1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Outside temperature display install Question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by BPachom, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. Mar 13, 2009 at 3:48 PM
    #1
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    Anyone install the outside temperature display that would be located in the overhead console by the factory?
    Thought that is a nice feature to have.
     
  2. Mar 13, 2009 at 3:57 PM
    #2
    DanGer

    DanGer Avatar approved by 98tacomav6

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Member:
    #7155
    Messages:
    5,494
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Virginia & Blacksburg
    Vehicle:
    07 Base 4Cyl 4x4 Manual
    White Head Light mod, White shorty antennae, Doug Thorley Long Tube headers, AFE Drop in air filter, Secondary Air Filter Removed,
    I agree, I'm not willing to shell out $250 for a factory one like they go for on ebay
     
  3. Mar 16, 2009 at 8:13 AM
    #3
    afd23a

    afd23a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9483
    Messages:
    1,838
    Gender:
    Male
    The Dynamo of Dixie
    Vehicle:
    05 Access Cab 5 Lugger
    Factory Fog Lights, Removed Secondary Air Filter, Metra Ipod Adapter, Int Wiper Stalk, Wet Okole's, URD Short Shifter, Scanguage II w/Blendmount, Fat Bob's 2.75" spacer lift, ARE topper, SP Performance Pads & Slotted Rotors, 4.10 gears
    Watch the Buy/Sell/Trade. I bought one from someone on there for less than $250. Install was a piece of cake. My truck already had the wires and connectors in place. Hardest part was plugging in the outside temp sensor next to the horns. Strange that my truck had that pre-wired, but not the foglights......
     
  4. Mar 16, 2009 at 8:30 AM
    #4
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,323
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    If the price was right & toyota had made them in tan I would consider this but added a wireless one from wally world instead.
     
  5. Mar 16, 2009 at 7:43 PM
    #5
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    You added a "wireless" temperature display? What does this look like? How much was it? And of course, where did you buy it?
     
  6. Mar 16, 2009 at 7:44 PM
    #6
    BPachom

    BPachom [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    Thanks for the suggestion, did not think of that. Will have to check it out.
     
  7. Mar 16, 2009 at 8:01 PM
    #7
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,323
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now

    It was under $15 at Wally World, google accurite to get the idea. They sell all kinds. Mine is small & square & uses regular aaa batteries. The remote unit I velcro/zip-tied in the engine compartment. The inside temp readout shows inside/outside temperatures. It worked great this winter which is what I wanted it for. Someone here on TW gave me the idea & it worked.
     
To Top