1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Radio problems?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TiMe, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. Oct 25, 2010 at 7:52 PM
    #1
    TiMe

    TiMe [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Member:
    #44388
    Messages:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Vehicle:
    05 Dbl Cab 4x4
    6" Fabtech with coilovers 33" nitto mud grapplers
    Anyone have a problem with the stock radio changing the channels on its own?

    I just took a trip to the store and on my way back my radio changed channels on me. I thought I hit the steering wheel control so I changed it back and moved my hand. It did it again..

    Got to my driveway and parked. I sat there without touching anything and the channel changed and then changed back to what I was listening to.

    Anyone have this problem?
     
  2. Oct 25, 2010 at 7:54 PM
    #2
    TacoRich

    TacoRich n00b

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Member:
    #40335
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Winchester, Ca
    Vehicle:
    White 07 Prerunner
    Throttle body spacer, K&N intake, Leer 700 tonneau cover, Dynomax catback, de-badged, bilstein shocks, airlift air bags, procomp at's 285/75/16 on stock rims with spidertrac spacers.
    Yea, mine started to do that as well. No clue as to why. Just gives me an excuse to get something new that works better.
     
  3. Oct 25, 2010 at 8:03 PM
    #3
    TiMe

    TiMe [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Member:
    #44388
    Messages:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Vehicle:
    05 Dbl Cab 4x4
    6" Fabtech with coilovers 33" nitto mud grapplers

    I wouldnt mind fixin my stock one if it keeps up. Im outta warranty so I cant take it in. I really dont want an aftermarket stereo. It just gives thieves something to steal outta my truck.
     
  4. Oct 25, 2010 at 9:26 PM
    #4
    AKTACO420

    AKTACO420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30538
    Messages:
    1,198
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    RETODD
    Anchorage AK
    Vehicle:
    2009 tacoma
    bucket seats grille craft mesh grille and lights behind grille
    My stock radio would turn off and on by its self and would change stations. I said f that piece off crap and yanked it out and put in a double din. Way better and is much louder
     
  5. Oct 25, 2010 at 9:32 PM
    #5
    ttylerr

    ttylerr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Member:
    #17913
    Messages:
    833
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM 4Banger 4x4
    5% tint all around, Alpine IVA-W505, 16x8 Mojave Teflon Rims w/Hercules Terra Trac 265/75, Grillcraft Grill, Slimcubby HIDs, Front 5100's @ 0 w/Eibach 1.6" springs, URD Short Shifter, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, Uniden Pro510XL and K30Mag Mount, Relentless Fab Bumper soon to come
    it seems to be a common problem with the stock head units. especially with the '09s from what ive seen on this board. anyways, im sure you can find a used one for sale if not on this site, on craigslist
     
  6. Oct 25, 2010 at 9:42 PM
    #6
    AKTACO420

    AKTACO420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30538
    Messages:
    1,198
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    RETODD
    Anchorage AK
    Vehicle:
    2009 tacoma
    bucket seats grille craft mesh grille and lights behind grille
    My stock radio would turn off and on by its self and would change stations. I said f that piece off crap and yanked it out and put in a double din. Way better and is much louder
     
  7. Oct 25, 2010 at 10:03 PM
    #7
    roadking1

    roadking1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Member:
    #43941
    Messages:
    307
    Gender:
    Male
    n.j.
    Vehicle:
    sr5 trd 4wd
    stock unit on my 2009 did the same things. dealer replaced it ..toyota had a lot of problems with them...they changed suppliers.the new one has been fine.call toyota corporate and try for a new free one
     
  8. Oct 25, 2010 at 10:07 PM
    #8
    TiMe

    TiMe [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Member:
    #44388
    Messages:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Vehicle:
    05 Dbl Cab 4x4
    6" Fabtech with coilovers 33" nitto mud grapplers
    HAHA maybe! It might just be my friend that recently passed away messin with me!

    I have an 05, ill call but I doubt they will do anything for me...

    I guess if it acts up its time to get an aftermarket one..
     
  9. Oct 26, 2010 at 2:28 AM
    #9
    daggertats

    daggertats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Member:
    #39720
    Messages:
    544
    Gender:
    Male
    arden nc
    Vehicle:
    2010 tacoma 4x4 reg cab
    undercover tonneau ,bug deflector, removal of all tacoma emblems added a set of component speakers behind the rear seat egr in channel window visors
    a guy i work with has a tundra and his radio would ajust the volume on its own .hed get in to start the truck and the damn thing would be up so loud it would scare him half to death,he got a new one from toyota since it was still under warranty and its fine.
     
