1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

program key fob

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Captain, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. Mar 3, 2009 at 2:25 PM
    #1
    Captain

    Captain [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Member:
    #14280
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    nys, Hudson Valley Area
    Vehicle:
    09trd sport pkg d/cab LB
    can I program a key fob for an 09 tacoma myself? I was given a new fob that I want have as a spare.
     
  2. Mar 3, 2009 at 2:36 PM
    #2
    BeefTaco

    BeefTaco WESTern Alliance: NORCAL COAST

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6481
    Messages:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    Santa Cruz County Ca.
  3. Mar 3, 2009 at 2:55 PM
    #3
    Captain

    Captain [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Member:
    #14280
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    nys, Hudson Valley Area
    Vehicle:
    09trd sport pkg d/cab LB
    Thank you sir! I am a old retired Police captain, I appreciate the help. I have just ordered a new 09 Tacoma double cab with the TRD sport package with the trd exhaust. Have been a ford truck person my whole life....we'll see. Thanks again.
     
  4. Aug 13, 2015 at 10:05 AM
    #4
    TheRayMaynard

    TheRayMaynard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Member:
    #161686
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    I realize this is an old thread, but I discovered an issue and hope it saves someone a lot of headaches. My Taco is a 2005 Gulf states one with their add on alarm with the little red valet light/switch to the left of the steering wheel. The fob has GQ4 as the first of the FCC number. After trying unsuccessfully, more times than I can count to program a new fob, I thought the instructions were either wrong or didn't apply to my truck. It turns out the instructions are correct, but the problem is that my truck has a lot of use and the ignition switch is worn enough that when just putting the key in the ignition, it is not recognized. I figured out that holding some upward tension on the key after inserting it caused the security light on the dash to go off. Once I discovered this and made sure the light went off each time the key was inserted, it programmed the first time. I also saw on another thread where a broken hood alarm switch was causing the alarm to think the hood was open, causing the system to not go into program mode. Not in my case, but something to check before taking to stealer. BTW, this also causes a no start sometimes too. I am going to get a new key cut to see if this solves the problem, as the old one is very worn.

    upload_2015-8-13_11-46-29.jpg
    upload_2015-8-13_11-46-43.jpg
     
  5. Sep 25, 2016 at 5:29 AM
    #5
    preynden86

    preynden86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Member:
    #195724
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma Base Access Manual 5 Speed
    Reviving an ancient thread but I'm curious as to whether or not you can reprogram Tacomas newer than 2010. I have a 2014 Base and recently purchased a FOB as the truck didn't come with one when I bought it. I've tried the crazy witchcraft style of reprogramming it but the truck never locks/unlocks to acknowledge that it has entered programming mode. I've read that other people have successfully reprogrammed newer Tacomas so either my truck is different or I'm doing the procedures wrong (although I'm pretty sure I'm doing them right. Using these procedures:upload_2016-9-25_8-28-57.jpg
     
To Top