1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Review: UOBD2 Mini VCI for Toyota

Discussion in 'Product Reviews' started by ziggynagy, Aug 6, 2012.

  1. Aug 6, 2012 at 11:09 AM
    #1
    ziggynagy

    ziggynagy [OP] All Glory To The Hypnotoad

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66601
    Messages:
    1,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Stoughton, MA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Sport AC 4x4 V6 Auto Tow
    Westin step bars, led dome & map lights, tailgate hoseclamp, BluLogic, MetalMiller emblem, 35 tinted front windows, extra OEM d-rings, WeatherTech front/rear
    I've had a UOBD2 Mini VCI cable for a week now and thought I'd do a quick review for TW.

    First things first: I have no affiliation with the suppliers of this product nor is this review a guarantee of future performance, this is simply an account of my personal experience. Do not change settings where you do not know the outcome, this can cause irreparable damage to your vehicle. I do not condone use of this product.

    Now that we got that out of the way, on to the review...

    System Req's and Use: A PC that runs in Windows XP mode and USB in order to use Techstream, otherwise software will not work. Once loaded I had access to check OBDII and make programming changes.

    Ordering: Ordered Mini VCI Cable thru UODB2 website, payment made thru paypal. For $34.99 USD the order included 1x 6ft Mini VCI Cable, 1 mini-disc (preloaded with MVCI Firmware and Techstream 7.10.030 Software) and shipping. Vendor sent an email when order Received, Processed and Shipped.

    Delivery Timeline: Payment made Day 1, Order shipped Day 4, Arrived at my door on Day 14. While I got my package in great shape my biggest complaint is the complete lack of shipment tracking... no way to see where package is located or when it will be at my door.

    Mini VCI Cable and Disc
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    Install:
    Loading applications was easy and instructions are provided on disc. Once I loaded firmware/software from disc, I plugged cable into OBDII port (below coin tray, above emergency brake as pic'd) and was up and running.
    [​IMG]

    Example of Techstream use:
    Goodbye seatbelt warning chime!
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Aug 6, 2012 at 4:54 PM
    #2
    claymore

    claymore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Member:
    #84090
    Messages:
    352
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clay
    ABQ New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2012 Offroad
    TRD cat back exhaust, console vault(for my little friend),Pop and Lock, Bak Flip G2, Weather Tech window covers, LED inside and out, DTRL Anytime, Grillcraft Grill, BAMF Light Bar with Hella 500s and Blitzpro 15D, Eibach with 5100's all around set at .85 and top plate spacers, LR UCA's, toytec 2" add a leaf, Duratrack 285 75 16, ABS kill switch, Aux reverse lights, Blue Sea Aux fuse block, ImMrYo Bracket, LED Bedlights, Ultra Gauge,
    Cool. What else does it do? Other options?
     
  3. Aug 6, 2012 at 7:52 PM
    #3
    tango down

    tango down Policy Ninja

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Member:
    #65363
    Messages:
    575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jeff
    peoples republik of IL
    Vehicle:
    12 Taco DCSB TRD Off Road
    LED interior, rail mounted ammo cans
    i need to know MOAR!!!! I may get this just for the seat belt chime. Will it disable the door buzzer? If so I am game.

    thanks for the write up.
     
  4. Aug 7, 2012 at 10:30 AM
    #4
    ggms16

    ggms16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Member:
    #83980
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
  5. Aug 7, 2012 at 2:56 PM
    #5
    tango down

    tango down Policy Ninja

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Member:
    #65363
    Messages:
    575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jeff
    peoples republik of IL
    Vehicle:
    12 Taco DCSB TRD Off Road
    LED interior, rail mounted ammo cans
    thanks for the assist buddy, checking out the link now
     
  6. Aug 7, 2012 at 11:37 PM
    #6
    6spd

    6spd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Member:
    #72162
    Messages:
    823
    Gender:
    Male
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4
    hmmm, maybe in on this. could be worth it for just the tpms issue with aftermarket wheels(read: not installing tpms on aftermarket wheels)
     
