1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

remote start help

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by doublex222, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. Jan 6, 2011 at 4:59 AM
    #1
    doublex222

    doublex222 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Member:
    #48791
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    md
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner
    I've been getting the run around on this and can't seem to find the correct answer..so any help would be appreciated.

    I have an 05 prerunner V6. I am wondering if I need a bypass to install the avital 4111 remote start. Some have told me yes, some no. Also, if a bypass is needed, is there one that doesn't require a spare key? Thanks
     
  2. Jan 6, 2011 at 8:18 AM
    #2
    snowgod06

    snowgod06 UG legend wannabe

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16454
    Messages:
    5,386
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    A farm field, OREGON
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab CLONE
    crap bolted and welded together....
    well the keys are chipped, so your going to have to have a bypass module under the dash with the key in it. There is an option out tho that doesnt need a key. If you still have the gray key that comes with the truck, that will work. With any remote start i believe your going to have to have a module if the key is chipped. I've got one, and almost every rig that came into my old work had to have one. As for a bypass that doesnt need a spare key,its called a "transponder bypass." IT works with older hondas, but I'm unaware if DEI makes one for tacomas or not. But research the transponder bypass and see if theres one out their for tacomas. Hope my ramble help's a bit.
     
  3. Jan 6, 2011 at 8:24 AM
    #3
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    yes, you do need a bypass. You can check with DEI but I like to use the fortin one. Look on www.ifar.ca
     
  4. Jan 6, 2011 at 2:14 PM
    #4
    doublex222

    doublex222 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Member:
    #48791
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    md
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner
    Snowgod- I was pretty sure that I did need one, but last night the guys at best buy said I didn't..but what do they know....and I'm trying to avoid the key..because I don't have a spare (not smart I know)..but thanks for ur help

    Daudio- awesome site thanks for ur help
     
  5. Jan 6, 2011 at 4:05 PM
    #5
    Raylo

    Raylo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    430
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab, TRD Sport
    I recommend a Fortin key-override-all in the list of products linked below. Just need a key in the ign to program then no key to operate. Put one in my 2009 with my Clifford (DEI) alarm/rs install. Flawless....

    http://ifar.ca/en/vehicles/toyota/tacoma/2005/
     
To Top