1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Remote Start

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by DustinSK, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Dec 30, 2011 at 3:58 PM
    #1
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey all I just had a remote starter installed on my 2002 2wd prerunner tacoma. Its very handy however it starts 1 out of 2 times or sometimes 1 out of 3 trys. Why could this be? When it does not start, it turns but its like letting go of the ignition a little bit early. It sounds like turning the key and letting go right before it starts so it does not start. And then the next try it turns but just barely enough to start. Could this be a setting in the remote hardware on the truck that they installed so I could change it to turn longer or what? Any ideas?
     
  2. Dec 30, 2011 at 5:54 PM
    #2
    hayabusa3303

    hayabusa3303 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Member:
    #61062
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    florence sc
    Vehicle:
    95.5 taco 4x4
    ARB bumper, warn 9.5 winch. carbon fiber hood. Leer top with thule racks and MOAB from thule. Electric fans, blue sea fuse block, Sony dvd Head unit, Xm tuner and HD tuner. New carpet and new racing seats. ( other half doesnt like them i think). Nwor springs and adjustable coil overs. Sky jacker rear shocks. Slot and drilled rotors. Engine Titanium ceramic coated headers, no cat, jba cat back. URD Rear Sensor Simulator. Leds all around and inside cab and HID H4 hi/lo beams.
    sounds like the installer got lazy.

    Two ways the remote start can tell when the engine has started.

    One is by voltage when it sees a higher voltage it releases the starter.

    two is by tach wire. ( this is the best way to do a remote start and the safe way.)

    What is happening is the brain sees a spike in voltage shutting the start down before the engine can (catch) to turnover.

    Have them do a tach wire and make sure they have the brain LEARN your tach.
     
  3. Dec 30, 2011 at 6:01 PM
    #3
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Oh okay. Im not really car saavy but one thing I noticed the last few hours is that. Im pretty low on gas and every time it starts its on flat ground whereas when it doesnt start its on my hill. So that's possibly it also? The thing was installed yesterday but I will ask them about a tach wire.
     
  4. Dec 30, 2011 at 6:03 PM
    #4
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    15,773
    Gender:
    Male
    Az
    Good info, thanks. I'm getting ready to go get remote start here soon and will request that it gets done this way.
     
  5. Dec 30, 2011 at 6:36 PM
    #5
    hayabusa3303

    hayabusa3303 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Member:
    #61062
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    florence sc
    Vehicle:
    95.5 taco 4x4
    ARB bumper, warn 9.5 winch. carbon fiber hood. Leer top with thule racks and MOAB from thule. Electric fans, blue sea fuse block, Sony dvd Head unit, Xm tuner and HD tuner. New carpet and new racing seats. ( other half doesnt like them i think). Nwor springs and adjustable coil overs. Sky jacker rear shocks. Slot and drilled rotors. Engine Titanium ceramic coated headers, no cat, jba cat back. URD Rear Sensor Simulator. Leds all around and inside cab and HID H4 hi/lo beams.
    When a tech wire is used depending on who makes the remote start, It can be used to keep anti-grid and also over rev. Over rev is used when the engine is above 4 grand some less like 3 grand it will shut the engine down.

    what kind remote start you thinking?
     
  6. Dec 30, 2011 at 6:42 PM
    #6
    hayabusa3303

    hayabusa3303 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Member:
    #61062
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    florence sc
    Vehicle:
    95.5 taco 4x4
    ARB bumper, warn 9.5 winch. carbon fiber hood. Leer top with thule racks and MOAB from thule. Electric fans, blue sea fuse block, Sony dvd Head unit, Xm tuner and HD tuner. New carpet and new racing seats. ( other half doesnt like them i think). Nwor springs and adjustable coil overs. Sky jacker rear shocks. Slot and drilled rotors. Engine Titanium ceramic coated headers, no cat, jba cat back. URD Rear Sensor Simulator. Leds all around and inside cab and HID H4 hi/lo beams.

    Low on fuel is NEVER a good thing. 1/4 of a tank always put fuel in your tank reasons are.

