1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Resetting after mods

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by RugbyTaco, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. Dec 9, 2010 at 4:12 PM
    #1
    RugbyTaco

    RugbyTaco [OP] Rhum.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Member:
    #40095
    Messages:
    359
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Chicago
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD Sport Magnetic Gray
    Wet Okoles, Weathertechs, AFE Pro Dry, Wicked Flow 13", URD MAF, MagLite Mount, 16x8 Procomp 8069, 265/75/16 GY Duratracs, Rear Leaf TSB,AAL, OME 9000s, 884s, S2000 stubby antenna, Leer XR100
    Recently i added a Wicked Flow 13" exhaust and an AFE pro dry. Would it be wise to reset the computer at this point or should i leave it alone? Ive seen a few people recommend resetting after a CAI install. Oh and is there a thread on how to rest the computer? Thanx guys
     
  2. Dec 9, 2010 at 7:25 PM
    #2
    RugbyTaco

    RugbyTaco [OP] Rhum.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Member:
    #40095
    Messages:
    359
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Chicago
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD Sport Magnetic Gray
    Wet Okoles, Weathertechs, AFE Pro Dry, Wicked Flow 13", URD MAF, MagLite Mount, 16x8 Procomp 8069, 265/75/16 GY Duratracs, Rear Leaf TSB,AAL, OME 9000s, 884s, S2000 stubby antenna, Leer XR100
    Also I have not thown any codes. Im just curious to know what people recommend or have experienced.
     
  3. Dec 10, 2010 at 10:52 AM
    #3
    Speed Freek

    Speed Freek Turbo lover!

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Member:
    #11676
    Messages:
    2,927
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Vista, Ca, Lake Havasu, Az.
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma V8 (LS1) swap
    LS1-T56 swap, Z06 ported heads, cam, Titanium valves, Kevlar clutch. Currently under the knife for turbocharger..
    Not a bad idea just to let the fuel trims reset based on the new combination.

    Best way to do it without resetting the clock and radio, etc...is to remove the ECU fuse under the hood for 10 minutes, come back plug it in, and the truck may run like crap for a bit and in some cases even stall after the first starting after reset, but it will clear up..
     
  4. Dec 17, 2010 at 7:04 AM
    #4
    RugbyTaco

    RugbyTaco [OP] Rhum.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Member:
    #40095
    Messages:
    359
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Chicago
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD Sport Magnetic Gray
    Wet Okoles, Weathertechs, AFE Pro Dry, Wicked Flow 13", URD MAF, MagLite Mount, 16x8 Procomp 8069, 265/75/16 GY Duratracs, Rear Leaf TSB,AAL, OME 9000s, 884s, S2000 stubby antenna, Leer XR100
    Is there a diagram somewhere that shows which fuse is which? Is this the best way to do this? Resetting the clock/radio isn't hard
     
  5. Dec 19, 2010 at 8:41 AM
    #5
    Speed Freek

    Speed Freek Turbo lover!

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Member:
    #11676
    Messages:
    2,927
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Vista, Ca, Lake Havasu, Az.
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma V8 (LS1) swap
    LS1-T56 swap, Z06 ported heads, cam, Titanium valves, Kevlar clutch. Currently under the knife for turbocharger..
    Its the one under the hood in the engine compartment, the relay/fuse box has the locations for the fuses, or you can remove the negative cable from you battery if you would rather..
     
To Top