1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Registering TPMS - Help!

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by larryde09, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. Nov 5, 2010 at 9:47 AM
    #1
    larryde09

    larryde09 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Member:
    #39759
    Messages:
    560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    Rochester, NY
    Vehicle:
    (Traded-in) 06 2.7L 5-spd SR5 4x4
    K&N Intake, Magnaflow Cat-back Exhaust, Altezza Tail Lights, Pop&Lock Tailgate Lock, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, PIAA foglights with stock switch, DrawTite Hitch, OBX Shift Knob, Hood Protector, Vent Visors, DIY step bars/sliders/running boards, DIY Bed Lights, DIY Running Board/Ground Lights, DIY Tailgate Electrical Box (12V socket, voltage and current gauges), DIY Internal Lighting (coming soon), Aftermarket switches in stock dash blanks, Sony Head Unit, Illuminated 4x4 switch mod
    Backstory: I tried to check my spare tire pressure (something I do once a year to prevent the spare from tripping the stupid dash light, particularly when it's snowing out), but the metal valve cap was stuck on from corrosion or from hot/cold cycles over the summer. Long story short, the valve stem broke off and therefore destroyed the TPMS...lesson learned: NEVER use metal valve caps!!

    Ok, so I take it to Sears for a new TMPS (FYI: ~$85, not bad compared to stealership), but they neglected to tell me they won't be able to register it with the truck. So I take it to Toyota and they tell me it's $100!? WTF, now I'm blowing almost $200 for a spare TPMS! I tried Kost Tire and Pep Boys and neither of them can do it.

    I've read some people had them registered for $45, where did you go to have it done? This is a one-time registration, so I don't want to buy the device I've read about from tire rack. The website http://www.toyotatpms.com/ also had some great info. Note: I'm not putting electrical tape over the light, removing the LED, or cutting the wire.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Nov 6, 2010 at 6:41 AM
    #2
    larryde09

    larryde09 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Member:
    #39759
    Messages:
    560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    Rochester, NY
    Vehicle:
    (Traded-in) 06 2.7L 5-spd SR5 4x4
    K&N Intake, Magnaflow Cat-back Exhaust, Altezza Tail Lights, Pop&Lock Tailgate Lock, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, PIAA foglights with stock switch, DrawTite Hitch, OBX Shift Knob, Hood Protector, Vent Visors, DIY step bars/sliders/running boards, DIY Bed Lights, DIY Running Board/Ground Lights, DIY Tailgate Electrical Box (12V socket, voltage and current gauges), DIY Internal Lighting (coming soon), Aftermarket switches in stock dash blanks, Sony Head Unit, Illuminated 4x4 switch mod
  3. Nov 6, 2010 at 6:48 AM
    #3
    imtwistd

    imtwistd Going nowhere as fast as possible

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Member:
    #38366
    Messages:
    249
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    I forgot
    Liverpool NY
    Vehicle:
    08 dbl cab long bed sport 4x4 beast
    AllPro offroad front LT with Fox 2.5 shox and AllPro expedtion rear springs with Fox piggy back res shox, TRD skid plate, Toyota roof rack, Undercover tonnuea cover, Pro comp 3" lift, 4 Pro comp 8" offroad lights, 17" XD Series "SPY", Nfab tube steps and light bar, Fitch Fuel, Flexalite fan, Unichip, URD cai, TRD supercharger, URD y-pipe, Banks monster cat back, debadged, projection head lighs, LED tail lights and a loud stereo, Stainless Steel Brake Lines front and rear, Doug Thorley long tube headers, Walboro 255 fuel pump, KC rock guards on my Pro Comp 8" lights
    The only place that I'm aware of is the stealership, I work for a toyota dealer. I run aftermarket wheels and tires and my stupid light turned on I those sensors so I wont run them. I took my gauge cluster out of the dash and put a piece of electrical tape over the LED behind gauge face
     
  4. Nov 6, 2010 at 6:52 AM
    #4
    skytower

    skytower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Member:
    #38505
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4
    Hitch and wiring, aux back-up light, rear strobe lights, radio and underseat sub.
    I think there was an aftermarket tire dealer that could do it. Someone on here had it done. Search for tpms, or call tire dealers.
     