  10. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:00 AM
    #10
    WNYTACOMA

    WNYTACOMA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Member:
    #10961
    Messages:
    1,333
    Gender:
    Male
    Clarence, New York
    Vehicle:
    09 Metalic Grey TRD OFF ROAD
    Toyota Nerf steps Bugflector 2 Tool box Weathertech floor liners Wet Okole F/R - Bk/Char

    This would be what mine hads done for brief stretches since i bought i new. With mine, it seems to happen when it gets colder and damper.

    I'm well under warranty and will have them address it soon, as the last few times were less 'brief' instances than the pervious ones had been.
     
  11. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:46 AM
    #11
    Jimsc

    Jimsc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Member:
    #40413
    Messages:
    469
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    10 PreRunner Double Cab
    Aries Nerf Bars, Cargo Seperator
    My 2010 does it too. Has gone from radio to CD one time.
     
  12. Oct 26, 2010 at 4:47 AM
    #12
    09_tacoma

    09_tacoma Forever at a crossroads

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Member:
    #39888
    Messages:
    963
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Mylene
    North Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco V6 4x4 DLCB TRD Sport
    Headlights, Exhaust, grill, Kings all around resi suspension. Camburg UCA's, Clarion double din

    Do you have an iPod interface installed?

    If so that was the source of my problems, bought a brand new '09 and added the iPod a couple weeks after I took delivery. Started to change channels, froze on me all the time, wouldn't turn off even if the truck wasn't running anymore. Got 5 new radios before I finally got fed up told them to rip out the iPod cord, got my money back and haven't had an issue with it since.
     
  13. Oct 26, 2010 at 8:43 AM
    #13
    TiMe

    TiMe [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Member:
    #44388
    Messages:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Vehicle:
    05 Dbl Cab 4x4
    6" Fabtech with coilovers 33" nitto mud grapplers
    Yea I have an ipod interface installed. But its been in there for over a year and hasnt had any problems. I rarely use it to...
     
  14. Oct 27, 2010 at 10:33 AM
    #14
    whattheheck

    whattheheck Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Member:
    #33606
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma SR5 Sport
    Dealer just gave me a new one. I have a 2010 Tacoma bought in March. Every now and then, radio would change channels, turn volume up. Way up. One time I was on the toll road, one lane, no shoulder because of construction. The radio changed itself to the spanish station and turned the volume way loud. I couldn't pull over and none of the buttons on the radio would work. I don't even speak spanish, but after being forced to drive for 7 miles with the spanish station blairing loud, Ahora soy capaz de entender algunas palabras y frases en español. Y sé que cada palabra de La Bamba!!
     
  15. Oct 27, 2010 at 1:35 PM
    #15
    N3ZAT

    N3ZAT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Member:
    #29432
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charlie
    Coatesville,Pa.
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    saws up front/TC UCA/rear AAL
    I had 5 radios in my 09 before Toyota gave me a check for 480.00 it took 3 mos. to get it. I now have a kenwood /w/alpine spks. Charlie
     
  16. Oct 27, 2010 at 1:44 PM
    #16
    TiMe

    TiMe [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Member:
    #44388
    Messages:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Vehicle:
    05 Dbl Cab 4x4
    6" Fabtech with coilovers 33" nitto mud grapplers
    It hasnt done it again.... :confused:
     
  17. Oct 27, 2010 at 4:16 PM
    #17
    pataco

    pataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Member:
    #12092
    Messages:
    2,070
    Gender:
    Male
    Down by the lake
    Vehicle:
    05 4x4 trd dc white
    FOX 2.0 RESIS,LRUCAS,BILLY 5100S ON THE REAR.MAGNAFLOW 11264,COLOR MATCHED GRILL,YELLOW FOG MOD.OVER HEAD DVD,FEDERAL COURAGIA M/T
    lmfao:rofl:
     
  18. Oct 27, 2010 at 4:30 PM
    #18
    N3ZAT

    N3ZAT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Member:
    #29432
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charlie
    Coatesville,Pa.
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    saws up front/TC UCA/rear AAL
    Oh it will do it again like i said they gave me 5 radios they all go bad.
     
  19. Oct 27, 2010 at 5:04 PM
    #19
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    I thought I was spared from the bad radio batch, but after a year and few months, mine finally started going nuts, so I had it replaced last week.

    If it happens again, I'll use it as an excuse to go aftermarket.:D
     
  20. Oct 27, 2010 at 8:33 PM
    #20
    luco1029

    luco1029 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Member:
    #23987
    Messages:
    610
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lucas
    Wilkes, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 DCSB 4x4 Timberland Mica
    Straight Pipe, Readylift 3" Spacer, 17x9 Matte Black XD Revolvers, 285/70/17 Cooper Discoverer AT3, Plastidipped emblems, Pioneer Double Din, OEM Roof Rack, N-Fab Side Steps
    My radio does that quite a bit. Mine will also start displaying weird letters and turn off then back on and CD's will randomly pop out.
     
To Top