1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Roof rack opinions needed!

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by 10toy, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. Sep 24, 2009 at 7:11 PM
    #1
    10toy

    10toy [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Member:
    #23272
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    VT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma 4x4
    Hey guys...new to Tacomas...

    Just picked up a 2010 double cab 4x4 and am trying to decide what my roof rack options are. I will be putting a cap on the short bed. Has anyone hauled canoes with a cap and the factory roof rack only or will I need racks on the cab and the cap? Anyone happy with their setup?

    Thanks for any input!
     
  2. Sep 24, 2009 at 10:14 PM
    #2
    e_m

    e_m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Member:
    #4450
    Messages:
    2
    I have a dbl cab long bed with a canopy and a Yakima track system on the canopy with 2 crossbar's, I also added a Yakima bar to the front of the cab and it works perfect for carrying a 18' canoe. I have used only the 2 bars on the canopy for short trips but like having the 3rd bar on the cab.
     
  3. Sep 25, 2009 at 10:50 AM
    #3
    10toy

    10toy [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Member:
    #23272
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    VT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma 4x4
    Thanks! Did you install the rack system on the cab or is it one that latches in the door frame area? Have a pic by any chance?
     
  4. Sep 25, 2009 at 7:24 PM
    #4
    TacoBelle

    TacoBelle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Member:
    #14066
    Messages:
    118
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Silver PreRunner SR5 Stock
  5. Sep 25, 2009 at 7:52 PM
    #5
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    :woot: To another Vermonter :woot:

    I have a thule setup on my DC (XT400 Towers, 2160 fit kit, 58 LB & a fairing) just like tacobelle above.

    Are you going with a cab high shell (even with the cab) or one with step up?

    I had an A.R.E. MX cap on my 06 Tundra with a channel strip on top. A set of thule 300 towers locked into the channel & allowed you to adjust the bars wherever you wanted. Catamount North set me up. It was pretty slick. The Thule 300 Towers come in different heights, 5" & 9" I believe. Also I didn't use another bar on the tundra for my canoes or kayaks.
     
  6. Sep 25, 2009 at 10:57 PM
    #6
    e_m

    e_m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Member:
    #4450
    Messages:
    2
    Yes, the towers latch onto the front door jambs with clips and once it's set up only takes minutes to take on and off.
     
  7. Sep 27, 2009 at 4:17 PM
    #7
    10toy

    10toy [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Member:
    #23272
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    VT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma 4x4
    Thanks for your ideas everyone!

    I will be putting a cap on the truck that will be the same height as the cab...thinking I will put the toyota roof rack on and then use aftermarket towers and bars. Still not sure what I will do with the cap...what do you think?

    Seems like the double cab will be large enough to support the boats and keep them from hitting the cap...I don't have the truck yet...will be here mid-october...can't wait!

    ?
     
To Top