1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Push to Start for Tacoma

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by BabyT, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. Jan 31, 2011 at 2:05 PM
    #1
    BabyT

    BabyT [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Member:
    #49847
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    FL
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    switched entire headlamp and added White HID kit, Low Profile UWS Truck Box, Wet Okele Seat Covers, Weathertech floor mats
    Can you put a push to start in a tacoma??? if yes where can i find some cause they are really dope
     
  2. Jan 31, 2011 at 2:06 PM
    #2
    TACOMA TRD

    TACOMA TRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34897
    Messages:
    2,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM SPORT DC 4x4
    Alpine HU, Apline 6.5 3 way Speakers, Access Cover.
    WTF do u want that for? and Welcome
     
  3. Jan 31, 2011 at 2:07 PM
    #3
    KodiakToyTRD

    KodiakToyTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Member:
    #39186
    Messages:
    15,669
    Gender:
    Male
    CO
    Vehicle:
    2013 Scion FR-S Whiteout
    Cuz itz dope yo!
     
  4. Jan 31, 2011 at 2:24 PM
    #4
    HogTaco

    HogTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Member:
    #48388
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    Northwest Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2011 Access Cab 2.7 2WD AT
    Bed Mat, OEM Running Boards, Ultra-Gauge.
    If you gotta push it to start, I'd consider a new battery.
     
  5. Jan 31, 2011 at 2:28 PM
    #5
    KodiakToyTRD

    KodiakToyTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Member:
    #39186
    Messages:
    15,669
    Gender:
    Male
    CO
    Vehicle:
    2013 Scion FR-S Whiteout
    Bwahahahaha!!!:D
     
  6. Jan 31, 2011 at 2:29 PM
    #6
    steve o 77

    steve o 77 braaap

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Member:
    #26726
    Messages:
    19,968
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    In a corn field, OH
    Vehicle:
    1990 Chevy Siveraydo
    245k+ miles, rust, working AC, bald eagles
    I had one in my bronco because the ignition was messed up. Super easy to wire up a switch from autozone.

    It wasn't really "dope" though since it looked like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Jan 31, 2011 at 2:40 PM
    #7
    jcremeans11

    jcremeans11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Member:
    #47531
    Messages:
    190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    01 Tacoma SR5
    Spectre Cold Air Intake, Michelin XLT's (265/70/16), Escort Solo S3, Grounded Throttle body
    Idk man, when it's not a stock push to start it's just a little ricey imo. I know a kid that put a crappy remote start in his teal blue 97 f150 and it doesn't work half the time, so he just looks stupid, but I did google push to start for you and this pic came up, it's in a Toyota Vitz? So the hardware may be close to the same.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Jan 31, 2011 at 2:43 PM
    #8
    10PreRunner

    10PreRunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30759
    Messages:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Knoxville, Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2013 SR5 4x4 Double Cab
    You could get a button out of a honda S2000. On 8thcivic.com a forum I used to go to they did it to civics all the time. You might be able to find some schematics that might help on our trucks. Heres what the button looks like.
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Jan 31, 2011 at 2:43 PM
    #9
    005Tacoma

    005Tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7179
    Messages:
    561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Macon Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Toyota Tacoma
    It may look "dope" yo but seems kinda "lazy" IMO
     
  10. Jan 31, 2011 at 3:00 PM
    #10
    The1youluv2hate

    The1youluv2hate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43233
    Messages:
    2,715
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peps
    SP... CaL
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD sPort
    5100's@1.75 Horns (Andres) Satoshi TRD cat back BHLM
    I say to much hassle but go for it ...
     
  11. Jan 31, 2011 at 3:25 PM
    #11
    scollins

    scollins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Member:
    #48145
    Messages:
    201
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Renton WA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma Double Cab 4x4 T|X PRO
    I wish I could get the same system in the Tacoma that I have in my X5: Comfort Access.

    With Comfort Access, the key fob stays in your pocket, always. The doors unlock when you grab the handle, and you can relock them by touching the handle in the right spot. The sensors are in all doors, including the lift gate.

    Also, you don't need to have a "key" in the ignition, it just detects when the key is inside the car, and then press the "Start/Stop" button. It is really handy and convenient, but was a $1,000 option on the BMW. I'm sure it could as much, or more, to retrofit a similar system to the Tacoma. I'll just keep reaching for the keys....
     
