1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Question about mass air flow

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas' started by Taco Sos, May 11, 2013.

  1. May 11, 2013 at 9:20 AM
    #1
    Taco Sos

    Taco Sos [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Member:
    #48612
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    Culpeper, VA
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tacoma DC TRD 4x4
    Bilstein 5100s in front, 265/75/16 BFG A/T, Grey Wire Mod, Deck Palte Mod, Tint, Clarion Head Unit, Infiniti Speakers, Dual 4 channel amp
    I just took my trick to the dealership to diagnose my CEL. They called and said it was my mass air flow meter. Is that the same as a mass air flow sensor?
     
  2. May 11, 2013 at 11:05 AM
    #2
    gobraphil

    gobraphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Member:
    #89469
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
  3. May 12, 2013 at 6:53 AM
    #3
    TejasYOTA

    TejasYOTA Countinuous improvement

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Member:
    #23789
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan
    Country of TEXAS!
    Vehicle:
    "STITCH" 01 Tacoma DC TRD Limited 4WD
    Check the TTORA Garage Section....
    What's wrong with it?
    Build up or a busted sensor?

    If build up you can get electrical parts cleaner in a spray can to remove the grime.
    DO NOT USE Q-Tips or any tools to clean the sensor.
    It can break.

    If busted you can replace yourself.
     
  4. May 12, 2013 at 1:06 PM
    #4
    koco

    koco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Member:
    #79503
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    Bay Area Ca.
    Vehicle:
    '01 Taco
    Around $26,000 worth of unleaded in the fuel tank.
    CRC just released a new mass airflow sensor cleaner available at parts stores. It's like $7. I dunno what's in it.
     
  5. May 12, 2013 at 5:08 PM
    #5
    tacomataco2

    tacomataco2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Member:
    #91944
    Messages:
    1,750
    Gender:
    Male
    Eastham Mass
    Vehicle:
    02 Dbl cab Silver
    Bilstein 5100's, eibach coils, u bolt flip, Dakars/d6xl, Ome shackles, Poly sway bar bush, Poly rack bush, voltmeter, led guage lights, magnaflow stainless catback, stainless cats, deckplate mod, afe filter, tundra brakes,PIAA fogs behind grillecraft, color matched grille, soft topper, Projector retrofit, Allpro bumper , Blitzpro light bars, Alpine/ rock fosgate sound system, 35% tint, Some derped stuff
    Try cleaning it with spray, then turn the light off. If that doesn't work buy one from Toyota parts barn (or comparable online Toyota part website) and put it in yourself, wicked easy!
     
  6. May 12, 2013 at 5:34 PM
    #6
    Taco Sos

    Taco Sos [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Member:
    #48612
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    Culpeper, VA
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tacoma DC TRD 4x4
    Bilstein 5100s in front, 265/75/16 BFG A/T, Grey Wire Mod, Deck Palte Mod, Tint, Clarion Head Unit, Infiniti Speakers, Dual 4 channel amp
    Thanks for the replies. Ive cleaned the sensor a few times before with no luck. I was just confused about the dealerships wording. Just an FYI Auto Zone had an identical Toyota/Denso one for $79 and yes it took all of 3 minutes to change. Truck is running awesome now!!! Hoping I start to get better than 14 mpgs now.
     
  7. May 13, 2013 at 3:39 AM
    #7
    TejasYOTA

    TejasYOTA Countinuous improvement

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Member:
    #23789
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan
    Country of TEXAS!
    Vehicle:
    "STITCH" 01 Tacoma DC TRD Limited 4WD
    Check the TTORA Garage Section....
    Bummer that you had to replace it... you can tell if it is busted.

    Look down the tunnel and you will see what will look like a resistor suspended in the air.
    If it is not suspended and you see one of two wires broken, well it's busted.
    if not, it might have been something else within the connector.

    Glad we were able to help.
     
To Top