  7. Aug 8, 2012 at 4:04 AM
    #7
    schleygo

    schleygo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46306
    Messages:
    327
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Ft Worth TX
    Vehicle:
    07 Dbl Cab Radiant Red
    Alarm w auto start, Bilstein 5100s, Eibach Coils, 2" toytec AAL, LR UCAs, Pioneer3400BT,

    I am also very interested. I sold my TPMS and have the light on all the time
     
  8. Aug 8, 2012 at 4:25 AM
    #8
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    10,322
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
    Found this in another thread. You could do this for free...........

    Behind the air conditioner panel on the dash you will find the ecu for the TPMS. Cut the blue wire, connect the end not on the connector to the red\white wire coming out of the same connector. This will shut the light off for good. This applies +5 volts which is exactly how the ecu shuts the light off. "bama trd" posted great instructions. Since there is 5 volts in the same harness it made it easy. Just did it today to get ready for inspection since my sensors are toast. I believe this works on 07+.
     
  9. Aug 8, 2012 at 5:18 AM
    #9
    redz80

    redz80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Member:
    #33649
    Messages:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Brampton, ON
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma SR5 TRD 4x4 SWB
    is this unit able to change the tire size in the computer so the computer doesn't have a shit fit when changeing from bigger summer to smaller winter tires?
     
  10. Aug 13, 2012 at 11:53 AM
    #10
    ziggynagy

    ziggynagy [OP] All Glory To The Hypnotoad

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66601
    Messages:
    1,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Stoughton, MA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Sport AC 4x4 V6 Auto Tow
    Westin step bars, led dome & map lights, tailgate hoseclamp, BluLogic, MetalMiller emblem, 35 tinted front windows, extra OEM d-rings, WeatherTech front/rear
    It will not disable the door buzzer, or at least I haven't seen the option. Lowering the volume I've heard can be done on a Tundra, but not seen on Tacoma.

    You can read OBDII Codes, perform techstream health checks, recalibrate tpms thru the utility as well get exact tire pressure values, reprogram ECU, check/troubleshoot system values including cruise control, ABS, VSC, and enable/disable seatbelt chimes.

    I know there are a lot more options listed in ggms16's thread regading lights, alarms, volume, etc but many of those Toyota features are only programmable on Tundras, not Tacos.
     
  11. Sep 24, 2012 at 6:05 PM
    #11
    BaLLZaCH

    BaLLZaCH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Member:
    #86515
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
  12. Sep 26, 2012 at 8:08 AM
    #12
    mitchbuck

    mitchbuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Member:
    #72280
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Cape Cod
    Vehicle:
    12 Taco 2xCab SR5
    Question. If I use this to turn off the seatbelt chime and then go to the dealer for routine maintenance will anything come up on the dealers computer showing that the computer settings have been changed? If so will this violate the warranty? Or will they only notice something if they check this specific setting?
     
  13. Sep 26, 2012 at 9:27 AM
    #13
    fyremanpat

    fyremanpat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Member:
    #87333
    Messages:
    348
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Pat
    757
    Vehicle:
    2013 DC LB TRD Sport w/Entune
    OME 886x and 5100's all the way around. Toytec AAL. Phillips x-treme vision headlights. 886 reverse lights. Borla exhaust. 20% tint. Hi 6 mod. 285/65/18 Nitto TG on 18" Moto Metal 955's. Airaid intake. Scanguage2.JBA LT's.GC Grill..more to come.
    I too was wondering about this. That would be great if it works.
     
  14. Oct 1, 2012 at 11:31 AM
    #14
    ziggynagy

    ziggynagy [OP] All Glory To The Hypnotoad

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66601
    Messages:
    1,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Stoughton, MA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Sport AC 4x4 V6 Auto Tow
    Westin step bars, led dome & map lights, tailgate hoseclamp, BluLogic, MetalMiller emblem, 35 tinted front windows, extra OEM d-rings, WeatherTech front/rear
    The seatbelt chime can be turned off by any dealer, so even if they notice I can't think of a reason why this would void warranty. Now going in and monkeying with the ECU programming would be a different story...

