1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Pioneer AVH-4400BH AutoEQ Question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by DavidS, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. Apr 22, 2012 at 9:51 PM
    #1
    DavidS

    DavidS [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Member:
    #73030
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma TRD Sport
    I recently installed a Pioneer AVH-4400BH head unit, which has autoEQ capabilities. The manual is a not entirely how I should set up my Amp and powered sub to work best with the autoEQ so I'm hoping someone on this forum might be able to provide some advice.

    A quick summary of the system...
    HU: AVH-4400BH: http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/DVD-Receivers/AVH-P4400BH
    AMP: Arc Audio, KAR 400.4 http://www.amazon.com/KAR-400-4-Audio-Channel-Amplifier/dp/B003U878AE
    Powered Sub: Sound Ordnance B-8PT http://www.crutchfield.com/S-nq15hdRzlij/p_777B8PT/Sound-Ordnance-B-8PT.html?tp=114

    The sub has a gain as well as crossover frequency controls on the unit.
    The amp has three position switch for High Pass, Low Pass and Full as well as crossover frequency controls for the front and rear channels. It also has independent gain controls for both front and rear channels.

    As I understand the HU AutoEQ funtions, I need to set the sub gain to zero and crossover as high as possible. Similarly, I should set the Amp to Full and the gains to zero. Presumably, when the amp is set to "full" is overides the crossover frequency controls on the amp. Only after I've made these adjustment should I run the AutoEQ setup for the HU. Does it sound like I'm on the correct path here?

    I actually have some other related questions concerning the powered sub...
    1) What does the wired volume control do that came with my powered sub?
    2) Does it basically overide the gain dial on the side of the sub.
    3) If so, should I set it to zero when running the autoEQ program?

    I'm actually really happy with the system right now, but I put so much time into the install that I want to squeeze every bit of sound quality out that I can. I installed Polk MM6501 component speaker in front and Polk DB651's in the rear. It's a new 2012 DC and I only had it one week before I pulled out the interior and did also put in Raammat, CCF and MLV on all surfaces accept the roof liner, which only got Raammat on the front half.
     
  2. Apr 23, 2012 at 7:09 AM
    #2
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,036
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    I ran the AutoEQ on my 4300 a while back. Note that I control the crossovers from the HU, not the amps, so the autoEQ took that part over. I did not modify the gains between the main speakers and the sub at all. My biggest problem was rerunning some grounds as I have a relay controlling the parking brake input, this causes problems with getting AutoEQ to start and has to be grounded seperately.

    End of the day, I did not like the AutoEQ settings that it came up with. I also thought that I could run the AutoEQ, then tune it a bit to my liking, but that is not the case. If AutoEQ is on, the equalizer settings are turned off. Again, end of the day, wasn't impressed and am using my own EQ settings.
     
  3. Apr 23, 2012 at 8:17 AM
    #3
    DavidS

    DavidS [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Member:
    #73030
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma TRD Sport
    If you control the crossovers from the HU, did you set the amp and sub to output full? In "setting" the amp and sub, I'm talking about the physical nobs on those units.
     
  4. Apr 23, 2012 at 8:23 AM
    #4
    DavidS

    DavidS [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Member:
    #73030
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma TRD Sport
    I don't understand why the parking brake bypass relay would mess with the AutoEQ starting. The relay fools the HU into thinking the vehicle is in park, which is presumably a requirement to start autoEQ isn't it? Could you give a little more detail about what you mean by "grounding seperately"? Thanks,
     
  5. Apr 23, 2012 at 8:45 AM
    #5
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,036
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Haven't fully thought it through, but the relay's delay will actually stop the ability to start up an AutoEQ tuning session. It seems that AutoEQ "wants" the parking ground at startup, not on a delay. Same thing happens if you attempt to use the screen placement adjustments. In order to use AutoEQ, I had to bypass my relay and put the parking brake wire directly to ground. After the tuning session was done, reroute the wiring as before and continue on.
     
  6. Apr 23, 2012 at 12:11 PM
    #6
    DavidS

    DavidS [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Member:
    #73030
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma TRD Sport
    WOW! I thought I was so clever putting in that bypass relay,but it seems to have a few unintended consequences. I believe it is also preventing my "MotionX GPS Drive” app from functioning properly in app mode.

    Is it only necessary to run the HU green parking brake wire directly to ground in order to bypass the bypass? This must sound crazy, but I can picture a little toggle switch under the dash that would allow me to disable the bypass andrestore the HU to Pioneers recommended setup. I would need to shut off the HU and switch the toggle and turn the HU on again any time I wanted to change the configuration (i.e. Bypassed or non-bypassed).
     
  7. Apr 23, 2012 at 12:25 PM
    #7
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,036
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    I initially noticed on mine that I was unable to use the screen centering controls,,, didn't need'em, but was playing around. Then I noticed that the Auto EQ option was greyed out on the menu. I thought about a toggle to, you could wire in a switch on the parking brake wire to either allow it to go to the relay or directly to ground. I never did it as I didn't like the AutoEQ settings anyway, so the need to rerun it wasn't there,,, so the desire to add "another" thing into my wiring wasn't, and isn't, high on the to-do list.
     
  8. Apr 23, 2012 at 1:12 PM
    #8
    DavidS

    DavidS [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Member:
    #73030
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma TRD Sport
    I appreciate your help and insights. I'll probably abandon the autoEQ as well, but might do the toggle just so I can retain all the app mode funtionality of the HU. As soon Scosche has a dash kit available for my 2012, I'll have everything apart anyway and will give it a try then. Thanks,
     
  9. Apr 23, 2012 at 1:22 PM
    #9
    iamstik81

    iamstik81 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Member:
    #75236
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    2005 Double Cab TRD Sport.
    Pioneer Double Din, Focal Compents Front, Focal Coax rear, JL audio 500/5, 2 JL 10w1's. Custom molded Scangauge II mount, white dash lights.
    I have the Avhp3300bt, and have sold many 43 and 4400's, and the autoEQ has never quite worked out as well as tuning the system yourself with an O-scope and a good ear.
     
  10. Apr 23, 2012 at 9:22 PM
    #10
    DavidS

    DavidS [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Member:
    #73030
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Wish I had one of those those...
     
  11. Apr 24, 2012 at 6:36 AM
    #11
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,036
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    I ended up using the JL Audio app on my iPad/iPod. It has an RTA (real time analyzer) within it that I used to look for peaks and dips, set my HU eq appropriately to tune those away, then adjusted to my own taste. IMO sounds much better then the AutoEQ settings.

    AutoEQ could be very usful if they allowed you to tune the settings after the autoEQ was run, but they don't, it's either use the autoEQ as they have decided, or use your own settings, no middle ground. Ended up being a waste of $20 for the mic.
     
To Top