  5. Nov 6, 2010 at 7:08 AM
    #5
    imtwistd

    imtwistd Going nowhere as fast as possible

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Member:
    #38366
    Messages:
    249
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    I forgot
    Liverpool NY
    Vehicle:
    08 dbl cab long bed sport 4x4 beast
    AllPro offroad front LT with Fox 2.5 shox and AllPro expedtion rear springs with Fox piggy back res shox, TRD skid plate, Toyota roof rack, Undercover tonnuea cover, Pro comp 3" lift, 4 Pro comp 8" offroad lights, 17" XD Series "SPY", Nfab tube steps and light bar, Fitch Fuel, Flexalite fan, Unichip, URD cai, TRD supercharger, URD y-pipe, Banks monster cat back, debadged, projection head lighs, LED tail lights and a loud stereo, Stainless Steel Brake Lines front and rear, Doug Thorley long tube headers, Walboro 255 fuel pump, KC rock guards on my Pro Comp 8" lights
    I dont think they are able to do that unless they has access to a toyota scan tool that can reprogram sensors
     
  6. Nov 6, 2010 at 7:24 AM
    #6
    BuckNakedBooda

    BuckNakedBooda There's no place like 127.0.0.1

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Member:
    #36937
    Messages:
    1,484
    Woodbridge, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Limited 4x4
    I would just go ahead and call some other Toyoita dealerships. I just had all 4 of my TPMS on my 2009 Scion xB done at the dealership for $25.00.
     
  7. Nov 6, 2010 at 11:26 AM
    #7
    larryde09

    larryde09 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Member:
    #39759
    Messages:
    560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    Rochester, NY
    Vehicle:
    (Traded-in) 06 2.7L 5-spd SR5 4x4
    K&N Intake, Magnaflow Cat-back Exhaust, Altezza Tail Lights, Pop&Lock Tailgate Lock, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, PIAA foglights with stock switch, DrawTite Hitch, OBX Shift Knob, Hood Protector, Vent Visors, DIY step bars/sliders/running boards, DIY Bed Lights, DIY Running Board/Ground Lights, DIY Tailgate Electrical Box (12V socket, voltage and current gauges), DIY Internal Lighting (coming soon), Aftermarket switches in stock dash blanks, Sony Head Unit, Illuminated 4x4 switch mod
    $25 ? That's more like it! Anyone else spend less than $100 at the dealer? I'll have to ask what he's charging me for...maybe he thinks he has to break down all 4 tires to get the serial numbers.
     
  8. Nov 6, 2010 at 3:33 PM
    #8
    BuckNakedBooda

    BuckNakedBooda There's no place like 127.0.0.1

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Member:
    #36937
    Messages:
    1,484
    Woodbridge, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Limited 4x4
    Not only did the process take less than 5 minutes, they gave me a printout of the ID of each TPMS sensor on each wheel...
     
  9. Nov 20, 2010 at 8:55 AM
    #9
    larryde09

    larryde09 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Member:
    #39759
    Messages:
    560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    Rochester, NY
    Vehicle:
    (Traded-in) 06 2.7L 5-spd SR5 4x4
    K&N Intake, Magnaflow Cat-back Exhaust, Altezza Tail Lights, Pop&Lock Tailgate Lock, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, PIAA foglights with stock switch, DrawTite Hitch, OBX Shift Knob, Hood Protector, Vent Visors, DIY step bars/sliders/running boards, DIY Bed Lights, DIY Running Board/Ground Lights, DIY Tailgate Electrical Box (12V socket, voltage and current gauges), DIY Internal Lighting (coming soon), Aftermarket switches in stock dash blanks, Sony Head Unit, Illuminated 4x4 switch mod
    For future reference....proving once again the stealership is a complete ripoff, after trying various places (Sears, Pep Boys, Kost Tire to name a few), Dunn Tire was able to reset the light in 5 minutes for FREE!! Also, despite what some locations tell you, you do NOT have to break the bead on the tires to read the sensors, their device wirelessly read the sensor when placed near the tire.
     
  10. Apr 26, 2011 at 7:45 PM
    #10
    novanut21

    novanut21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Member:
    #17127
    Messages:
    910
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brent
    North Central,WV
    Vehicle:
    2009 TRD SPORT
    AFE CAI, Magnaflow cat-back exhaust, TRD S/C, Silverstars for headlights foglights and reverse lights, 5% tint, TRD Quickshifter, URD Fuel Pump Kit, Wet Okoles Front&Rear, WeatherTech Mats, Sockmonkey Decals, GrillCraft Grill, JBA "shorty" headers, URD Y-Pipe, TTC Oil Catch Can, Lotek Dual Apillar gauge pod w/ Autometer Phantom II AFR & Vac/Boost, URD "Stealth" Pulley.

