1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Putting dash switch in upper row of blanks?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by jspadaro, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. jspadaro

    jspadaro [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Member:
    #12342
    Messages:
    2,996
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Knoxville, TN
    Vehicle:
    Former Tacoma Owner
    Blue Oval Mod
    How do I get to the upper set of blanks to fit a dash switch in?

    I can reach the lower row by pulling out the change holder in front of the fuses, but can't get to the upper row.
     
  2. jspadaro

    jspadaro [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Member:
    #12342
    Messages:
    2,996
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Knoxville, TN
    Vehicle:
    Former Tacoma Owner
    Blue Oval Mod
  3. msaniac

    msaniac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15896
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Clemson, SC
    Vehicle:
    '09 DC 4x4 TRD Sport Longbed
    LED Bed Lights, Prodigy P3 Brake Controller, K&N Air Filter, Viper 5901 Alarm, Kenwood 9140 Headunit (Sirius/GPS/Backup Camera)
    The way I did it was get someone with a small hand to go up there and remove the blanks. All the switches come out of the front with a little force (there are tabs there so a little wiggling popped them out). To get the wiring in there I just ran a coat hanger down and pull up wire - plugged it in while the switch was out and popped switch in. For my custom switch I soldered wires onto switch fed wires down and then popped switch in.

    I know this might not be what you're looking for but just how I did it. I couldn't find a great way (at least easy way) to get to those switches. Didn't feel like taking entire dash apart.
     
  4. Viet2100

    Viet2100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1930
    Messages:
    2,520
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Viet
    Delray Beach, FL
    Vehicle:
    2007 Infiniti G35S
    Easier way is to just remove the whole console. It's only about 5 10mm bolts.
     
To Top