1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Rough Country Speedometer Calibrator

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by alwaysHI, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. Nov 17, 2018 at 7:51 AM
    #41
    ddettamanti

    ddettamanti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Member:
    #254154
    Messages:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    SLC, UT
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma TRD - offroad
    I bought a rough country for a ram I owned previously and it calibrated based off gps it was interesting but it worked well
     
    Brostjoe likes this.
  2. Nov 17, 2018 at 9:02 AM
    #42
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Can confirm, does not change what the ECU sees...

    Phone is the GPS signal speed

    https://youtu.be/ET7ec4PW7E4

    This one has the SP2 speed which is slightly faster but still not correct with GPS and the dash.

    https://youtu.be/uxJMVpBPa_A
     
  3. Nov 17, 2018 at 9:18 AM
    #43
    MOC221_

    MOC221_ 3rd Gen GinGer StepchilD

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Member:
    #178858
    Messages:
    5,508
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Vehicle:
    2016 OR AC 6MT
    OVT 1.05 FOB 91
    Thank you for taking the time to investigate this.

    Now I'm going to need to see if there's a difference between the ECM value and the cluster W/O the calibrator (I have stock size tires). What PID(s) did you use in techstream?
     
    xxTacocaTxx likes this.
  4. Nov 17, 2018 at 9:33 AM
    #44
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    I left the USB cable attached and accessible so I can easily swap tire sizes.

    Once my laptop is done charging again I’ll remove the constants from the calibrator and see what happens.

    I used the generic “vehicle speed” and another one called “Speed (SP2)”. Both from the TCU.

    The first video is using the speed from ECU
     
    xxTacocaTxx and MOC221_ like this.
  5. Nov 17, 2018 at 9:39 AM
    #45
    MOC221_

    MOC221_ 3rd Gen GinGer StepchilD

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Member:
    #178858
    Messages:
    5,508
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Vehicle:
    2016 OR AC 6MT
    OVT 1.05 FOB 91
    Thank you again!

    If you have time, can you briefly explain the calibrator installation? I assume there's an install document that comes with it... tells what connectors to pull etc.
     
  6. Nov 17, 2018 at 9:46 AM
    #46
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Extremely simple. Only need a Phillips screw driver. Remove the trim around the radio (there’s a few tutorials on here). Remove the trim around the driver side AC vent. Lower steering wheel. Unscrew 4 easy to access screws. Pull cluster towards you, remove OEM connector from cluster and plug it into the new harness. Plug new harness into connector. Reinstall.

    Before all of this you need to download the program from the hypertech site to plug in your values.

    There is a usb cable that is supplied. It’s just used to program the calibrator.

    It can be removed, but I ran it down the dash and tucked it away in the carpet by the pedals.

    Someone made a video

    https://youtu.be/rx44N8sImFU
     
    MOC221_ likes this.
  7. Nov 17, 2018 at 12:17 PM
    #47
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Well guys, I can officially say that the ECU sees absolutely nothing from the cluster.

    This goes for the MPG meters also. Using the fuel consumption screen on techstream, the speed that it’s sensing is the same that the ecu is using. I need to verify the distance traveled though.
     
  8. Nov 17, 2018 at 2:32 PM
    #48
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    I really don’t understand how the hypertech doesn’t fix it.

    I even looked at the individual wheel speeds.

    Each wheel was reading 38.7
    Vehicle speed 38.7
    Indicated (calibrated) & GPS speed 40

    Something isn’t right.
     
  9. Nov 17, 2018 at 5:44 PM
    #49
    Brostjoe

    Brostjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Member:
    #166939
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    British Columbia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Limited DCLB
    back to the actual thread, who has ran the Rough Country Calibrator and what did you think of it?
     
  10. Nov 17, 2018 at 5:59 PM
    #50
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    I doubt the rough country is any different than hypertech.
     
    Brostjoe likes this.
  11. Nov 17, 2018 at 6:05 PM
    #51
    Brostjoe

    Brostjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Member:
    #166939
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    British Columbia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Limited DCLB
    good for the price.
     
