1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

relay confusion?!

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by tacoma08MZ, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. Mar 20, 2009 at 5:59 PM
    #1
    tacoma08MZ

    tacoma08MZ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Member:
    #7661
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Levi
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Access Cab 4x4
    tinted head/tail lights-blacked out badges-3 inch tuff country lift 33 inch nittos-black steelies custom spare bed mount-hilift-weathertechs-kenwood dnx5120 dvdnav headunit-remote start-painted grille surround-fog lights-grillcraft black mesh grille
    ok so i bought some fogs, switch and relay for my truck since it didnt come with them, got the switch and relay still waitin on the lights. anyway i decided to install the switch and relay, switch went fine but when i went to put the relay in i came across this...now on the diagram under the cover, were it says the foglight relay goes, theres already one in there?!?! do i replace this one with the one i bought? it looks no differnt other then the color, or just send the one i bought back cause for some reason my truck is special and has one already :D


    [​IMG]

    new one

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mar 20, 2009 at 6:02 PM
    #2
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    if you are gonna use the relay that came with the lights..............no.....it doesnt go in the fuse box. you can wire everything up and screw it into the side of the motor compartment near the battery. dont take out the relay thats already in the fuse box.(im posting as if you are installing some aftermarket lights,like on a bull bar or brush guard)

    are you adding factory fog lights to your bumper??

    i reread your post. what amperage and all is the the relay in the fusebox?
     
  3. Mar 20, 2009 at 6:04 PM
    #3
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    ignore my above post.......just woke up!:eek:

    you should be fine leaving the relay in thats already there.
     
  4. Mar 20, 2009 at 6:04 PM
    #4
    tacoma08MZ

    tacoma08MZ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Member:
    #7661
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Levi
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Access Cab 4x4
    tinted head/tail lights-blacked out badges-3 inch tuff country lift 33 inch nittos-black steelies custom spare bed mount-hilift-weathertechs-kenwood dnx5120 dvdnav headunit-remote start-painted grille surround-fog lights-grillcraft black mesh grille
    yes tacomaman, they are going in the bumper, my trucks already wired for them, the truck just didnt come with them, but everyone ive seen do this has bought the lights switch and relay to make it work
     
  5. Mar 20, 2009 at 6:09 PM
    #5
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    they probably added that as part of the "fog light wiring" from the factory. you should be good to go.
     
  6. Mar 20, 2009 at 6:10 PM
    #6
    tacoma08MZ

    tacoma08MZ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Member:
    #7661
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Levi
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Access Cab 4x4
    tinted head/tail lights-blacked out badges-3 inch tuff country lift 33 inch nittos-black steelies custom spare bed mount-hilift-weathertechs-kenwood dnx5120 dvdnav headunit-remote start-painted grille surround-fog lights-grillcraft black mesh grille
    cool ill just wait till i get the lights, plug em in, if they work ill just send the new relay back. thanks for the input!
     
  7. Mar 27, 2009 at 5:47 PM
    #7
    BPachom

    BPachom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12297
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma SR5, 4cyl 4X4, Black
    Access roll-up tonneau cover, Factory radio W/Sirius, Tailgate clamp, HID head lights, Stainless nerf bars.
    Hi, hope you can help!
    I have an 09 Tacoma 4x4, 4cyl access cab SR5 that did not come with the factory fog lights in the bumper. I would like to install and was looking to see if my truck was pre wired for bumper fog lights and did not see any wires near the fog light location (back side of the bumper). Where was your wire harness for the factory fogs located? Any pictures to show?

    Would appreciate any help or input you can offer.

    FYI; I did not purchase the fog lights, switch or relay at this point but did noice them listed on Ebay in the past.

    Thanks,
    Bob
     
  8. Mar 27, 2009 at 5:51 PM
    #8
    tacoma08MZ

    tacoma08MZ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Member:
    #7661
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Levi
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Access Cab 4x4
    tinted head/tail lights-blacked out badges-3 inch tuff country lift 33 inch nittos-black steelies custom spare bed mount-hilift-weathertechs-kenwood dnx5120 dvdnav headunit-remote start-painted grille surround-fog lights-grillcraft black mesh grille
    well it seems to be that your truck isnt wired, when i looked behind my front bumper the harness was taped up right there in clear view it was very easy to find. so if you dont see yours i doubt its wired already, plus i dont think any of the 4cyls come wired from the factory just the v6. sorry to rain on your parade haha
     
To Top