1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Power Inverter

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by 05RedTaco, Aug 4, 2011.

  1. Aug 4, 2011 at 10:46 AM
    #1
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma 4.0L Acces Cab PreRunner
    Shortened antenna, ebay Intake, JBA long tube headers, 2nd set of cats cut out and straight piped, 14" Magnaflow muffler dumped before axle, relocated rear diff breather, Avid off road front bumper. Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 885x coils, Light Racing UCA's, 2" Toytec AAL, Hella 700ff lights, Falken Rocky Mountain AT/S 265/75/16 Load E 10ply, Blu Logic handsfree
    I am looking to install a power inverter in my truck... It will be aftermarket one with at least 800w output (6.9amps). Ideally 1600w output (12.9amps). I need to run my 6.3amp sawzall out of this and ideally my 12amp circular saw but that's not a priority...

    If I do this I would like to get an inverter I could eventually hardwire to the battery, so the inverter has to have an on/off switch.

    I have seen some with 400w RMS and 800w peak for $30 on ebay, I believe it was Cobra brand... Would this power up my 6.3amp sawzall?

    Who has hardwired an inverter? Which inverter did you use and what location did you choose?
     
  2. Aug 4, 2011 at 11:26 AM
    #2
    MJonAgs32

    MJonAgs32 asphinctersayswhat?

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15949
    Messages:
    9,211
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    MJ
    Union City, CA (SF Bay Area)
    Vehicle:
    07 Mid-Travel 4x4 DCSB 6spd
    check out my build
    Here's mine:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    750W

    It's relocated under the seat and the receptacles are extended out to where you see them.
     
  3. Aug 4, 2011 at 11:29 AM
    #3
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma 4.0L Acces Cab PreRunner
    Shortened antenna, ebay Intake, JBA long tube headers, 2nd set of cats cut out and straight piped, 14" Magnaflow muffler dumped before axle, relocated rear diff breather, Avid off road front bumper. Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 885x coils, Light Racing UCA's, 2" Toytec AAL, Hella 700ff lights, Falken Rocky Mountain AT/S 265/75/16 Load E 10ply, Blu Logic handsfree
    What brand? How did you extend the outlets and switch?
     
  4. Aug 4, 2011 at 12:53 PM
    #4
    MJonAgs32

    MJonAgs32 asphinctersayswhat?

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15949
    Messages:
    9,211
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    MJ
    Union City, CA (SF Bay Area)
    Vehicle:
    07 Mid-Travel 4x4 DCSB 6spd
    check out my build
    I forgot what brand, but to extend the outlets and switch, I just popped the outlets off the inverter, cut the wires, got more wire, soldered, heatshrinked. That's all. It was kind of time consuming but it's worth it. I've used it plenty of times.
     
  5. Aug 4, 2011 at 2:36 PM
    #5
    o5iiawah

    o5iiawah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Member:
    #51457
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Philly 'burbs, PA
    Vehicle:
    '11 4x2 access cab 2.7l
    Mjohnags,

    I know the TRDs have the 400w inverter built in that you can just hop off. I've been using the 12v jack up front on the console which of course only puts out 120w, enough for a cell phone and barely enough for my laptop. Where on the harness can I get more wattage?

    Oh, and i have an AC 5-lug 2.7
     
  6. Aug 4, 2011 at 2:49 PM
    #6
    05RedTaco

    05RedTaco [OP] Nom Nom Nom

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43521
    Messages:
    1,660
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma 4.0L Acces Cab PreRunner
    Shortened antenna, ebay Intake, JBA long tube headers, 2nd set of cats cut out and straight piped, 14" Magnaflow muffler dumped before axle, relocated rear diff breather, Avid off road front bumper. Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 885x coils, Light Racing UCA's, 2" Toytec AAL, Hella 700ff lights, Falken Rocky Mountain AT/S 265/75/16 Load E 10ply, Blu Logic handsfree
    Gotta go straight from the battery and hard wire an inverter. The 400w OEM inverter doesn't put out enough power for anything serious.. It puts out about 3.5amps... Get at least 800w inverter which puts out 6.9amps...
     
  7. Aug 4, 2011 at 3:19 PM
    #7
    MJonAgs32

    MJonAgs32 asphinctersayswhat?

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15949
    Messages:
    9,211
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    MJ
    Union City, CA (SF Bay Area)
    Vehicle:
    07 Mid-Travel 4x4 DCSB 6spd
    check out my build
    Yeah I didn't tap into the OEM one, just installed an aftermarket one.
     
  8. Aug 4, 2011 at 3:20 PM
    #8
    o5iiawah

    o5iiawah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Member:
    #51457
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Philly 'burbs, PA
    Vehicle:
    '11 4x2 access cab 2.7l
    Thought so. I'll have to wire a switch onto it so I dont leave it on by accident. Either that, or 500' of extension cord and a battery tender


    :spy:
     
  9. Aug 4, 2011 at 3:26 PM
    #9
    colinb17

    colinb17 If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    17,362
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    though i haven't had a chance to install it in a permanent manner yet, i have a 5000w cobra waiting to be put in. this is the second cobra i've owned (first was a 1500w). they are very well made inverters, so i'm assuming the lower wattage ones are of similar quality. mine has an on/off switch and fuse built in, but when i hard wire it, i'm putting in a seperate switch and fuse as well.
     
  10. Aug 5, 2011 at 7:10 PM
    #10
    vbibi

    vbibi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Member:
    #20060
    Messages:
    469
    Gender:
    Male
    san fransisco bay area
    Vehicle:
    2009 4door long bed
    If I am not mistaken, aren't some of our trucks factory equipped with inverters? I wander if the factory wires are there for the taking.
     
