1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Rough Country Speedometer Calibrator

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by alwaysHI, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. Apr 2, 2019 at 8:09 AM
    #61
    Synergy001

    Synergy001 IG: @pnwx.taco

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Member:
    #171908
    Messages:
    1,456
    Gender:
    Male
    Hillsboro, OR
    Vehicle:
    2016 Super White TRD Sport 4x4 DCSB
    Any new reviews on the Rough Country version?
     
  2. Apr 2, 2019 at 11:05 AM
    #62
    RedBeard1

    RedBeard1 Hangry Fat Kid

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Member:
    #169163
    Messages:
    2,434
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Red
    The Republic of Texas
    Vehicle:
    1985 Hilux Crawler(Pete), 2016 Quicksand TRD OR 6MT (Wombat), 2016 TRD Pro T4R
    Mostly stuff I built.
    Same exact unit as Hyper-tech rebranded and cheaper. Verified by Hyper-tech when I had to get firmware update from them.
     
    Synergy001 and Taco_Coma like this.
  3. May 6, 2019 at 9:28 PM
    #63
    hellaflushca

    hellaflushca @truck_norriz

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Member:
    #126970
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Whats up TW!

    Thanks to @Synergy001 I pulled the trigger on the Rough Country Speedo Calibrator

    Here are my notes.


    1. Easy to install if you don't have an expedition essentials TPAM mount, if you have TPAM, it makes install a little bit longer.
    2. Confirmed as mentioned in previous replies. Same as hypertech. I actually used Hypertech's Firmware on their site vs Rough Countries and it worked.
    3. Will work with certain types of windows operating systems ( so if it doesn't download or you have error codes, if you cant solve it, try another computer and it might work, just depends on the operating system)

    4. DO NOT INPUT YOUR NEW GEAR RATIO!!! the system is only made to work with tire size, whether you put the tire size or the exact inches. If you put that you went from stock Gears ( 3.909 ) to (4.88 or 5.29), it will cause inaccurate readings. I went down the highway 2 times before i realized the fix.

    SO LEAVE THE GEAR RATIO ALONE!

    5. For my truck (2016 Limted DCSB) my stock tire size was 265/60/18. I was told if you put 265/75/16 * a more accurate stock size * it will actually read even more accurate.
    6. Leave your USB programming cable on the module and run it down to the side of the fuse box, or if you have a Longer USB Cable run it down the left side ( please make sure you don't interfere with your steering and adjustable column ) This will allow you to hook it up to your computer on its own or via extension and make any software updates without taking your whole dash off again.

    Anyway's for reference I have posted my IG live video via @truck_norriz below.

    MY verdict, for $150 dollars, or the slightly more expensive hypertech version, this is extremely worth it.

    Cheers TW


    IG VIDEO
    https://youtu.be/2rguaCVRj9A
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2019
  4. May 6, 2019 at 11:04 PM
    #64
    alwaysHI

    alwaysHI [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Member:
    #168846
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM DCSB
    Pro Comp 6", full length 5100's with OME 888 w/ taco lean spacer, 5100 extended rear with OME Dakar leaf pack and 3" block, HS extended brake lines, SCS 17” Stealth 6, 285/70/17 Goodyear Kevlar MTRs, Nitro 4.88 regear
    Wicked!! Thanks for chiming in for all of us!
     
    hellaflushca likes this.
  5. May 6, 2019 at 11:18 PM
    #65
    hellaflushca

    hellaflushca @truck_norriz

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Member:
    #126970
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male

    I was actually fine without it. Then California’s gas prices went above 4 bucks lol so I figured better time than ever
     
    Synergy001 likes this.
  6. May 7, 2019 at 12:42 PM
    #66
    L-SCHLEGS

    L-SCHLEGS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Member:
    #226391
    Messages:
    422
    Gender:
    Male
    Nashville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2017 CEMENT TRD PRO
    Will this correct the mpg meter as well as odometer? Or just speedometer?
     
  7. May 7, 2019 at 1:48 PM
    #67
    buntcake

    buntcake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Member:
    #202394
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Silver Sky TRD OR
    Sounds like from the other posters' research this doesn't change what the ECU sees, meaning that it only adjusts the speedo. From what I understand, that means that ODO and MPG meters will be unaffected and still inaccurate.

    If anyone knows of a system that can change data fed to the ECU that would be awesome.
     
  8. May 7, 2019 at 2:01 PM
    #68
    mlr69

    mlr69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Member:
    #252413
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2018 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB
    2" ToyTec/Eibach Pro Sport lift kit 3/4" ToyTec front top plate spacer kit BFG KO2 285/75/17 (34") 1-1/4" Spidertrax wheel spacers Predator Tube Steps BAKFlip G2 Tonneau Frameless mirror w/Homelink @RJP869 Kicker speakers (x6) Hypertech in-line speedometer calibrator Radio Knobs @Tacowiede LLumar FormulaOne Pinnacle Window Tint ACDF horn kit @BartMaster1234 MESO Total Tail Light Kit @MESO ECT Button Relocation Kit @Tacowiede
    I know nothing about this Rough Country unit except from what I've read on TW. It seems they are just putting their name on the Hypertech calibrator and selling it for less. Having said that, I own a Hypertech and can tell you for sure that it does affect the speedometer, odometer and shift points - so I will assume that it does indeed also affect the MPG meters. Keep in mind, stored data will not change after the install, but newly recorded data should be accurate.

    http://www.hypertech-inc.com/InlineSpeedometerCalibrator.aspx
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2019
    Aldo98229 and Deucer01 like this.
  9. May 7, 2019 at 2:54 PM
    #69
    buntcake

    buntcake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Member:
    #202394
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Silver Sky TRD OR
    How can you say that for sure? Tico tested the numbers using tech stream and saw the ECU numbers varied from the adjusted speedo reading. The ODO and MPG calc uses the ECU numbers.
     
