1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Rough Country Speedometer Calibrator

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by alwaysHI, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. Nov 6, 2018 at 12:05 PM
    #21
    0uTkAsT

    0uTkAsT Resident Outsider

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Member:
    #52127
    Messages:
    13,999
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Gilbert, AZ
    Vehicle:
    '18 6MT Off Road
    Money Pit
  2. Nov 6, 2018 at 12:09 PM
    #22
    Sungod

    Sungod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Member:
    #244194
    Messages:
    454
    Gender:
    Male
    St Augustine
    Rough Country isn't exactly known for top tier quality.
     
    tallpilot, Hobbs and Tac0Tic0 like this.
  3. Nov 6, 2018 at 1:53 PM
    #23
    commbubba19

    commbubba19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Member:
    #240020
    Messages:
    1,060
    Gender:
    Male
    Omaha, NE
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma OR - SOLD
    it's a wheel speed sensor regardless of transmission.
     
  4. Nov 6, 2018 at 1:56 PM
    #24
    EatSleepTacos

    EatSleepTacos MOBTOWN OFFROAD AMBASSADOR

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Member:
    #151688
    Messages:
    41,012
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Silver Spring, MD
    Vehicle:
    4x4 2005 SR5 AC 6MT POOP Edition
    Are you sure of that? How do you know?
     
    Tac0Tic0 likes this.
  5. Nov 6, 2018 at 3:11 PM
    #25
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Prove it. Go unplug all 4 then go for a ride and see what happens
     
    EatSleepTacos likes this.
  6. Nov 6, 2018 at 3:16 PM
    #26
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    So I just chatted with a RC “live chat” and it says it uses GPS to calibrate it :eek:
     
  7. Nov 6, 2018 at 3:22 PM
    #27
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
  8. Nov 6, 2018 at 3:55 PM
    #28
    bulalo

    bulalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Member:
    #233682
    Messages:
    658
    Vehicle:
    2017 trd offroad 4wd LB
    none at the moment
  9. Nov 6, 2018 at 4:25 PM
    #29
    alwaysHI

    alwaysHI [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Member:
    #168846
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM DCSB
    Pro Comp 6", full length 5100's with OME 888 w/ taco lean spacer, 5100 extended rear with OME Dakar leaf pack and 3" block, HS extended brake lines, SCS 17” Stealth 6, 285/70/17 Goodyear Kevlar MTRs, Nitro 4.88 regear
    What were they originally thinking you were inquiring about? Hahaha oh boy
     
    Tac0Tic0 likes this.
  10. Nov 6, 2018 at 5:50 PM
    #30
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Hobbs likes this.
  11. Nov 6, 2018 at 6:37 PM
    #31
    Hobbs

    Hobbs Giraffe Whisperer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Member:
    #181838
    Messages:
    4,519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    on U.S. Route 395 in California.
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off Road AC, AT, QuickSand
  12. Nov 6, 2018 at 6:44 PM
    #32
    MESO

    MESO Major Modder Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Member:
    #148809
    Messages:
    12,484
    Gender:
    Male
    State of Jefferson
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCLB TRD OR QS
    Really? My hypertech was not available to purchase in CA.. at least when I purchased it
     
  13. Nov 6, 2018 at 6:45 PM
    #33
    Stocklocker

    Stocklocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Member:
    #219125
    Messages:
    4,496
    Gender:
    Male
    West Coast
    Vehicle:
    17TRDORDCSBAT
    Wheel speed sensors are thrown out of whack by larger tires. They count revolutions of a wheel of the outer diameter they expect (stock size tires), and use that the interpret speed. If you put a larger tire in you will have less revolutions over the same distance, so the wheel speed sensors that feed data to the ECU will feed it incorrect data regarding vehicle speed.

    Whether or not this is part of the shift-point calculation by the ECU is unknown to me, but the data coming off the wheel speed sensors on a truck with larger tires than stock will be scewed.
     
    xxTacocaTxx likes this.
  14. Nov 6, 2018 at 6:56 PM
    #34
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    I’m thinking it does not change the ecu data. But I’ll likely buy one and log it with techstream.

    I’ve been wanting to adjust my speedo for a long time.

    I’ll just blast them online for false advertising
     
    alwaysHI [OP] and bulalo like this.
  15. Nov 6, 2018 at 8:14 PM
    #35
    Hobbs

    Hobbs Giraffe Whisperer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Member:
    #181838
    Messages:
    4,519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    on U.S. Route 395 in California.
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off Road AC, AT, QuickSand
    They shipped it to my door. Says right on the box "Emissions certified 50-state legal" (for what that's worth...). The Air Resources Board may disagree.
     
  16. Nov 7, 2018 at 6:23 AM
    #36
    commbubba19

    commbubba19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Member:
    #240020
    Messages:
    1,060
    Gender:
    Male
    Omaha, NE
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma OR - SOLD
    correct - not arguing that.
     
  17. Nov 16, 2018 at 10:25 PM
    #37
    Brostjoe

    Brostjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Member:
    #166939
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    British Columbia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Limited DCLB
    Anyone with some reviews or feedback on this unit?
     
  18. Nov 17, 2018 at 3:56 AM
    #38
    MOC221_

    MOC221_ 3rd Gen GinGer StepchilD

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Member:
    #178858
    Messages:
    5,508
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Vehicle:
    2016 OR AC 6MT
    OVT 1.05 FOB 91
    Some of you are ignoring the facts:

    Speed sensor 1.jpg Speed sensor 2.jpg speed sensor 3.jpg speed sensor 4.jpg Speed sensor 5.jpg Speed sensor 6.jpg
     
    xxTacocaTxx likes this.
  19. Nov 17, 2018 at 5:34 AM
    #39
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    I hooked mine up today. Will be posting shots of techstream next to gps data.
     
    MOC221_ likes this.
  20. Nov 17, 2018 at 7:34 AM
    #40
    MOC221_

    MOC221_ 3rd Gen GinGer StepchilD

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Member:
    #178858
    Messages:
    5,508
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Vehicle:
    2016 OR AC 6MT
    OVT 1.05 FOB 91
    Could you take shots of techstream veh speed PID as compared to cluster before the install ? <NVM, just re-read your post and you've already installed the sucker.
    I mean, I'm interested to see how accurate the speed calibrator is compared with GPS as well, but I suspect there will be a small difference in any case.

    There are some on TW that insist that the speed signal from the wheel sensors goes to the ECM first, and that any calibrator device will just change what the cluster shows. According to the SM, that's just not true.

    Edit: Without knowing exactly how the hypertech or rough country units connect behind the dash, I cannot say 100% if they will affect the signal that ends up going to the ECM as well as what you see on the cluster. Logically speaking, I can't see where the two being different values would be a good idea. I CAN say that the speed signal (stock) definitely passes THROUGH the cluster before it hits the ECM.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2018

Products Discussed in

To Top