1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

PIAA 540 install help

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Kmacafee, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. Kmacafee

    Kmacafee [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Member:
    #54364
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Greetings

    I have searched the threads but could not find what I was looking for so I hope someone can help. I have a 2011 TRD Access Cab that I just installed new Aluminess bumpers on. I am trying to install PIAA 540 driving lights and based on what other people have told me, one should be able to use the existing relay that powered the stock fogs. I simply hooked the PIAA wires to the fog light harness and they do not work.

    Do you have to use the PIAA harness and that stupid remote switch? I can't believe the PIAA lights have any different requirements than the stock ones but hope some of the guru's here can set me straight.

    Thanks in advance for any words of wisdom.

    Cheers

    Kevin MacAfee
     
  2. Kmacafee

    Kmacafee [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Member:
    #54364
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    I double checked the wiring. I did turn on the key, depressed the fog light switch and nada.
     
  3. Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,704
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    There shouldn't be anything different about the PIAA set-up vs. stock wiring. They do draw more power though, did it blow a fuse when you hooked them up to the stock wiring?
     
  4. Ridingontrd

    Ridingontrd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Member:
    #6459
    Messages:
    7,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Laughlin,N.V
    Vehicle:
    trd sport 4x4 w/towpkg
    aFe prodry,Dynomax ultra flo ss,Scangauge2,Demello front bumper,BudBuilt skids,sliders(local)AllPro rear bumper,Wet O's cobalt blu,w/halfpiping,TRD logo in gold,R/L hood struts,5150's@10"aal 3 pack,T/C uca,Light racing c/o,1"diff.drop,de-badged,
  5. Kmacafee

    Kmacafee [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Member:
    #54364
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    I wired direct from factory harness to PIAA's. It appears Toyota used 20 gauge wire and PIAA uses 18 but its hard to believe thats the issue.

    Whenever you push the standard fog light switch, the fuse blows. I may just use the harness.
     
  6. DeeKay21

    DeeKay21 Lieutenant Dan.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10651
    Messages:
    14,195
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada/Utah
    Vehicle:
    06' TRD Sport 4x4
    I have PIAA 520 driving lights behind my grill and I used the standard switch the PIAA came with but just the other week, I swapped it with this switch which fits into our stock slots with minimum trimming. The switch also comes lit if you want. I installed a lighted one and I love it!!

    http://www.oznium.com/gsw-45
     
  7. TxCavScout

    TxCavScout New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Member:
    #42973
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Wherever Uncle Sam sets me down..
    Vehicle:
    '11 TRD SP 4x4
    Just installed my 510's in the same manner as the OP, blows the 15A fuse. Tried a 30A and still blows the fuse. Any ideas? :confused:
     
To Top