    Tac0Tic0 likes this.
  12. Nov 17, 2018 at 6:07 PM
    #52
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Yep. But rough country is claiming it changes what the ecu sees. I think that’s incorrect.
     
    MESO and Brostjoe like this.
  13. Nov 19, 2018 at 7:16 PM
    #53
    alwaysHI

    alwaysHI [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Member:
    #168846
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM DCSB
    Pro Comp 6", full length 5100's with OME 888 w/ taco lean spacer, 5100 extended rear with OME Dakar leaf pack and 3" block, HS extended brake lines, SCS 17” Stealth 6, 285/70/17 Goodyear Kevlar MTRs, Nitro 4.88 regear
    I need to calibrate regardless sometime soon.
    My fuel needle moves waay quicker than stock, even tho the truck is saying after each trip I’m getting decent mpg for a lifted/geared Tacoma on 33’s. I’ll average 20 ish in town at the moment.
    I know I travel distance wise, further than the odometer displays as well. For a full tank, my odometer will display 230-250 and it’s kinda annoying me now haha
     
  14. Nov 19, 2018 at 7:25 PM
    #54
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Nearly certain that the fuel meter doesn’t account for the speedo calibrator.

    I need to do further testing with techstream.
     
  15. Nov 19, 2018 at 11:03 PM
    #55
    alwaysHI

    alwaysHI [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Member:
    #168846
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM DCSB
    Pro Comp 6", full length 5100's with OME 888 w/ taco lean spacer, 5100 extended rear with OME Dakar leaf pack and 3" block, HS extended brake lines, SCS 17” Stealth 6, 285/70/17 Goodyear Kevlar MTRs, Nitro 4.88 regear
    Hmm.
    Unless my speedo is that farrrrr off? The trip odometer says 250 when I may really have gone 350? Lol
     
  16. Nov 20, 2018 at 4:03 AM
    #56
    Tac0Tic0

    Tac0Tic0 новий член

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Member:
    #267519
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Mpg meters
     
  17. Nov 20, 2018 at 10:03 AM
    #57
    shawn3210

    shawn3210 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #159049
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    california
    Vehicle:
    2018 turd offroad 2wd
    stock
    So how can I get this in California lol
     
  18. Jan 18, 2019 at 7:09 AM
    #58
    RedBeard1

    RedBeard1 Hangry Fat Kid

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Member:
    #169163
    Messages:
    2,434
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Red
    The Republic of Texas
    Vehicle:
    1985 Hilux Crawler(Pete), 2016 Quicksand TRD OR 6MT (Wombat), 2016 TRD Pro T4R
    Mostly stuff I built.
    I installed this yesterday. Had a firmware issue with it. Contacted Rough County for tech and told them about my issue. They gave me the number to Hypertech for support on the in-line calibrator. Hypertech verified that it is the same unit that they offer. Rough Country simply reboxes them with their logo and sends them out. I updated the firmware and all is good. Working just as it should.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
    alwaysHI [OP] and inksin like this.
  19. Jan 18, 2019 at 7:21 AM
    #59
    Tacoma3rdGen

    Tacoma3rdGen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Member:
    #271933
    Messages:
    823
    Gender:
    Male
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma Limited
    Just have an out of state friend/relative buy it and ship it to you... what is CA gonna do to ya, put you in CA EPA jail?
     
  20. Jan 18, 2019 at 1:14 PM
    #60
    alwaysHI

    alwaysHI [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Member:
    #168846
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM DCSB
    Pro Comp 6", full length 5100's with OME 888 w/ taco lean spacer, 5100 extended rear with OME Dakar leaf pack and 3" block, HS extended brake lines, SCS 17” Stealth 6, 285/70/17 Goodyear Kevlar MTRs, Nitro 4.88 regear
    Same same but cheaper?
    Good deal. Thanks for updating us!
     
    Brostjoe likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top