1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Pioneer AVH-P8400BH background question..

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by josef, May 17, 2012.

  1. May 17, 2012 at 5:42 AM
    #1
    josef

    josef [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Member:
    #70977
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner DoubleCab
    Has anybody with one of these Pioneer AVH-P8400BH units been able to add an image as the background? I read the instructions and can't seem to do it. I put some images on an SD card (and tried a thumb drive) to load and it just has a line through them like it can't read the format. I'm using a JPEG image and the size is less than 8MB like required. Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. Sep 9, 2012 at 3:14 AM
    #2
    CIAGDDS

    CIAGDDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Member:
    #85649
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Corona, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    05 4x4 TRD OR
    Did you ever figure this out? I'm having the same issue.
     
  3. Sep 9, 2012 at 8:23 AM
    #3
    ross123

    ross123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Member:
    #38566
    Messages:
    936
    Gender:
    Male
    fort bragg
    curious as well
     
  4. Sep 9, 2012 at 8:48 AM
    #4
    CIAGDDS

    CIAGDDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Member:
    #85649
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Corona, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    05 4x4 TRD OR
    Well, I just figured it out. What a pain in the a@$. If you have photoshop, you need to save it as, "Save For Web & Devices", then under the presets box that pops up, set it to "JPEG" and "Medium". If you try high it will not work.

    If you don't have photoshop just send me the file and I'll convert it for you.
     
  5. Sep 9, 2012 at 3:52 PM
    #5
    josef

    josef [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Member:
    #70977
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner DoubleCab
    yeah i eventually got it to work. I'm on a Mac so I had to run it through Aperture (photo editing software) and save it through there for some reason. I did make it a little smaller than the original file too. It was pretty ridiculous b/c my original files fit their "specs" for what Pioneer required but it didn't work until I save them through Aperture first.
     
  6. Sep 9, 2012 at 4:06 PM
    #6
    CIAGDDS

    CIAGDDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Member:
    #85649
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Corona, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    05 4x4 TRD OR
    The background picture doesn't look that great anyway because of all the other junk on the screen blocking it. I have just been using the equalizer background. I wish there was a button to just show the background and hide everything else.
     
  7. Sep 11, 2012 at 6:15 AM
    #7
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,097
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Slightly off-topic, but for y'awl who have the 8400 have you run into any problems with the HU freezing, or losing the ability to control it? I was considering upgrading to this unit but I've seen quite a few reviews stating that the 8400 has a tendency to freeze up. Any problems?

    Some of the posts allude to the problem being related to a steering wheel control interface issue. Are you running an interface unit for steering wheel controls?
     
  8. Sep 11, 2012 at 6:23 AM
    #8
    evh5150

    evh5150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Member:
    #75109
    Messages:
    456
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eddie
    Auburn,Ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 D/C S/B V6 6 Speed
    Bilstein/5100 combo from Toytec. LR UCA's.1.5 AAL's Full audio upgrade.Pioneer 8400, JL Audio subs. All Boston Acoustic pro speakers, and a Kenwood XRS 5 amp. Grillcraft, Smittybuilt stainless steps. Debadged. Soon 17x8 ATX Ledge wheels w/285/70/17 BF Goodrich
    Yup I have had in freeze quite a few times in Ipod mode
     
  9. Sep 11, 2012 at 6:35 AM
    #9
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,097
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Do you have the steering wheel control interface? If so, which one, Metra or PAC?
     
  10. Sep 11, 2012 at 7:27 AM
    #10
    evh5150

    evh5150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Member:
    #75109
    Messages:
    456
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eddie
    Auburn,Ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 D/C S/B V6 6 Speed
    Bilstein/5100 combo from Toytec. LR UCA's.1.5 AAL's Full audio upgrade.Pioneer 8400, JL Audio subs. All Boston Acoustic pro speakers, and a Kenwood XRS 5 amp. Grillcraft, Smittybuilt stainless steps. Debadged. Soon 17x8 ATX Ledge wheels w/285/70/17 BF Goodrich
    Nope I have neither
     
  11. Sep 11, 2012 at 7:37 AM
    #11
    CIAGDDS

    CIAGDDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Member:
    #85649
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Corona, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    05 4x4 TRD OR
    Nope. No freezing on mine.
     
  12. Sep 11, 2012 at 8:43 AM
    #12
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    11,097
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    Do you have a steering wheel control interface?
     
  13. Sep 11, 2012 at 8:56 AM
    #13
    CIAGDDS

    CIAGDDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Member:
    #85649
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Corona, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    05 4x4 TRD OR
    No, I don't use them, so I didn't get the steering wheel control.
     
  14. Dec 11, 2012 at 2:43 PM
    #14
    MGMTaco23

    MGMTaco23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Member:
    #31459
    Messages:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    M$V
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM Taco TRD Sport
    -KING C/O's w/ TC UCA's -Bilstein 5100's in back
    I am also on a Mac and trying to get a background image on my 8400bh. However, I don't have aperture. What other programs would I be able to do this with?
     
  15. Dec 11, 2012 at 2:44 PM
    #15
    Dromlace

    Dromlace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Member:
    #70204
    Messages:
    331
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Montgomery, AL
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma TRD Sport
  16. Dec 12, 2012 at 1:55 PM
    #16
    josef

    josef [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Member:
    #70977
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner DoubleCab
    iPhoto if it came on your machine.. you probably have to downsize the image and export it for it to work.
     
To Top