1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Reprogram tpms...

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by jmb1985, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. Oct 7, 2009 at 5:12 PM
    #1
    jmb1985

    jmb1985 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Member:
    #22376
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Middletown NY
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB
    I am looking to buy another set of wheels for summer use only. I have access to 4 tpms sensors and my question is does anyone know how to reprogram them? Is it more recent scan tools? Or do I have to buy a specific system?
     
  2. Oct 7, 2009 at 5:13 PM
    #2
    AK27

    AK27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Member:
    #11005
    Messages:
    39,509
    take them to the dealership :)
     
  3. Oct 7, 2009 at 7:04 PM
    #3
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    its a special tool for now. Dealers pay $2000+ to buy them if im not mistaken. Choose the tires well , get a dealer who will reprogram free at tire swaps. Les schwab tires in the NW is doing my winter set that way.
    btw toyota stealerships quote me at $95 each reprogram, it takes less than 10 minutes.
     
  4. Oct 8, 2009 at 5:14 PM
    #4
    jmb1985

    jmb1985 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Member:
    #22376
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Middletown NY
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB
    i could have sworn i saw mac tools selling some sort of tpms reprogram system but it might not be for yotas or something... im lookin into it.... im not paying toyota 90 bucks twice a year for that nonsense... and im too anal to disconnect it but unless i find something thats whats gonna happen
     
  5. Oct 8, 2009 at 6:51 PM
    #5
    rossk35

    rossk35 Do Work Son!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Member:
    #15197
    Messages:
    945
    Gender:
    Male
    hawaii
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport Supercharged
    TRD S/C/TRD Intake/TRD Boost Gauge/DT Headers/OEM TL/ZKW retro/Pioneer DVD w/Ipod/Magnaflow/20% Tint/BHLM/JL 10" sub, JL VR components, JL 450/4 amp/Helwig Sway bar/Viper 791/ 18" limited 4runner rims
    Why have the tpms if your only gonna use the rims for a few months out if the year?
     
  6. Oct 9, 2009 at 1:17 PM
    #6
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    I have both a winter and summer set. Only my winter rims have sensors since they are the factory steelies that came originally on the truck.

    For summer, I picked up TRD OR alloys with no sensors. I do not trigger a light unless I get out of range of the stored winter wheel set. And if I do it resets in my driveway overnight. Believe it or not, the range averages b/w 40~50 miles & have documented it pretty closely over the past couple of years. When it goes off I stick a tacomaworld business card in front of it. :D Cost $7.50 for 50 from Neontrail :thumbsup:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Oct 9, 2009 at 4:26 PM
    #7
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,960
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    That 40+mi. is amazing.I spent close to $275 for 4 new sensors in my factory aluminum rims, I'm ok with that, but a lot is to be said about it not being too neccessary(did I spell that right?).
     
  8. Oct 9, 2009 at 8:05 PM
    #8
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now

    It looks right :)
    Yeah, I stumbled upon it by accident with my Tundra in 2005 after buying a winter/rim set with no sensors. It was somewhat perplexing at first, but is very consistent. This summer I actually did a pictorial on a trip with the tacoma this summer to document the mod :laugh:

    tripmeter before & after flash

    DSC02142.jpg
    DSC02145.jpg
     
To Top