1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Python Alarm/Remote Start install

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Rascal737, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. Dec 31, 2011 at 4:20 AM
    #1
    Rascal737

    Rascal737 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Member:
    #69593
    Messages:
    488
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Oliver
    Abbotsford, BC
    Vehicle:
    09 Silver DCLB TRD Sport 4X4
    Python 574 Remote start/Security system, reusable cabin air filter, led map and dome lights, led bed lights, switchback dtrl's, aftermarket dual halo projector headlights retrofitted with TRS goodies, foglights on anytime, Illuminated 4X4 switch, Redline hood struts and EZ down tailgate, Weathertech front and rear floor liners, Black Westin 4" oval step bars
    Has anyone done an alarm/remote start install yourself......should I even consider this option?

    Is there anything I should know before tackling this job??
     
  2. Dec 31, 2011 at 5:06 AM
    #2
    Nightstr

    Nightstr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Member:
    #28125
    Messages:
    5,158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Felipe
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner sr5
    BLHM BLWM 3" TOUGH COUNTRY LIFT TRD SEAT COVERS THULE RACK M/T KM2 265/65/16
    Do you have a way to override the chip on the key? I was going to try to wire this same alarm and said f:eek:ck it when I saw all the wires. I'm having mine installed for $380 at best buy because they are the only ones that will install it around here.
     
  3. Dec 31, 2011 at 1:21 PM
    #3
    Nightstr

    Nightstr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Member:
    #28125
    Messages:
    5,158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Felipe
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner sr5
    BLHM BLWM 3" TOUGH COUNTRY LIFT TRD SEAT COVERS THULE RACK M/T KM2 265/65/16
    :eek: I would have been happier with a bacon tree.:D
     
  4. Dec 31, 2011 at 2:50 PM
    #4
    Utard

    Utard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Member:
    #66532
    Messages:
    3,140
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Nyssa, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2012 DC LB 4WD TRD SPORT NAVI
    ------------------------------------------------------------ Stabilus.EZDown.Tailgate http://www.ezdown.com/home.php ----------------------------------------------- Tekonsha.Primus.IQ.Trailer.brake http://www.tekonsha.com/content/default.aspx---------------------------------------------------------------- Leer 180 CC http://www.leer.com/Truck-Caps#------------------------------------------------ Firestone Air Rite Air Bags--------------------------------------Kargomaster Rack
    I put a simple alarm on a jeep and it was no problem. I got a new one for the Tacoma with remote start, lock, radar, window roll up. When I opened the box saw the bundle of like 25-30 wires I put it right back in the box and had some one do it for me.
     
  5. Dec 31, 2011 at 10:58 PM
    #5
    platinumb

    platinumb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Member:
    #60397
    Messages:
    507
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    denver
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD OR DC Supercharged
    supercharger, focal/jl audio sound system, trd cat back
    If you haven't done an alarm before don't do it yourself. I've been an installer for 16 years I have done plenty of these and it's not a hard car but it isnt a good job for a novice either it is possible but it would probably take you a whole day at least and a pro installer only a couple hours. The best bypass piece in my opinion is the flcan. Your installer will have one hey prefer use the one the installer is used to and comfortable with.
     
  6. Jan 1, 2012 at 5:24 AM
    #6
    Rascal737

    Rascal737 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Member:
    #69593
    Messages:
    488
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Oliver
    Abbotsford, BC
    Vehicle:
    09 Silver DCLB TRD Sport 4X4
    Python 574 Remote start/Security system, reusable cabin air filter, led map and dome lights, led bed lights, switchback dtrl's, aftermarket dual halo projector headlights retrofitted with TRS goodies, foglights on anytime, Illuminated 4X4 switch, Redline hood struts and EZ down tailgate, Weathertech front and rear floor liners, Black Westin 4" oval step bars
    I got the pkall bypass from xpresskit with dual radar sensor......is there anything else that I need? I've done a couple of alarm installs on my previous vehicles (hyundai excel, honda civic and ford ranger) all have worked out fine, but I've never done a remote start before
     
  7. Jan 1, 2012 at 7:44 PM
    #7
    platinumb

    platinumb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Member:
    #60397
    Messages:
    507
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    denver
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD OR DC Supercharged
    supercharger, focal/jl audio sound system, trd cat back
    The problem with a mercury switch over a hard mount pin switch is if you park on a steep enough slope it won't function properly, I use them on some types o vehicle when there isnt a reasonable place to mount a pin switch.
     
  8. Jan 1, 2012 at 7:47 PM
    #8
    platinumb

    platinumb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Member:
    #60397
    Messages:
    507
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    denver
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD OR DC Supercharged
    supercharger, focal/jl audio sound system, trd cat back
    That's all you need to get it in, just take your time with the alarm and remember for it to be secure as an alarm system you need to make sure someone can't see any of the security system wires even if they get in he car and take the lower dash panels off. Try to find an installer at a shop somewhere to print off the dei tech sheet for you the wire locations and notes help a lot if you haven't done an alarm in a Tacoma before.
     
  9. Jan 2, 2012 at 4:38 AM
    #9
    Raylo

    Raylo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    428
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab, TRD Sport
    They also make digital tilt switches that work better on slopes than mercury switches. They note the position that they are in when the system gets armed and alarm when moved from that.

    I did a similar install on my 2009 with a Clifford (also made by DEI) back a few years ago and made some fairly extensive notes. I used a Fortin bypass module similar to the PKALL. Sorry, no pics though. I wish I had taken the time to take a few but I was in a hurry.... here is my writeup:

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacomas/40413-2009-tacoma-alarm-rs-install-notes-long.html
     
  10. Jan 15, 2012 at 6:01 PM
    #10
    Rascal737

    Rascal737 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Member:
    #69593
    Messages:
    488
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Oliver
    Abbotsford, BC
    Vehicle:
    09 Silver DCLB TRD Sport 4X4
    Python 574 Remote start/Security system, reusable cabin air filter, led map and dome lights, led bed lights, switchback dtrl's, aftermarket dual halo projector headlights retrofitted with TRS goodies, foglights on anytime, Illuminated 4X4 switch, Redline hood struts and EZ down tailgate, Weathertech front and rear floor liners, Black Westin 4" oval step bars
    thanks for all the input......the alarm is installed and working, now the remote start and tach input, most of the connections have been made, i can't find the black/white tach wire, well i found the wire but when i hooked up my multi meter, i'm not getting anything out.

    2nd issue is the remote start wires have a starter input and a starter output wires.....the truck has starter 1 and 2 wires, do i splice into these (starter input into the black/white starter 2 and the starter output wire to the green/black starter 1 wire)
     
To Top