1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Really, really simple question from a newbie

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by jermanjaysfan, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. Mar 1, 2010 at 10:27 PM
    #1
    jermanjaysfan

    jermanjaysfan [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Member:
    #32387
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 PreRunner 4x2
    Hey guys,

    Just bought a used '03 PreRunner from my uncle. Quite a few miles on it but it runs like a dream.

    The other day, I filled up with gas. Shortly after getting on the highway (~1 min after the fillup), I noticed the check engine light come on. Naturally, I figured I hadn't tightened the cap correctly. I took care of this, but the light stayed on. Consulting the manual tells me that this should reset after a few trips. So I continued on my merry way.

    Now a week after this incident, I haven't noticed any issues. No funny noises, nothing. But the light is still there. Oil level is fine.

    So, I'm ready to forget about the thing. But I figured I should probably check to see if everything is good in terms of oil pressure. Logic: if the oil is topped up fine, and the oil is flowing, then I don't think there is any immediate danger.

    Long story short- can anyone advise me as to how I should go about checking the pressure?

    Thanks a bundle!
     
  2. Mar 1, 2010 at 10:32 PM
    #2
    dylandercole

    dylandercole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20547
    Messages:
    1,372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dylan
    Santa Cruz Mountains, CA
    Vehicle:
    03 SR5 TRD 4x4 5-speed
    sway-a-way 2.0 coilovers, 1.5'' AAL, 1'' toytec shackle lift, Go-Rhino 3000 Grille Guard, Kicker KS6502 speakers, JVC KD-S24 Head unit, billstein 5125 rear shocks, Deck Plate mod, K&N air filter, Wheelers offroad front and rear braided brake lines, diff breather mod, power slot rotors, ebc yellow stuff pads
    go to your local auto store and they can usually check the code for you. make sure you know the problem
     
  3. Mar 1, 2010 at 10:32 PM
    #3
    rab89

    rab89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12578
    Messages:
    5,467
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ross
    Kelowna b.c canada
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB
    Grillcraft mx black upper and lower BHLM with Gloss black 265 70 17 bfg a/t center console light mini mag mounted in center console debadged bed lights 35W 5000k HID's
    unhook your battery for a few mins, if it comes back on you have another problem.
     
  4. Mar 1, 2010 at 10:48 PM
    #4
    jermanjaysfan

    jermanjaysfan [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Member:
    #32387
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 PreRunner 4x2
    Thanks for the quick replies guys. I should add that the truck has gone ~120 miles since the light, so I imagine anything serious would have presented itself.
     
  5. Mar 1, 2010 at 11:39 PM
    #5
    t33gee

    t33gee aka Tg

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Member:
    #13956
    Messages:
    250
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Riverside, CA
    Vehicle:
    03 prerunner
    k and n CAI, magnaflow exhaust, NOS
    hook her up to a scan tool and get the code. thats the beauty of obd2 :)
     
  6. Mar 2, 2010 at 2:30 AM
    #6
    4WD

    4WD cRaZy oLdmAn

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Member:
    #19185
    Messages:
    23,950
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Lakeside, Ca / Gardnerville, Nevada
    Vehicle:
    No Truck..well, maybe
    Grey wire MOD, deck plate, diff breather MOD, 2nd gen. OME 883# on Tundra 5100's, OMD custom 3" leafsprings, rear shock relocation, Ivan Stewart TRD rims w/285/75/16's, '02 bumper MOD, Famous Fabrications sliders , LED interior/exterior lights, bed bar, Custom tube bumper, Old school KC day lighters,Red Ring 8" HID flood, Kenwood vhf 2M.. umm some other shit I'm forgetting right now
    X2 , There are so many things that can cause a check engine light, go to AAmco transmission, they'll do it for free as well as some auto parts stores....:cool:
     
  7. Mar 2, 2010 at 5:44 AM
    #7
    2004Taco

    2004Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Member:
    #9556
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Beach,CA
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner SR5 Trd
    Magnaflow and Deckplate Mod Billet grille
    Did you make sure you screwed your gas cap on until it clicks? That happen to me on my s-10 before. I'll I did was disconnect to battery. No more check engine light :)
     
  8. Mar 2, 2010 at 7:34 AM
    #8
    Space Wrangler

    Space Wrangler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Member:
    #25705
    Messages:
    360
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JCT
    Ga
    Vehicle:
    04 DC 4x4
    04 Tacoma 4x4 Double Cab SAW 2.0's Alcan's Ion 171 wheels 15x8 (-27mm bs) 32" BFG AT's

    this is the correct answer. take off the negative lead ..this will reset the computer. .... if the light returns, you can then go to the auto part store and have them pull the codes and tell you what the problem is.

    it may just be a faulty gas cap. ..
     
