1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Powering a cb from the fuse panel

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Redfox1, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. Jun 13, 2010 at 3:42 PM
    #1
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    I got a midland cb a couple of weeks ago and had planned to power it from the fuse panel under the steering wheel, so that it would turn off with the ignition. After a lot of mistakes i finally figured it out. I had a hard time finding any information on so this is a little write up to make things easier for anyone else who wants to do this. I bought everything at Kragens(now O'reillys i guess)

    First off you have to go buy a Littlehouse mini add a fuse or any other mini add a fuse. And a 7.5 amp mini fuse. Heres the add a fuse i bought.

    [​IMG]

    The fuse panel is located behind the little coin drawer thing to the left of the steering wheel. To remove this all you have to do is open the drawer and then pull up, it should come out easily. The fuses in my year tacoma(2009) are low profile mini fuses which will not fit in the add a fuse(that i had anyways) so you will have to use one of the fuses that came with the add a fuse and one of the fuses you bought. I found a couple websites that said that cb's only draw 2 amps so i used 7.5 amp fuses which worked fine. It should look like this

    [​IMG]

    I tried using the add a fuse in the open slots first and that did not work. I ended up using the ACC slot which had a 7.5 amp low profile mini fuse in it already which will be left over after being replaced with the add a fuse. Here is what mine looks like
    [​IMG]

    I just crimped the end of the add a fuse to the red power wire of the cb. The black wire I grounded to a screw behind the plastic panel that the black wire is leading to in the picture below.
    [​IMG]

    Hope this helped anyone interested. Good Luck

    Also thanks to db67fm for helping out
     
  2. Jun 13, 2010 at 3:44 PM
    #2
    VooDoo

    VooDoo More Cowbell!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Member:
    #27044
    Messages:
    2,331
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carter Ivey
    Baton Rouge, LA/ Starkville, MS
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB PreRunner
    Good write-up! I have those same floor mats :D
     
  3. Jun 13, 2010 at 3:51 PM
    #3
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    ha thanks. Im still not done with the cb install yet, gotta figure out the antenna setup and find a PA.
     
    mahaloTaco likes this.
  4. Jun 13, 2010 at 4:38 PM
    #4
    VooDoo

    VooDoo More Cowbell!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Member:
    #27044
    Messages:
    2,331
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carter Ivey
    Baton Rouge, LA/ Starkville, MS
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB PreRunner
  5. Jun 13, 2010 at 4:41 PM
    #5
    Blue

    Blue You're my boy blue

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Member:
    #33255
    Messages:
    3,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dylan
    Sierras
    Vehicle:
    ex 99 current 04 TRD
    good write up. I could of used this when i was installing mine
     
  6. Jun 13, 2010 at 4:50 PM
    #6
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
  7. Jun 13, 2010 at 5:32 PM
    #7
    VooDoo

    VooDoo More Cowbell!

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Member:
    #27044
    Messages:
    2,331
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carter Ivey
    Baton Rouge, LA/ Starkville, MS
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB PreRunner
    yea it fit under my hood. If you are standing at the front of the truck looking at the windshield, i put it in the back right corner and it fits snug with out any tie downs or anything.
     
  8. Jun 13, 2010 at 8:00 PM
    #8
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    Nice that would be easy. Its out of stock right now is the only thing
     
  9. Jun 24, 2010 at 11:02 AM
    #9
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    Got that PA you were talking about and it works perfectly. Thanks for the suggestion. Im still working on figuring out how to attach the antenna to my toolbox without drilling into it however. Any suggestions?
     
  10. Jun 24, 2010 at 11:41 AM
    #10
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    Pretty badass!

    A 12v relay controlled by your ACC or any other number of wires would have done the trick, too, in parallel with a switch so you could bypass it and run it with the truck off if you wanted to.

    It would actually be pretty cool if you applied that principle to your offroad lights- turn offroad lights on and the CB comes on automatically, with a switch in series that you can turn it on with the lights off, and a relay to shut both of them down when you turn the key off.
     
  11. Jun 25, 2010 at 2:37 PM
    #11
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Heres my setup. I think it would be most convenient to find sort of a z bracket to clip on to the inside of the tool box and stick out when it gets past the lid of the toolbox. sort of like a z kind of shape. The only problem is finding some piece of hardware that looks like this
     
  12. Aug 19, 2010 at 9:00 PM
    #12
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    update for anyone interested.(probably not many) ha. but couldnt find any sort of mount that would clip to the lip of a toolbox and work with a firestik so i just ended up with a magnetic mount roof antenna. Which has worked fine. Also picked up an SWR Meter and got it tuned, Which the local cb shop wanted 40 bucks for. good luck
     
  13. Aug 19, 2010 at 9:17 PM
    #13
    GEARAHOLIC

    GEARAHOLIC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Member:
    #20340
    Messages:
    622
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    KELLEN
    PASO ROBLES, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Black on Black BEAST
  14. Aug 20, 2010 at 10:16 AM
    #14
    Redfox1

    Redfox1 [OP] 'Stralia! Riding Roo's and wrangling koalas

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Member:
    #24099
    Messages:
    1,595
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Conner
    Santa Paula, CA and SLO
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner Sport TRD
    Browning Floor Mats, 275/70/17 BFG All-Terrain T/A's, Procomp 7089 wheels,Rear Spring TSB, Bilstein 5100's, LED roof light, seatbelt chime disabled, CB, UWS Toolbox,
    That sucks. Ya i might swap to a 2' antenna instead of the 3' antenna when the one i have gets bent or something. But its worked pretty well for me. Are you going to switch to a firestik then?
     
  15. Aug 20, 2010 at 10:41 AM
    #15
    BuckNakedBooda

    BuckNakedBooda There's no place like 127.0.0.1

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Member:
    #36937
    Messages:
    1,484
    Woodbridge, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Limited 4x4
    I just installed a 3 foot FireStik with a spring mount last night. I am getting decent reception but possibly going ahead and getting the 4 foot FireStik with a new spring mount see if the reception gets a little better.
     
To Top