  11. Aug 6, 2011 at 8:17 AM
    #11
    Bill in Ky

    Bill in Ky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Member:
    #3384
    Messages:
    250
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Bright White 08 Reg 4X4 2.7 5spd SR5
    I got my first 4x4 in 1972...haven't been without one! I still like Chrome!
    I bought a Cobra 800w-1600w peak on ebay, about $45. You have to switch them with a relay. Mine looks like a starter relay, you can use a low power dash switch to activate the relay. I also put a breaker in my cable lines. Hope this helps. Sorry no pics.
     
  12. Aug 6, 2011 at 8:31 AM
    #12
    george3

    george3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7173
    Messages:
    3,170
    new jersey
    Vehicle:
    tacoma
    Seat belt beeper, Cabelas (Weathertech) floor liner gray, Covercraft Seat Savers in Taupe, Protecta Heavy Duty Rubber Truck Bed Mat, Pop n Lock PL5200, Pace Edwards Full Metal JackRabbit, Wolverine oil pan heater, Scangauge2, afe pro dry s filter, Remote Underbody 4 Piece LED Light Kit (White) used as Bed light, DIY Washable Cabin Air Filter, PA15-TOY, 4x4 Illuminated Switch, full synthetic, Redline Tuning Hood Support, Smittybilt Nerf Steps black powder-coated
    I ass u me u ran this direct off batt ? That's pretty good wattage.
     
  13. Aug 11, 2011 at 10:36 AM
    #13
    sechsgang

    sechsgang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Member:
    #3112
    Messages:
    361
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 DC TRD OR 4WD 6spd
    I don't think you can run a 5,000W inverter off you battery or even the alternator. The upgraded alternator that comes with the tow package only outputs 1,500W or so.
    I think the limit you can realistically run is a 1,000W inverter.
     
  14. Aug 11, 2011 at 10:58 AM
    #14
    colinb17

    colinb17 If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    17,362
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    just because it's a 5000 doesn't mean it always pulls that. i've only ever gotten the guage on it to read 25% output. i'm sure it spiked to 100% for a second when i tested a welder on it, but that's not a regular deal.

    i'm also looking into high output altornators and dual batteries to beter handle the loads like that.
     
  15. Sep 24, 2011 at 12:40 PM
    #15
    ecoterragaia

    ecoterragaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Member:
    #49786
    Messages:
    475
    Gender:
    Male
    Bumpass, VA
    Vehicle:
    '06 Regular Cab, 4X4, 2.7L
    I have a 750W inverter that I plan to install under/behind my bench seat soon. I plan to use an 80 amp inline fuse and a 300 amp battery isolater switch (overkill, but cheaper than a relay and I can mount the switch inconspicuously). I'll probably never use it for anything more than charging cell phone or laptop on occasion, but I figured that as long the inverter has the capacity I might as well make sure that the hardware matches in case I need to use it for something heavier duty.

    I'm trying to do this fairly cheaply, and am having trouble locating 10 feet of somewhat pliable 4-6 gauge wire for a decent price. I've checked welding supply stores, but their prices are a little steep. Then I saw a set of 6 gauge jumper cables from Walmart for about $20 that I thought might work. Can anyone think of a reason that this wouldn't be a good idea?
     
  16. Sep 24, 2011 at 4:09 PM
    #16
    george3

    george3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7173
    Messages:
    3,170
    new jersey
    Vehicle:
    tacoma
    Seat belt beeper, Cabelas (Weathertech) floor liner gray, Covercraft Seat Savers in Taupe, Protecta Heavy Duty Rubber Truck Bed Mat, Pop n Lock PL5200, Pace Edwards Full Metal JackRabbit, Wolverine oil pan heater, Scangauge2, afe pro dry s filter, Remote Underbody 4 Piece LED Light Kit (White) used as Bed light, DIY Washable Cabin Air Filter, PA15-TOY, 4x4 Illuminated Switch, full synthetic, Redline Tuning Hood Support, Smittybilt Nerf Steps black powder-coated
    Don't have a educated answer but are the Walmart cables aluminum or copper ? Are there enough strands in the wire to make it flexible ?
     
  17. Sep 24, 2011 at 5:26 PM
    #17
    maineah

    maineah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53641
    Messages:
    3,601
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    4X4 SR5 V6 6spd
    $20 jumper cables are probably #10 wire with #6 insulation. Full smoke your inverter will draw around 60 amps #4 is more like what you need.
     
  18. Sep 24, 2011 at 5:40 PM
    #18
    jw1983

    jw1983 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Member:
    #63738
    Messages:
    3,048
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    13' Tacoma Access 4x4 OR
    What about running two plugins on either side behind arm rest console(for the back seat people)? I think that there is heater vents in there, is it something that could be done?
     
  19. Sep 25, 2011 at 4:54 AM
    #19
    maineah

    maineah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53641
    Messages:
    3,601
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    4X4 SR5 V6 6spd
    Well the best bet would put it as close to the battery as you can get it to avoid the voltage loss. I don't know if there is any electrical code involved with cars/trucks but I would run SJ cord inside of split tubing if I was going inside of a cab. The voltage loss is far less at 120 volts and the most you'll get out of the inverter is less then 6.5 amps so a # 14 would actually do just be real sure that the 120 volt wire can not get damaged.
     
  20. Sep 25, 2011 at 5:11 AM
    #20
    maineah

    maineah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53641
    Messages:
    3,601
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    4X4 SR5 V6 6spd
    You probably can but not for very long! That's a 400 amp load close to 4 times the alternator output not to mention about 3 minutes run time on the battery start batteries have very little reserve capacity.
     
To Top