1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Problems with URD Pipe Bomb

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by brandonlamb25, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. Jan 14, 2009 at 11:53 AM
    #1
    brandonlamb25

    brandonlamb25 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Member:
    #6871
    Messages:
    287
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    08 Crewcab Prerunner V6
    K&N Intake, Wet Okole Seat Covers, Ipod to Factory radio hookup kit, Black Low Pro Toolbox, Toytec Coilovers and 285/75r16 BFG MT's
    I recently added a URD Pipe Bomb to my existing exhaust system. My current setup prior to Pipe Bomb was comprised of ta K&N intake, Doug Thorley Long Tube Headers, stock Y Pipe, and Borla Cat-Back exhaust. I recently added the Pipe Bomb and now I have a noticeable metal on metal rubbing sound. I double checked all bolts on headers, Y pipe and exhaust and all is tight. All hangers are properly in place. I installed new o rings between the headers and y pipe connection and new toyota header gaskets between block and header. The only thing I figure is it has to be coming from the addition of the Pipe Bomb. I can put my foot on the exhaust and slightly push and all is firm and no sound is made. When I push on the pipe bomb it moves more freely and squeaks. what gives? There is no gasket between the pipe bomb and exhaust connection. It is held together with the two bolts with springs on them. Any ideas? What is the resonating sound people speak of in exhaust systems? Any input would be great.
     
  2. Jan 14, 2009 at 12:26 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Thor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,758
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Its probably just rubbing on a heat shield. Check the heat shields out, and bend them out of the way.
     
  3. Jan 14, 2009 at 12:55 PM
    #3
    brandonlamb25

    brandonlamb25 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Member:
    #6871
    Messages:
    287
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    08 Crewcab Prerunner V6
    K&N Intake, Wet Okole Seat Covers, Ipod to Factory radio hookup kit, Black Low Pro Toolbox, Toytec Coilovers and 285/75r16 BFG MT's
    Yeah, I forgot to mention that I tried that already. Same result. Still sounds bad!! Thanks for the help.
     
  4. Jan 14, 2009 at 1:08 PM
    #4
    tacoskim

    tacoskim Tuned By Gadget

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5252
    Messages:
    2,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD 4x4 Pyrite Mica
    Stock

    i have the pipe bomb. u need to trim a little bit on the pipe bomb where it meets the cat-back. also gonna have to put a little thicker donut gasket
     
  5. Jan 14, 2009 at 1:09 PM
    #5
    JDCPA

    JDCPA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Member:
    #10777
    Messages:
    932
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    SW FL
    Vehicle:
    09 5 Lug Access Cab SR5
    Curt Hitch and etrailer.com wiring harness.
    I would remove the Pipe Bomb and see if the sound goes away. If it does you know what needs attention.
     
  6. Jan 14, 2009 at 1:13 PM
    #6
    tacoskim

    tacoskim Tuned By Gadget

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5252
    Messages:
    2,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD 4x4 Pyrite Mica
    Stock
    i put the pipe bomb on and off numerous of times. and i can guarantee u its cuz the pipe is too long. others had the same problem, and the solution has helped everyone else
     
  7. Jan 14, 2009 at 1:22 PM
    #7
    06Bluez

    06Bluez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Member:
    #7281
    Messages:
    956
    Gender:
    Male
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4
    Icon Coil-overs, TC UCA, with Bilstein 5150 and Icon 3 leaf pack. 17" Moto Metal 951 4.5" Backspacing wrapped in 285/70/17 BFG AT's. Demello front bumper and Avid offroad sliders.
    Mine worked out quite nicley. I had it installed at an exhaust shop though so I had no trouble shooting.
     
  8. Jan 14, 2009 at 9:06 PM
    #8
    Ridingontrd

    Ridingontrd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Member:
    #6459
    Messages:
    7,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Laughlin,N.V
    Vehicle:
    trd sport 4x4 w/towpkg
    aFe prodry,Dynomax ultra flo ss,Scangauge2,Demello front bumper,BudBuilt skids,sliders(local)AllPro rear bumper,Wet O's cobalt blu,w/halfpiping,TRD logo in gold,R/L hood struts,5150's@10"aal 3 pack,T/C uca,Light racing c/o,1"diff.drop,de-badged,
    A little extra info on those 2 bolts w/springs.After having a cat back installed,I had a vib/rattle.The 2 bolts were not equally tight.1 of the springs was loose causing the rattle.Those bolts have built in stops.I got the biggest i/d washer i could find(to fit over the stops)It worked.:D
     
  9. Jan 14, 2009 at 9:17 PM
    #9
    roxspin72

    roxspin72 Enjoying my addiction

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Member:
    #4659
    Messages:
    1,831
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    Speedway Blue, TRD, 4X4,
    Oh Yeah!!!
    +1

    I posted this in TN, it has to be something going on with that Doughnut. either its not fitting all not there all together. "There is no gasket between the pipe bomb and exhaust connection. It is held together with the two bolts with springs on them. Any ideas?".

    I am also in the works of replacing springs with my set up being it came off multiple times. Almost thinking of welding a complete Y-catback connection, but saving that for last result being I may need to reinstall original for emmisions purposes...
     
To Top