1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

PIAA 520 install question

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Icepuck72, Jan 26, 2012.

  1. Jan 26, 2012 at 5:07 AM
    #1
    Icepuck72

    Icepuck72 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Member:
    #59563
    Messages:
    1,210
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC TRD
    OME 885's, Dakars, TRD Trail Edition Wheels, 285x75x16 Goodyear Duratracs, Magnaflow 12256 muffler, Fog Light mod, 2 Baby seats
    For your install....what power source did you connect to for you switch?

    Everything else is pretty simple it looks.
     
  2. Jan 26, 2012 at 5:22 AM
    #2
    TacoFMS

    TacoFMS Bubble bubble bubble pop

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Member:
    #29938
    Messages:
    5,771
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Louisa County, VA
    Vehicle:
    Just another grocery getter
    One or two things modded... Check out the build
    I tapped into the green wire going into the parking lamp. I know that you are "only supposed to wire them to come on with high beams", but i feel i am responsible enough to know not to drive around town with them on. so now i can run them with my lowbeams, high beams, or just on their own.
     
  3. Jan 26, 2012 at 5:31 AM
    #3
    Icepuck72

    Icepuck72 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Member:
    #59563
    Messages:
    1,210
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC TRD
    OME 885's, Dakars, TRD Trail Edition Wheels, 285x75x16 Goodyear Duratracs, Magnaflow 12256 muffler, Fog Light mod, 2 Baby seats
    thanks...so you just used that red splicer/crimp they sent?

    I just read also where someone tapped into any fuse in their fuse box inside the cab (under the dash)
     
  4. Jan 26, 2012 at 5:39 AM
    #4
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You'd want to make sure it's a fuse that is only hot when the ignition is on if you go that route. The switch itself doesn't have much draw, make sure the lights have a more potent power source.
     
  5. Jan 26, 2012 at 5:49 AM
    #5
    blackphantom09

    blackphantom09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Member:
    #14343
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    V.B., VA
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD-Off Road SB
    TRD Exhaust, Black badges, Jason Rage tonneau bed cover, TRD S/C, OEM roof rack, Avid Light Bar
    For my PIAA 540 switch, I just used an add-a-circuit and tapped into an empty fuse slot under the dash. If you remove the coin holder, there's an empty slot next to IGN 2 10A and it only draws power when the ignition is on.
     
  6. Jan 26, 2012 at 5:51 AM
    #6
    Icepuck72

    Icepuck72 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Member:
    #59563
    Messages:
    1,210
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC TRD
    OME 885's, Dakars, TRD Trail Edition Wheels, 285x75x16 Goodyear Duratracs, Magnaflow 12256 muffler, Fog Light mod, 2 Baby seats
    Thanks...I am just going to wire directly to the battery....
     
  7. Jan 26, 2012 at 5:53 AM
    #7
    TacoFMS

    TacoFMS Bubble bubble bubble pop

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Member:
    #29938
    Messages:
    5,771
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Louisa County, VA
    Vehicle:
    Just another grocery getter
    One or two things modded... Check out the build
    if you do that then your lights will be "always hot" and if you ever forget them on consider your battery dead.
     
  8. Jan 26, 2012 at 5:55 AM
    #8
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    If you want a cleaner install (no wires hanging from the battery), there's a pin in the fuse panel under the hood that has constant power and is powered directly from the battery. If you pop the cover on the under hood fuse panel, it's the bolt located at the front, passenger side of the fuse panel. That is the bolt that powers the fuse block so it is power taken directly from the batter. This lets you run everything concealed and not have wires hanging off the battery terminal (one of my pet peaves, I'm a little OCD when it comes to wiring :eek:)
     
  9. Jan 26, 2012 at 5:56 AM
    #9
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Not if the switch is powered by something that's only hot when then ignition is on.
     
  10. Jan 26, 2012 at 7:51 AM
    #10
    TacoFMS

    TacoFMS Bubble bubble bubble pop

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Member:
    #29938
    Messages:
    5,771
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Louisa County, VA
    Vehicle:
    Just another grocery getter
    One or two things modded... Check out the build
    i thought he was saying that he was going to wire the switch directly to the battery???? im a lil confused now cuz it seems ambiguous on how im reading it.
     
  11. Jan 26, 2012 at 9:27 AM
    #11
    Icepuck72

    Icepuck72 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Member:
    #59563
    Messages:
    1,210
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC TRD
    OME 885's, Dakars, TRD Trail Edition Wheels, 285x75x16 Goodyear Duratracs, Magnaflow 12256 muffler, Fog Light mod, 2 Baby seats
    LOL..no...I'm going to wire the wire coming from the switch to the fuse block inside the cab. :eek:
     
  12. Jan 26, 2012 at 9:30 AM
    #12
    Icepuck72

    Icepuck72 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Member:
    #59563
    Messages:
    1,210
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC TRD
    OME 885's, Dakars, TRD Trail Edition Wheels, 285x75x16 Goodyear Duratracs, Magnaflow 12256 muffler, Fog Light mod, 2 Baby seats
    Great info...I'll look at this. Going for the install after lunch and baby girl goes down for her nap.
     
  13. Feb 7, 2012 at 7:16 PM
    #13
    bootboiler

    bootboiler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Member:
    #67480
    Messages:
    209
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Softopper, Maggiolina, US Over-Rack, Camberg UCA's, locking tailgate, hid driving lights, ipod connector, B 5100's, airlift, bud built plates, Relentless rear bumper, light bar, sliders with kick, breathers on pumpkins, satochi grill, bed lights
To Top