1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Prerunner to 4x4 Swap

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by bellassaiw10, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. Feb 19, 2013 at 5:55 PM
    #21
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    16,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Good job, I like to see out of the ordinary mods.
     
  2. Feb 24, 2013 at 5:24 PM
    #22
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 [OP] Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,814
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    [​IMG]

    Conversion is 100% complete now
     
  3. Feb 24, 2013 at 6:55 PM
    #23
    VolcomTacoma

    VolcomTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57205
    Messages:
    9,468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Fairfield, NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport 4x4 6 Speed
    Did you have to change out the EcU?
     
  4. Feb 24, 2013 at 6:57 PM
    #24
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 [OP] Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,814
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    Nope, 00's didnt have one, I think 2nd gens do though
     
  5. Feb 24, 2013 at 7:00 PM
    #25
    dlooney

    dlooney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Member:
    #87608
    Messages:
    481
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Wilmington NC
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport PreRunner
    Satoshi w/ hella 500s mounted behind, 20% tint, 6K HID retro headlights, 4300k HID fog lights, DTRLs, plastidipped front valence, cb mount
    This is awesome...
     
  6. Feb 24, 2013 at 7:09 PM
    #26
    VolcomTacoma

    VolcomTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57205
    Messages:
    9,468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Fairfield, NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport 4x4 6 Speed
    Yea, I'm looking at putting in a manual FJ gearbox, with a double stick conversion, wondering if I need to touch any of the electrical stuff at all
     
  7. Feb 24, 2013 at 7:38 PM
    #27
    Snorkie

    Snorkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Member:
    #49359
    Messages:
    2,265
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Snorks
    Vehicle:
    2003 Pre-Runner
    Some
    Good job! Did you use J shift transfercase or the push button transfercase?
     
  8. Feb 25, 2013 at 12:29 PM
    #28
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 [OP] Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,814
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    Not sure about 2nd gens, have you looked through ttora ? theres a couple write ups i believe

    I used the J shift
     
  9. Feb 25, 2013 at 12:31 PM
    #29
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 [OP] Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,814
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    http://www.ttora.com/forum/showthread.php?t=177856 might be a little more pricey for you to do it then it was for me haha but id imagine if you could find a donor youd be set
     
  10. Feb 25, 2013 at 12:38 PM
    #30
    VolcomTacoma

    VolcomTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57205
    Messages:
    9,468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Fairfield, NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport 4x4 6 Speed
    Yea, the plan was to get the FJ gearbox...and then watch auctions for a totalled 4x4 and steal the parts off that :D
     
  11. Feb 25, 2013 at 12:42 PM
    #31
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 [OP] Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,814
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    Perseverance will pay off for sure man took me like 2 1/2 years ha and every junk yard started getting the parts I needed now
     
  12. Feb 25, 2013 at 12:45 PM
    #32
    VolcomTacoma

    VolcomTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57205
    Messages:
    9,468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Fairfield, NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport 4x4 6 Speed
    Yea, I told the wife about this, her only answer was "buy me a house first" lol, I said, well yea, obviously I need a garage to do this. So once that happens (hopefully this year) I can start painfully gathering parts :D
     
  13. Feb 25, 2013 at 12:52 PM
    #33
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 [OP] Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,814
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    Goodluck man make sure to keep us posted
     
  14. Feb 25, 2013 at 1:15 PM
    #34
    VolcomTacoma

    VolcomTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57205
    Messages:
    9,468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Fairfield, NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport 4x4 6 Speed
    Will Do! I'm not fooling myself...I Know this is going to cost several thousand dollars to accomplish...but spaced out over a few years of parts gathering...I think I can pull it off :D
     
  15. Feb 25, 2013 at 3:18 PM
    #35
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 [OP] Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,814
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    Plus youll be able to say eff what everyone says about trading it in haha
     
  16. Feb 25, 2013 at 3:21 PM
    #36
    VolcomTacoma

    VolcomTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57205
    Messages:
    9,468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Fairfield, NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport 4x4 6 Speed
    Exactly. Honestly, I just refi'd, poor planning among other things, on my part, so this baby is in the family for a looooooong time lol. Might as well go to town!
     
  17. Feb 25, 2013 at 3:28 PM
    #37
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 [OP] Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,814
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    There ya go, got the right mind set already
     
  18. Feb 26, 2013 at 4:00 PM
    #38
    hossmaster

    hossmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Member:
    #73399
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    League City, Tx
    Was a PreRunner, now it isn't
    how did you wire up that light?
     
  19. Feb 26, 2013 at 4:10 PM
    #39
    hossmaster

    hossmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Member:
    #73399
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    League City, Tx
    Was a PreRunner, now it isn't
    the output shaft is different between the 2wd and 4wd transmissions. You can swap out the output shaft but it is easier to just replace the trans if you find the right deal.
     
  20. Feb 26, 2013 at 6:54 PM
    #40
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 [OP] Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,814
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    Not necessary but like hoss stated you cans swap output shafts, but I found one with less miles anyways for a good price, plus after switching trans i realized my prerunner one was probably about to go haha, Hoss I just grounded the position switch on the passenger side plug on the trans and ran a wire to the light in the dash

    http://www.ttora.com/forum/showthread.php?t=182608

    basically the 4th wire in on the dash plug needs to be spliced and grounded to the plug on the trans
     
To Top