    I just went into the dealer for my 10k maintenance, they didn't say anything.
     
  15. Jan 20, 2013 at 3:09 PM
    #15
    P9HST2

    P9HST2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Member:
    #90042
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM AC TRD OR
    WeatherTech floor liners, tailgate hoseclamp, Famous Fab sliders, Brute Force Fab rear bumper, Icon "3T" suspension.
    I just received one of these from Ebay and thought I'd share since I bought it because of this thread. Seems to be essentially the same thing the OP has, but with the newer 7.20.041 software.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/160934824446?item=160934824446

    $25.88 shipped from China
    Ordered Dec 31, shipped Jan 1, and delivered Jan 18

    I loaded the software on an old XP laptop and played with it connected to the Tacoma for only a few minutes so far. Still figuring out the software but it seems to work well.
     
  16. Feb 12, 2013 at 9:46 AM
    #16
    ziggynagy

    ziggynagy [OP] All Glory To The Hypnotoad

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Member:
    #66601
    Messages:
    1,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Stoughton, MA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Sport AC 4x4 V6 Auto Tow
    Westin step bars, led dome & map lights, tailgate hoseclamp, BluLogic, MetalMiller emblem, 35 tinted front windows, extra OEM d-rings, WeatherTech front/rear
    Was the 7.20.041 sent on a disk? Zip File? Just curious if this is something you can shoot me an email cause I wouldn't mind newer software.
     
  17. Mar 12, 2013 at 1:47 PM
    #17
    Agro

    Agro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Member:
    #94915
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2015 Ford F-150 XLT 3.5L Ecoboost!
    I bought one and my disc is 7.31.003. I'll see about creating an .iso for you. I have yet to even open the package. I hope to do it maybe this week.
     
  18. Mar 12, 2013 at 3:49 PM
    #18
    P9HST2

    P9HST2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Member:
    #90042
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM AC TRD OR
    WeatherTech floor liners, tailgate hoseclamp, Famous Fab sliders, Brute Force Fab rear bumper, Icon "3T" suspension.
    Sorry, looks like I missed your post. It's on a disk. Shoot me a PM if you want to try it and I'll make an ISO. I'd like to try yours and Agro's too if you guys can do that.
     
  19. Mar 12, 2013 at 9:20 PM
    #19
    Agro

    Agro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Member:
    #94915
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2015 Ford F-150 XLT 3.5L Ecoboost!
    I can't get mine to work. I've spent about 2 hours tonight with this thing. My laptop is Win7 x64. I have the drivers installed, it detects it and in device manager it looks clean. Each time I try the various installs with the crack etc it basically tells me "Initializing USB Connection" and then says "Unable to Connect to VIM".

    I fired up Virtual PC with the WinXP image, installed the software, Attached the M-VCI and then it asked for drivers, which I gave and Device Manager is happy, still I get the error in WinXP mode. Not sure wtf.

    This is what I got: http://www.ebay.com/itm/261159388342?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

    I contacted seller, but we'll see.

    :EDIT:
    I have it working. In VirtualPC in WinXP, I found "VIM Select" and switched it. Whammo. Tacoma. time to play with this.

    :2nd EDIT:
    couldnt get it to customize to where I can make changes to seatbelt chime. perhaps cuz i am 2013...
    note - seller sent me a download link to v8.00.034. I grabbed it. I'll try that tomorrow. I have yet to see anyone else post up using that, so we'll see.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  20. Aug 13, 2013 at 6:31 PM
    #20
    Greenbean

    Greenbean B.S. Goodwrench

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Member:
    #84332
    Messages:
    1,390
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Western NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 RC 4WD AT
    Anyone have this working on Vista???

     
To Top