  9. Mar 2, 2010 at 7:38 AM
    #9
    Cars0n`

    Cars0n` Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9091
    Messages:
    1,430
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carson
    Edmonton AB
    Vehicle:
    07 2wd access cab base.
    Kenwood DDX-512 Deck, Boston Acoustics G5 Sub in Ported Bassworx Box, Kenwood eXcelon KAC-X10D Amp, Sirius Satellite Radio, Magellan GPS, DDM 55w bi-xenon headlights, 2 HID Hella 500ff's mounted behind grill, 4 pc ebay Billet grill, Fog Lights (my truck didnt have them stock), Pioneer Speakers 6x9's(front) 6.5's(rear) AFE Cold Air Intake, Hose Clamp Mod, Tailgate Strengthen Mod, Removed Gay Mud Flaps, De-Badged, BHLM, 245/45/20 on velocity wheels. VW865a, Extra D Rings In Box, OEM Cruise Added Optima Red Top Battery
    i usually check it,
    pop the hood, yep the engine is still there so wtf is with the light?

    lol jk. yeah like said above just hook it up to a scanner and tell u what the prob is. usually its a bad sensor or something stupid.
     
  10. Mar 2, 2010 at 9:02 AM
    #10
    pairodice

    pairodice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19456
    Messages:
    275
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    SF NM
    Vehicle:
    03 DCSB
    magnaflow cat back exhaust, K&N filter, gray wire, deck plate, ome 883's, ome dakar leafs, bilstien 5100's, blacked out grille, AVS bug shield & window vents, arb bull bar, hella 5in lights, mile marker 8k winch, debadged tailgate, energy steering rack bushings, custom rear bumper w/ hidden receiver, custom headache rack, ome greasable shackles, 4.88's w/solid spacer, SS extended brake line
    try putting gas somewhere else in my infiniti everytime i put gas at sams club it turns on then about 2 tanks later it turns off
     
  11. Mar 3, 2010 at 5:39 PM
    #11
    jermanjaysfan

    jermanjaysfan [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Member:
    #32387
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 PreRunner 4x2
    Thanks for the replies guys. Got it scanned and turns out its just a faulty gas cap sensor. Phew.

    I've got another one for you guys- just curious if any of you guys know what could happen if you overfill the oil (say by 1qt.).
     
  12. Mar 3, 2010 at 5:46 PM
    #12
    Taco505

    Taco505 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Member:
    #13659
    Messages:
    2,568
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    08 4cly
    Dule Magnaflow Exhaust dumped behind axle, K&N Air intake, Aftermarket radio with a kicker L5 sub & a shit amp, 18" rims with tires, RHLM, DT header, color matched bumper, oem foglights, 8k hids in headlights and in fogs
    haha well not sure what damage it will do.

    but my buddy did something like like that before he was changing his oil and just changed the oil filter and didnt drain the pan, then put the new oil in.

    the dumbass was wondering why the oil level was so high then he realized and had to drain out like 5qts and it made a really big mess. also when he drove the truck for about 5 miles he had a huge cloud of white smoke behind him.

    but nothin happened to the truck still runs great till this day haha
     
  13. Mar 3, 2010 at 5:52 PM
    #13
    jermanjaysfan

    jermanjaysfan [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Member:
    #32387
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 PreRunner 4x2
    I've heard of this happening to people at those quick oil change places. The shmucks at those places forget to drain the pan and dump 5 more quarts in and people leave driving around with 10qts of frothy oil.
     
  14. Mar 3, 2010 at 5:57 PM
    #14
    ToyoFF1274

    ToyoFF1274 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Member:
    #16783
    Messages:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2008 Silver AC Sport 4wd 6spd
    FLM Pioneer Head, Sirus Radio, 10" Kicker solobaric L7 w/ Bass Inferno amp, Injen CAI Magnaflow Exhaust, Weathertechs, TRD Seat covers, 20% tint 3" toytec lift 885 coils aal Bilstien 5100s 285/70/17 Cooper ST tires
    To much oil could cause a increase in pressure in the crankcase possibly causing the seals to leak, Also if the level is above the bottom stroke of the pistons you will burn some oil causing the plugs to foul if its not fixed.
     
  15. Mar 3, 2010 at 6:03 PM
    #15
    jermanjaysfan

    jermanjaysfan [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Member:
    #32387
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    03 PreRunner 4x2
    See, this is essentially what I figured. I was just curious I guess as to where the line is where it starts causing problems. 1qt? 2qt?
     
  16. Mar 12, 2010 at 7:43 PM
    #16
    henrysethxiii

    henrysethxiii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Member:
    #29959
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    North Georgia
    Vehicle:
    00 tacoma 4x4 trd
    optima battery
    It was probably the gas cap, but the code has to be cleared with a scan tool. Just had to do it with my moms Avalon.
     
To Top