1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

P0102 code, truck won't start without gas

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Evildcustoms, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. Dec 6, 2010 at 6:54 PM
    #1
    Evildcustoms

    Evildcustoms [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Member:
    #37826
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Well after installing a system in my truck, i reattach the battery and start my truck only to have it die on me, i restart it again this time putting my foot on the gas to keep it running, once it started the check engine lights on with code P0102. I searched and tried cleaning the maf like people said to do, i also sprayed electrical cleaner in the connector of the maf sensor and i cleaned my air filter to make sure thats clean.

    Anyone have any other ideas, i found tsb eg020-06 but before i go to dealer and have them rape me for something stupid i rather see if anyone else dealt with this issue.

    My truck is an 06 Tacoma DC 4.0L

    I don't see any reason for radio install to cause this as the radio is not really part of the same circuit as the engine.
     
  2. Dec 6, 2010 at 7:06 PM
    #2
    My68ur8trd

    My68ur8trd Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Member:
    #2961
    Messages:
    1,531
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Williamsburg, VA
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD OR Dcab 4x4
    URD Catback | TRD CAI | TRD S/C | APR X-1 | DTLT | APR 2.85" Pulley |Fabtech 6" | Icon C/O | Alcan Leafs | 33 Grabber AT2 | 17" XD Addicts
    sounds to me like a massive vacuum leak. did you pull any hoses loose when routing any wires? if it is, its getting alot of un-metered air, which is why you can keep it running with your foot on the gas.

    had the same issue after installing another members SC because we forgot to transfer the intake gasket to the plenum.

    The truck would still run without a Maf, but would go into limp mode.

    Good luck

    Justin
     
  3. Dec 6, 2010 at 7:22 PM
    #3
    Evildcustoms

    Evildcustoms [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Member:
    #37826
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I dont remember touching or seeing any vacumn lines at all, i ran the power wire through a grommet right on the driver side. I will double check tomorrow regardless.
     
  4. Dec 7, 2010 at 4:40 AM
    #4
    Evildcustoms

    Evildcustoms [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Member:
    #37826
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    another thing i noticed is when i clear the code, engine not running key on, when the scanner rescans the code is instantly there without me ever even starting the engine, so i guess that would mean that it ain't vacumn lines since engine aint running and its throwing the code already
     
  5. Dec 7, 2010 at 4:59 AM
    #5
    danteisme

    danteisme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,378
    Gender:
    Male
    Vandergrift, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB Sport, 96 Integra GSR
    blow any fuses?
     
  6. Dec 7, 2010 at 5:20 AM
    #6
    Evildcustoms

    Evildcustoms [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Member:
    #37826
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    i only popped a radio fuse when taking radio out then realized to disconnect battery, i replaced that fuse. I will check my efi fuse when i get home, but i would think that the truck wouldnt run at all if that fuse popped. Once i give it the truck gas and it runs i take for a drive and it seems low end power is off a little, but when i give it more throttle the trans don't seem to want to down shift and when it does the car just has no top end power whatsoever
     
  7. Dec 7, 2010 at 5:22 AM
    #7
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,729
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours

    X2

    Check EFI 2 fuse.
     
  8. Dec 7, 2010 at 5:32 AM
    #8
    danteisme

    danteisme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Member:
    #4248
    Messages:
    1,378
    Gender:
    Male
    Vandergrift, PA
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB Sport, 96 Integra GSR
    it almost sounds like its in "limp mode"
     
  9. Dec 7, 2010 at 5:37 AM
    #9
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,729
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    There are two EFI fuses. The #2 fuse is a 10 amp and controls the MAF, AFR, and O2 sensor.
     
  10. Dec 7, 2010 at 7:28 AM
    #10
    littletaco

    littletaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Member:
    #40428
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2016 OR 4x4, 2005 Pontiac GTO
    ^ P0102 is a MAF code, check the fuse.
     
  11. Dec 7, 2010 at 12:49 PM
    #11
    Evildcustoms

    Evildcustoms [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Member:
    #37826
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    k, found EFI 2 fuse was popped, i had the fog light mod going to that and the connection loosened up, so i said the hell with it and just put a new 10a fuse in it and took out fog light mod, no point in that if car don't run haha. Now i can finally try out the new system while driving the truck.

    Thanks guys
     
  12. Dec 7, 2010 at 12:51 PM
    #12
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,729
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
  13. Dec 7, 2010 at 4:02 PM
    #13
    bmwtech330

    bmwtech330 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Member:
    #19685
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    winston salem
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD SPORT DC 4x4
    6 bed D-rings, 35% front tint, X-PEL threshold, tailgate anti-theft screw clamps and nitrogen in the tires.
    I have a solara and when i disconnected the battery on it while replacing the battery cable ends, the car would not idle. It would sputter at 200 rpm and then die. I can't remember what the code was that was set, BUT i did place my foot on the accelerator pedal for about 5 minutes and it seems to raise the idle very very slowly until it finally idled correctly. I am a BMW tech but i don't know why my car or why your truck is doing this, but the solara did what you are describing on 3 occasions that i had the battery disconnected. I am glad I figured out what my car was doing cause I thought the only reliable vehicle i had was gonna quit! :D
     
To Top