  10. May 7, 2019 at 3:02 PM
    #70
    mlr69

    mlr69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Member:
    #252413
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2018 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB
    2" ToyTec/Eibach Pro Sport lift kit 3/4" ToyTec front top plate spacer kit BFG KO2 285/75/17 (34") 1-1/4" Spidertrax wheel spacers Predator Tube Steps BAKFlip G2 Tonneau Frameless mirror w/Homelink @RJP869 Kicker speakers (x6) Hypertech in-line speedometer calibrator Radio Knobs @Tacowiede LLumar FormulaOne Pinnacle Window Tint ACDF horn kit @BartMaster1234 MESO Total Tail Light Kit @MESO ECT Button Relocation Kit @Tacowiede
    I keep a spreadsheet on all my vehicles, the odometer and gallons are recorded every time I get gas. Before Hypertech, the numbers were off, after Hypertech, the number are back to accurate. My numbers also match my GPS app. Don't know what else to tell you.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2019
    Deucer01 likes this.
  11. May 7, 2019 at 3:03 PM
    #71
    Aldo98229

    Aldo98229 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Member:
    #290072
    Messages:
    640
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aldo
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma TRD Off-Road
    Will this work on 2019 Tacomas?

    Last I saw on Hypertech’s own website, they still hadn’t broken the code on the 2019s.
     
  12. May 7, 2019 at 3:06 PM
    #72
    mlr69

    mlr69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Member:
    #252413
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2018 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB
    2" ToyTec/Eibach Pro Sport lift kit 3/4" ToyTec front top plate spacer kit BFG KO2 285/75/17 (34") 1-1/4" Spidertrax wheel spacers Predator Tube Steps BAKFlip G2 Tonneau Frameless mirror w/Homelink @RJP869 Kicker speakers (x6) Hypertech in-line speedometer calibrator Radio Knobs @Tacowiede LLumar FormulaOne Pinnacle Window Tint ACDF horn kit @BartMaster1234 MESO Total Tail Light Kit @MESO ECT Button Relocation Kit @Tacowiede
    Same thing happened to me on my 2018, their website site only went up to 2017. I talked to them and they said they were working on 2018. Sure enough, a couple months later, 2018 was available, and a software update was applied to make it work properly. I will assume their engineers are working on a 2019 update, but I don't know - give them a call.
     
    Deucer01 and Aldo98229 like this.
  13. May 7, 2019 at 3:20 PM
    #73
    Aldo98229

    Aldo98229 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Member:
    #290072
    Messages:
    640
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aldo
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tacoma TRD Off-Road
    If this programmer adjusts the speedo, odo and transmission shift points, then it does the same thing as the AEV ProCal programmer for Jeep Wranglers.
     
  14. May 7, 2019 at 3:28 PM
    #74
    Deucer01

    Deucer01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Member:
    #206999
    Messages:
    1,043
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 4x4 AC
    Also, Rough Country has a 30 day full refund policy so nothing to loose if not as described.
     
    L-SCHLEGS likes this.
  15. May 15, 2019 at 4:52 PM
    #75
    L-SCHLEGS

    L-SCHLEGS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Member:
    #226391
    Messages:
    422
    Gender:
    Male
    Nashville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2017 CEMENT TRD PRO
    Just installed tonight. Used 30.6” for stock size and used tiresize.com size (34.6”) for new tires. It’s on the money with these 35s. Seems to correct MPG reading which is something I was wanting, so I’m guessing the ODO will be accurate now too.
     
    alwaysHI [OP], mlr69 and Deucer01 like this.
  16. May 20, 2019 at 10:25 PM
    #76
    Dee_Rail

    Dee_Rail Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Member:
    #257857
    Messages:
    171
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dee
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    '18 Tacoma Off Road 4x4
    Just finished installing mine. Few things... Discrepancy before installing the calibrator was about 4 to 5 mph difference over, gauge said 70 mph, GPS showed 74/75 mph, after install gauge said a 1 to 2 mph difference under, gauge said 74 mph, GPS showed 72/73 mph. MPG was also affected. Before install, miles down to empty showed 274 miles, after install it changed to 377 miles down to empty. o_O

    Also affected was using radar cruise control, if I set it at 70 mph, cruising speed would actually be 4 to 5 mph faster.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2019 at 11:10 PM
  17. May 21, 2019 at 5:37 AM
    #77
    mlr69

    mlr69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Member:
    #252413
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2018 4x4 TRD Sport DCSB
    2" ToyTec/Eibach Pro Sport lift kit 3/4" ToyTec front top plate spacer kit BFG KO2 285/75/17 (34") 1-1/4" Spidertrax wheel spacers Predator Tube Steps BAKFlip G2 Tonneau Frameless mirror w/Homelink @RJP869 Kicker speakers (x6) Hypertech in-line speedometer calibrator Radio Knobs @Tacowiede LLumar FormulaOne Pinnacle Window Tint ACDF horn kit @BartMaster1234 MESO Total Tail Light Kit @MESO ECT Button Relocation Kit @Tacowiede
    You may want to play some more with your Hypertech settings - if you have it set correctly, your speedometer should be dead on with your GPS numbers. Once you get your speedo correct, the rest (odo, mpg, shift points) will be accurate too.

    The radar cruise control numbers are not effected by the Hypertech, unfortunately that will always be inaccurate. Seems the cruise control gets it data from a different location and does not go through the Hypertech.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top