    One it keeps your fuel pump under fuel so it doesnt get hot ( shorting life)

    Two it makes your e-vap can work harder in turn and over time making it go bad.

    three anything below 1/4 tank the engine starts to use more vapor from the tank it has been proven that it can plug up for cat faster. ( thats even in the manual with your truck)

    four if you have trash in your tank you run the risk of plugging up your fuel filter faster or getting some water that is in your tank.

    Your reason on the hill is do it fuel pick up in the tank. sounds like your screen in your pump has trash in it.
     
  7. Dec 30, 2011 at 7:53 PM
    #7
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Screen on the tank, or trash in the fuel pump? Sorry Im very amateur, I guess you could say with cars, but I just asked my dad and he said you had very valid points..So what would you suggest I check or do? Should I just start never running below a 1/4 tank...and do other stuff?
     
  8. Dec 30, 2011 at 8:02 PM
    #8
    hayabusa3303

    hayabusa3303 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Member:
    #61062
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    florence sc
    Vehicle:
    95.5 taco 4x4
    ARB bumper, warn 9.5 winch. carbon fiber hood. Leer top with thule racks and MOAB from thule. Electric fans, blue sea fuse block, Sony dvd Head unit, Xm tuner and HD tuner. New carpet and new racing seats. ( other half doesnt like them i think). Nwor springs and adjustable coil overs. Sky jacker rear shocks. Slot and drilled rotors. Engine Titanium ceramic coated headers, no cat, jba cat back. URD Rear Sensor Simulator. Leds all around and inside cab and HID H4 hi/lo beams.
    Main thing to do is keep the fuel always above 1/4 tank.

    Screen in the tank where the fuel pump is at. Screen and the fuel pump are basic one piece together in the tank. Trash is on the screen so the pump cant draw fuel from that part of the screen.

    I will make a few things to help you out here.

    do a tune up plugs and wires. , clean your intake and clean your mass air flow sensor. There are some good how too up here use them. and change your fuel filter please. I have seen so many problems people over looking the fuel filter.

    If you dont feel you can handle it take it to a shop. If you do make sure they use a lab scope on it. Lab scope can check so many things. From spark plugs all the way to injectors.


    ADDED here : get the installer to add a tech wire to your remote start.
     
  9. Dec 30, 2011 at 10:00 PM
    #9
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male

    Okay thanks. Are you mechanic or just car saavy cuz you know your stuff! haha. I will call tomorrow and see if they used a tech wire, OR, can I check if they did? What should I look for? But my dad knows a lot too, not as much as you, but he can help me do some of the maitenence that you mentioned.
     
  10. Dec 30, 2011 at 10:00 PM
    #10
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you btw! haha
     
  11. Dec 31, 2011 at 12:48 PM
    #11
    hayabusa3303

    hayabusa3303 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Member:
    #61062
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    florence sc
    Vehicle:
    95.5 taco 4x4
    ARB bumper, warn 9.5 winch. carbon fiber hood. Leer top with thule racks and MOAB from thule. Electric fans, blue sea fuse block, Sony dvd Head unit, Xm tuner and HD tuner. New carpet and new racing seats. ( other half doesnt like them i think). Nwor springs and adjustable coil overs. Sky jacker rear shocks. Slot and drilled rotors. Engine Titanium ceramic coated headers, no cat, jba cat back. URD Rear Sensor Simulator. Leds all around and inside cab and HID H4 hi/lo beams.
    what kind of remote start is it? who installed it ( please dont say best buy)

    I do mechanic work on the side along with trouble shooting .

    Also MECP how i know my wiring for remote starts.
     
  12. Dec 31, 2011 at 4:28 PM
    #12
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    It is a Astra 4000RS and a little, kind of sketchy to be honest, shop installed it lol.
     