    I recently bought a extra set of trd sport wheels and tpms sensors. I had the wheels powder coated and put them on the truck. I went to a friend at a honda dealer to get the tpms light turned off and he used there wireless tpms device. But it didnt make the light go off. We re-adjusted the tire pressure and tried again but with no luck it read all the sensors and said they were all working fine. He looked up the procedure on alldata and it says that you need the ID codes off the back of the sensors in order to register them with the ecu in the truck because the ecu has my old tpms codes from the other set of trd sport wheels. Can toyota register the tpms sensors with out having to break the tires back down?
     
  11. Apr 26, 2011 at 8:08 PM
    #11
    That Dude Tim

    That Dude Tim Toyota Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Member:
    #52912
    Messages:
    566
    Gender:
    Male
    Elyria, OH
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD Sport 4x4 DCLB
    Falken Wildpeak AT3/W, BLK Mk6, ICON's, Firestone Ride Rites, SHLM, Rear view camera switch, 7-pin in bumper, Lighted 4x4 switch, ImMrYo bracket, mudflap delete
    Yes, our dealer has a wireless ID reader and they MUST be programed with a Toyota scan tool.

    For example if a tire place breaks a sensor. You go to dealer they break down tire and install new sensor and write down new id num. Using wireless device or scan tool and old sensor id you can determine which TPMS ids you need. To do the program function, all of the TPMS sensor ids need to be known 4 or 5 depending on year.

    Be careful with aftermarket TPMS sensors if you want it programed to your Tacoma. NOT all of them work and some will work initially but then fail rather quickly. Do not believe a quick change oil or tire place if they replace one and say it will program itself to the truck, BS won't happen ever. You'll then have to take the truck to a dealer and have them fix it and you take the bill back to where it happened.
     
  12. Apr 27, 2011 at 4:34 AM
    #12
    novanut21

    novanut21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Member:
    #17127
    Messages:
    910
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brent
    North Central,WV
    Vehicle:
    2009 TRD SPORT
    AFE CAI, Magnaflow cat-back exhaust, TRD S/C, Silverstars for headlights foglights and reverse lights, 5% tint, TRD Quickshifter, URD Fuel Pump Kit, Wet Okoles Front&Rear, WeatherTech Mats, Sockmonkey Decals, GrillCraft Grill, JBA "shorty" headers, URD Y-Pipe, TTC Oil Catch Can, Lotek Dual Apillar gauge pod w/ Autometer Phantom II AFR & Vac/Boost, URD "Stealth" Pulley.
    Good deal! Thanks for the info!
     
  13. Apr 27, 2011 at 4:43 AM
    #13
    bama trd

    bama trd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Member:
    #34371
    Messages:
    277
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2007 Silver Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Painted Grill, Tinted Windows, BF Goodrich AT 265/75/16, BHLM, Fog light on anytime mod, vent visors, Graphite Rims
    Disconnected my light , had to because I had switched tire sizes. I posted a write up on the way that you can do it - "Disables TPMS on my 2008"
     
  14. Apr 27, 2011 at 8:29 AM
    #14
    Sawick

    Sawick Still not worthy!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Member:
    #50642
    Messages:
    616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    JB MDL, NJ
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD Sport
    T4R TRD Pro Wheels, LED lights, Tonneau Cover, ICI running boards, AVS window/bug
    Hogan tire here in MA reprograms TPMS sensors for $25, or free with any tire purchase
     
  15. Apr 27, 2011 at 5:50 PM
    #15
    cobia23

    cobia23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Member:
    #14665
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5
    Town Fair Tire says they can program them, for free when buying tires. I'll find out next week if it works
     
  16. May 1, 2011 at 7:33 AM
    #16
    Largefarva

    Largefarva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Member:
    #54054
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Fox Lake, IL
    Vehicle:
    '08 Double Cab TRD Off Road 4x4
    Do you have a link to that thread? Doing a search for "Disables TPMS on my 2008" brings up just one thread here and it's this one.
     
To Top