit better. I will have to clean it up to fit better otherwise it will bug me.
     
  9. Dec 22, 2013 at 4:55 PM
    #9
    blackmax

    blackmax [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Member:
    #69674
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont, Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 Stepside 4X4
    No dimmer feature. I do find that the brightness to be ok in the day and night.
     
  10. Dec 22, 2013 at 7:29 PM
    #10
    Motorep

    Motorep Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Member:
    #115408
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    '03 Xtra Cab V-6
    OME 883's, Dakar leafs, and OME shocks, All Pro Apex sliders w/fill plates, 10lb Powertank, generic pre-runner style front bumper with PIAA 520's, Kenwood 6.1 touch screen head unit, JBL 3 channel 760 watt amp, Kicker 6X8 component speakers w/tweeters mounted in the stock location, 10" Pioneer sub, Dynamat installed in the doors and the rest of the cab, custom dog "bench" installed behind the seats, etc...
    That looks good but I think I'm more impressed with the fact you have Chris Knight playing on the iPod. Good taste in music!
     
  11. Dec 22, 2013 at 7:32 PM
    #11
    Spoonman

    Spoonman Granite Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Member:
    #63328
    Messages:
    9,811
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Alberta
    I like it. Maybe I'll look I to something like this. I'm pissed the 2014 doesn't have it
     
  12. Dec 22, 2013 at 7:33 PM
    #12
    OZ-T

    OZ-T You are going backwards

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Member:
    #27584
    Messages:
    50,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter North
    British Columbia
    Vehicle:
    Mag Grey 09 Trd Sport DCLB 4x4
    OME 885x , OME shocks and Dakars , Wheelers SuperBumps front and rear , 275/70/17 Hankook ATm , OEM bed mat , Weathertech digifit floor liners , Weathertech in-channel vents , headache rack , Leer 100RCC commercial canopy , TRD bedside decals removed , Devil Horns by Andres , HomerTaco Satoshi
    There's no outside temp display on the '14's ?
     
  13. Dec 22, 2013 at 7:36 PM
    #13
    Spoonman

    Spoonman Granite Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Member:
    #63328
    Messages:
    9,811
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Alberta
    Not on mine
     
  14. Dec 23, 2013 at 7:10 AM
    #14
    Alderleet

    Alderleet Ace of Spades

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Member:
    #65324
    Messages:
    1,124
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Salty Hell
    Vehicle:
    '00 Acc Cab TRD 4x4
    I think I found this one on Amazon. Not sure, since OP fails miserably at posting links.


    Does it shut off, or stay on the whole time
     
  15. Dec 23, 2013 at 10:54 AM
    #15
    jdkilroy

    jdkilroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Member:
    #90514
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern NH
    Vehicle:
    '02 4x4 SR5 Access Cab
    The link in OP's initial post takes you right to it on Amazon.....
     
  16. Dec 23, 2013 at 12:07 PM
    #16
    Alderleet

    Alderleet Ace of Spades

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Member:
    #65324
    Messages:
    1,124
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Salty Hell
    Vehicle:
    '00 Acc Cab TRD 4x4
    No. His link takes me to the Amazon homepage...
     
  17. Dec 23, 2013 at 4:21 PM
    #17
    rtb777

    rtb777 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Member:
    #63895
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rhett
    American Fork, Utah
    Vehicle:
    04 Tacoma SR5 TRD Double Cab
    3 in lift, XD Wheels, Bed light Mod
    Your link also fails and takes me to the home page.
     
  18. Dec 23, 2013 at 4:22 PM
    #18
    blackmax

    blackmax [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Member:
    #69674
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont, Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 Stepside 4X4
    I tied the power in to the right cigarette lighter power which is switched so it shuts off when I shut the truck off.


    I purchased it from Amazon.ca (Canada)
    http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00D7AEKMO/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


    Amazon.com (America)
    http://www.amazon.com/DROK-Waterproof-Temperature--55-125%C2%B0c-Thermometer/dp/B00D7AEKMO/ref=sr_1_43?ie=UTF8&qid=1387843071&sr=8-43&keywords=digital+temperature+gauge


    It blows me away with the price difference between Canada and U.S..


    If your interested search around amazon for the temperature gauge in Celsius or Fahrenheit. I can't comprehend temperature in Fahrenheit. I only know temperature in Celsius because I'm from Canada.....eh.
     
  19. Dec 23, 2013 at 10:12 PM
    #19
    stikle

    stikle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Member:
    #102916
    Messages:
    1,201
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    1997 LX Xtracab 4x4 V6 3.4L
    Eh, see my Build Thread sig link. Too many mods to list.
  20. Dec 24, 2013 at 5:01 AM
    #20
    blackmax

    blackmax [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Member:
    #69674
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont, Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 Stepside 4X4

Products Discussed in

To Top