  13. Dec 31, 2011 at 4:29 PM
    #13
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Actually its a 1000rs
     
  14. Dec 31, 2011 at 7:09 PM
    #14
    hayabusa3303

    hayabusa3303 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Member:
    #61062
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    florence sc
    Vehicle:
    95.5 taco 4x4
    ARB bumper, warn 9.5 winch. carbon fiber hood. Leer top with thule racks and MOAB from thule. Electric fans, blue sea fuse block, Sony dvd Head unit, Xm tuner and HD tuner. New carpet and new racing seats. ( other half doesnt like them i think). Nwor springs and adjustable coil overs. Sky jacker rear shocks. Slot and drilled rotors. Engine Titanium ceramic coated headers, no cat, jba cat back. URD Rear Sensor Simulator. Leds all around and inside cab and HID H4 hi/lo beams.
    it does have this (True RPM Sensing for Real Time Cranking) there was no reason why it wasnt hooked up to start with ( lazy installer)

    It does have a tachless mode but i dont trust them. ( what is happening here i believe)

    Not a bad unit for the price. ( long as the relays inside of the unit hold up you should be ok)
     
  15. Jan 1, 2012 at 4:38 AM
    #15
    exminnesotaboy

    exminnesotaboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Member:
    #20904
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    Maple Grove, MN
    Vehicle:
    01 Tacoma 4x4 V6 Xtra Cab
    Bilstein 5100's / OME 881's / Wheelers 5 leaf pack / ProComp 1069 wheels / 265/75-16 Michelin LTX tires
    I had the same exact issue when I had my remote start installed. I brought i back the next day and he hooked up the Tach Wire and it has started every time, first time; it just takes an extra second of cranking
     
  16. Jan 1, 2012 at 12:07 PM
    #16
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the replys guys. What am I noticing now is that. Any hill I am parked on, even a slight hill, it will take 2 trys. But warm or cold engine on the flat ground will start first try. I have a lot of gas at the moment, maybe 3/4 a tank so its not that. Any other idea as to why the incline or decline might be messing with the starter?
     
  17. Jan 2, 2012 at 3:07 PM
    #17
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Alright so my remote start was not working yesterday so I went to the shop today. They told me it was in Valet mode so they just reset the settings. I asked if they could put in a tach wire and he said to come in tomorrow and tip the guy 10$ and he will put in one for me, and itll take 30mins. Sound right? Anything else I need to say to him, or will he know what I am saying.
     
  18. Jan 2, 2012 at 10:07 PM
    #18
    hayabusa3303

    hayabusa3303 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Member:
    #61062
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    florence sc
    Vehicle:
    95.5 taco 4x4
    ARB bumper, warn 9.5 winch. carbon fiber hood. Leer top with thule racks and MOAB from thule. Electric fans, blue sea fuse block, Sony dvd Head unit, Xm tuner and HD tuner. New carpet and new racing seats. ( other half doesnt like them i think). Nwor springs and adjustable coil overs. Sky jacker rear shocks. Slot and drilled rotors. Engine Titanium ceramic coated headers, no cat, jba cat back. URD Rear Sensor Simulator. Leds all around and inside cab and HID H4 hi/lo beams.
    let me know how it goes.

    30 min. is about right for a tach wire. having to drop panels.

    make sure the brain has learned the engine thats it.
     
  19. Jan 3, 2012 at 2:00 PM
    #19
    DustinSK

    DustinSK [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37150
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Alright guys. So today I went in because my remote kept putting my car in to valet mode and I wanted a tach installed. When we got there he said the remote is smart enough that it does not need a tach. But, when he checked out my car and remote he said that one of the wireheads was messed up and it kept putting my truck into valet. So he fixed that and then he noticed that it took two tries to start so he decided to add in a tach. He said he didnt know if it would really help but it may help with cold starts. Since then I have remotely started it 3 times and it has started up every time. So good so far! Thanks!
     
  20. Jan 6, 2012 at 2:25 PM
    #20
    gzilla

    gzilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Member:
    #70063
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Lakewood, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD Off-Road
    Viper Smart Start
    Hi folks new here. Just got a remote starter installed in 2011 taco. after remotely started, i get into the truck and put key in ignition and all works well. However, the blinking security light next to the clock continues to blink unless I shut down truck and restart manually. I spoke to installer, apparently the only 2 options i have are to let it continue to blink, or have the truck shut down when i open the door. :confused:

    Any other thoughts?
     
To Top