1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Retrofit causing relay to go bad?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas' started by T3XASMAD3, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. Apr 6, 2013 at 9:48 PM
    #1
    T3XASMAD3

    T3XASMAD3 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Member:
    #81666
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    Waco, Texas
    Vehicle:
    01 SR5 PreRunner
    I did a retrofit on my 01 taco about 10 months ago and havent had any trouble with it. The other day my tail lights and dash lights stopped working when i was driving so i checked the fuse and it was blown. Put a new fuse in and it did the same thing. I got to thinking it was the relay so i took it to the shop and it was in fact the relay. The guy that worked on it then told me that those "blue lights" were what caused the relay to go bad. So then today it happened again. Same exact problem. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Apr 7, 2013 at 7:54 AM
    #2
    CliffordBRD

    CliffordBRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Member:
    #75835
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cliff
    Alexandria, VA
    Retro'd headlights
    Possibly a short somewhere? Check the wiring with the headlights if you believe that is what is causing it. I couldn't imagine the headlight wiring would interfere with the tail wiring, but, then again, I don't know how Toyota set it up..
     
  3. Apr 7, 2013 at 7:57 AM
    #3
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,792
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Not completely sure on 1st Gens but typically the headlights are on a separate fuse than the tail and marker lights. I'm guessing you have a chaffed wire somewhere causing a short. When the fuse blows, do your headlights still work?

    If your retros were connected correctly, there should be very little draw from the factory wiring. Retros pull their power from another wire and only use the factory wiring as a switch.
     
  4. Apr 7, 2013 at 8:02 AM
    #4
    ppham444

    ppham444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34175
    Messages:
    1,465
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phuong
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Double cab 4X4 TRD Sport with JBL
    Redline Tuning hood struts, tinted windows, FX-R HID projector retrofit headlights, AMP power steps
    I would try putting in a higher rated fuse. If it's a 10 amp fuse, try putting in a 20 amp fuse and see if it still blows.
     
  5. Apr 10, 2013 at 4:03 PM
    #5
    T3XASMAD3

    T3XASMAD3 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Member:
    #81666
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ty
    Waco, Texas
    Vehicle:
    01 SR5 PreRunner
    sorry for the long delay, when the fuse blows the headlights remain on. Also i have tried going up to a bigger fuse and no luck. Ive checked the all the wiring and have had no luck... any other suggestions?
     
To Top