1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Radio Swap

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by crouchingwombat, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. Mar 25, 2010 at 6:24 AM
    #1
    crouchingwombat

    crouchingwombat [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Member:
    #33675
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Titletown, FL
    Vehicle:
    Black 2007 PreRunner TRD Sport
    Before I drop a few dollars on a 09 radio to put in my 07 taco I thought I'd ask your advice.

    Will if fit and will everything work?
    Any foreseeable problems?
    Anyone do this before?

    Also, it's a replacement radio so the it should be without the bugs.

    Thanks guys for the input.
     
  2. Mar 25, 2010 at 7:58 AM
    #2
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    How much are you spending on a 'stock' radio and why?
     
  3. Mar 25, 2010 at 11:12 AM
    #3
    crouchingwombat

    crouchingwombat [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Member:
    #33675
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Titletown, FL
    Vehicle:
    Black 2007 PreRunner TRD Sport
    I was thinking of getting this and he will give me the 2009 radio that he no longer uses.
    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/buy-sell-trade/72535-pac-ipod-hd-radio-factory-upgrade.html

    All for 250, maybe lower.

    If I get what I want to put in there it's going to cost me some $, unfortunately I am all too familiar with nice stereo equipment and how much it all costs.
    Ideally I would like to put a nice touch screen double din in there with gps/sat/ipod/preamp outs/ etc.... But then i would be forced to buy some new speakers for the whole truck then subs then amps then...... it would add up quickly.

    If i get this it I can keep what I have until I blow all the factory speakers.

    See my problem.
     
  4. Mar 25, 2010 at 11:19 AM
    #4
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    I see your problem but that $250 can go towards a nice aftermarket HU. Spending it on factory stuff will only prolong your upgrades later. Why not save it or build it piece by piece when the funds become available. Although some factory HU's these days are quite nice, they are still light years behind aftermarket stuff. Especially at $250, you may not get a new double din touchscreen but you can get a nice aftermarket deck with USB, bluetooth, SAT and 4+ volt of preamp. I say save your $250 towards your build. Even at 20-22 watts RMS (aftermarket HU) to the factory speakers you won't risk blowing them like you think.
     
  5. Mar 25, 2010 at 11:26 AM
    #5
    crouchingwombat

    crouchingwombat [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Member:
    #33675
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Titletown, FL
    Vehicle:
    Black 2007 PreRunner TRD Sport
    Err....
    I have nice stuff in my jeep.... i could always gut it and put it in the tacoma...

    You really think the tacoma factory radio's suck that badly?
     
  6. Mar 25, 2010 at 11:28 AM
    #6
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    Can't comment on the 05+ but at 43 miles on my 02, the stock HU was out.
     
To Top