1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Resale value and the possibilities

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016-2023)' started by Scottlake, Apr 23, 2017.

1. Apr 23, 2017 at 9:03 AM
    Scottlake

Scottlake [OP] Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCORLB
    So, I find the resale value of these trucks fascinating. After years of driving around a crap car, I bought a new Barcelona DCSB 2015 TRD off-road on a whim. Re-discovered my love for the outdoors and the rest is history.

I'm not much into modifying vehicles so they stay stock for the most part. I work in the auto business and never really want to own a modern vehicle out of warranty. So after 8 months of ownership of the 15, 18,000 miles and the new third gen, I explored trading. It was time for tires, needed a winsheild and had some off road dings, dents, and scrapes. I owed 28k on the 15 and got 31,500 for it trade in. Bought a new"16 Barcelona DCLB off road. Owned the 16 for 16 months, 20,000 miles. It was due for tires, windshield, and had the dents, dings, and scrapes. Traded it off for 32500.00. Bought a 17" white DCLB off-road (with JBL). for 2200.00 off sticker.

On these trucks, I pay minimal down, finance for 84 months(as long as the current rate is good, anything 3% ish, is like almost free money), and then just usually add $100.00 to my monthly payments. I have always been in an equitable situation when trading. So, i think this is crazy that I get new tires, a windshield, and, a new truck with it for just extending some debt out and basically making a rent payment.