1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Radio trouble

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Hwing448, Sep 26, 2021.

  1. Sep 26, 2021 at 7:57 PM
    #1
    Hwing448

    Hwing448 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2021
    Member:
    #378144
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 white Tacoma sr5
    I have recently installed a sub and amp and wanted to use my factory radio. I bought a line out converter but I could never get my amps to turn on. They were reading about 12-13 Volts to the power and the remote wire at one point. I’m curious if the loc is junk or will my factory radio allow me to do this?
     
  2. Sep 27, 2021 at 8:09 AM
    #2
    SpicyYodasTacos

    SpicyYodasTacos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2021
    Member:
    #376829
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Offroad Access Cab - Black
  3. Sep 27, 2021 at 8:48 AM
    #3
    5nahalf

    5nahalf I build dumb things

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Member:
    #267058
    Messages:
    7,521
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2018 Inferno Longbed

    Check if your amp has a signal sense option that detects if there is a audio signal coming down the RCA cables. If it does not, then you need to run a remote turn on wire to the amp. Alternately if you amp has speaker level inputs, you can just run the wires that are going to you loc straight to the amp and cutout the loc all together.
     
  4. Sep 27, 2021 at 3:02 PM
    #4
    Hwing448

    Hwing448 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2021
    Member:
    #378144
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 white Tacoma sr5
    I see that loc is for 2016 model..I’m trying to find one for a 2020.
     
  5. Sep 27, 2021 at 3:04 PM
    #5
    Hwing448

    Hwing448 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2021
    Member:
    #378144
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 white Tacoma sr5
    My amps have remote connections. I’ve done this in the past no problem. Could the head unit of my truck be a type where it’s not compatible with after market. Also if I could figure out how to send 12v to the amps when I turn the truck on, would this work?
     
  6. Sep 27, 2021 at 3:20 PM
    #6
    SpicyYodasTacos

    SpicyYodasTacos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2021
    Member:
    #376829
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Offroad Access Cab - Black
    Ahh, my bad
     
  7. Sep 27, 2021 at 4:02 PM
    #7
    SpicyYodasTacos

    SpicyYodasTacos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2021
    Member:
    #376829
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Offroad Access Cab - Black
    Add An Amp Amplifier Adapter Interface to Factory OEM Car Stereo Radio System for select 2018+ Toyota Vehicles- Add Subwoofer Bass Amp - No Factory Premium Amp- Vehicles listed below https://www.amazon.com/dp/B087Z1794K
    Looks like this one might work for your 2020
     
  8. Sep 27, 2021 at 5:54 PM
    #8
    Hwing448

    Hwing448 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2021
    Member:
    #378144
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 white Tacoma sr5
    Wow! I’m going to try this one adapter. I see ho it plugs into 2 different outlets on the radio. I sure hope that wasn’t my fault with the previous one. I will let you how it goes! Thanks!
     
To Top