  12. Jan 31, 2011 at 3:26 PM
    #12
    BabyT

    BabyT [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Member:
    #49847
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    FL
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    switched entire headlamp and added White HID kit, Low Profile UWS Truck Box, Wet Okele Seat Covers, Weathertech floor mats
    they will probably make it an option in the next year or so ill jus wait then buy it then that stuff is way shady
     
  13. Jan 31, 2011 at 3:29 PM
    #13
    racerxtaco

    racerxtaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Member:
    #48698
    Messages:
    118
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    virginia
    Vehicle:
    01 xtra-cab 4X4 w/cap
    i love all the comments about how stupid it is and pointless.. the question was, can it be done? and if so, how? i know this is a public forum but come on people, he's just looking for help with something
     
  14. Jan 31, 2011 at 4:19 PM
    #14
    DriverSound

    DriverSound Señor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Member:
    #15329
    Messages:
    3,692
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB OR 4x4 & 15 Mustang GTPP
    Too few to list. 10 4runner SR5 4x4- 09 Pre-Runner TRD-OR AC- 14 Prius Two- 08 xB
    You'd probably be able to use the 5th gen 4Runner Limited button. Check it out at your dealership.
     
  15. Jan 31, 2011 at 4:33 PM
    #15
    HomeGrown

    HomeGrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49116
    Messages:
    334
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    South Bend, IN
    Vehicle:
    2014 Reg Cab 4WD
    The Toyota Smart Key system is HIGHLY integrated into the vehicle (my Prius has this, and it IS nice!). But to incorporate the full functionality of Smart Key without actually having that system would be a collosal and costly undertaking.

    I'm sure it's possible to hook up a simple "Start" button, but you'd still have to put the key in and turn it to the "run" position, then hit the start button (thereby making starting the truck more or less a PITA). You'd have to splice into the ignition wiring to find the START position wires. Any place that sells remote starters should be able to provide you with the harness color code.
     
  16. Jan 31, 2011 at 4:47 PM
    #16
    cc350

    cc350 Buckeye Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Member:
    #44527
    Messages:
    946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chas
    Liberty,Twp Ohio
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD DC
    TRex3 eyelids,Undercover hardshell cover,Timbrens
    Anything is possible if you throw enough money at it. :)
     
  17. Jan 31, 2011 at 4:50 PM
    #17
    kinetik873

    kinetik873 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Member:
    #9468
    Messages:
    1,522
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Springfield, Va.
    Vehicle:
    '08 TRD
    OME 3" lift, ARB bumper,DTRL, CB radio in console, 5lb fire extinguisher in bed. SockMonkey decals, Allpro rear bumper, UWS 42" bed box, Wet Okoles all around, snorkel, Pioneer Av3200, ..yadda yadda yadda
    we did the Tactical Battle switch mod on our hilux's over in the sandbox, I actually kind of liked that. But not on my tacoma. No sir, I do not like it.
     
  18. Jan 31, 2011 at 5:07 PM
    #18
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    It can be done. I would go about looking for a detailed wiring diagram for the Tacoma ignition system first. Then, you intersect the ignition wire so the key turn becomes a relay and the push button is the switch. The only thing I'd watch out for is not to disrupt the key chip recognition system. I'm not sure where that is in the wiring. Good luck, take pictures and make a DIY if you go through with it! Although I don't see the point, it is a neat idea and would be different.
     
  19. Jan 31, 2011 at 5:11 PM
    #19
    HomeGrown

    HomeGrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49116
    Messages:
    334
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    South Bend, IN
    Vehicle:
    2014 Reg Cab 4WD
    Truer words were never spoken! ;)
     
  20. Jan 31, 2011 at 5:14 PM
    #20
    go8soccer

    go8soccer Memba

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Member:
    #31038
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Grovetown, GA
    Vehicle:
    '08 Super White DC LB Prerunner Sport
    Leaf TSB, front Billie 5100's (1.75"), 265x70x17 BFG Rugged Terrain
    you got the wrong dopin' car yo..
    should've gotten a Prius.. they haz the button!:rofl::laughing:
     
To Top