1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Routing amp power cable

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Beer brewer, Sep 6, 2009.

  1. Sep 6, 2009 at 8:08 AM
    #1
    Beer brewer

    Beer brewer [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19009
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Western Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    SR5 6Cyl. 4x4 Auto.
    What's the "best " way to route a 4 gauge power cable to amp.Have an 09 access cab.Did you guys go through the existing grommet in fire wall (looks real tight) or did you just go ahead and drill a separate hole with a new grommet.One more thing. Has anyone installed an amp and sub behind rear seats of your 09' access cab? Pics anyone?not even sure if there is room.Just got the truck last month and trying to do as much research as i can before I get into this audio stuff to deep!! going to do a complete audio overhaul. Already sick of the factory junk.. thanks in advance
     
  2. Sep 6, 2009 at 8:26 AM
    #2
    ilovetacos

    ilovetacos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4464
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gavin
    Sacramento/Woodland
    Vehicle:
    2006 TRD Sport 4x4 DC
    Sold!
    The existing grommet is the easiest way to go and there is plenty of room to get it thru. I have a double cab but there are a ton of guys/gals that have put a sub box in the access cab. If you check out XR-Underground.com you will find a lot more.
     
  3. Sep 6, 2009 at 8:56 AM
    #3
    86ceeten

    86ceeten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Member:
    #21621
    Messages:
    223
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    NW Florida
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Off Road PreRunner
    Limo tint, 18x10 Diamo Karat, Toyo 285-60's, Rear TSB, 5100's all around, front at 2.5", Debadged, Sound System (evolving)
    In the factory grommet on my 08, there is a "baby bottle nipple" looking thing below the factory wiring harness. Take some scissors and cut the end of that off and it's a perfect snug fit for a 4 gauge. Put some soap on the cable and pull it from inside the cab to under the hood.
     
  4. Sep 6, 2009 at 11:20 AM
    #4
    JayAre

    JayAre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Member:
    #21395
    Messages:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    OR
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Sport DCLB
    Yeah I used the existing grommet as well. I stabbed the hole from the inside of the cab with a pair of scissors and twisted them around to make it a bit bigger. Then I hooked the power wire with a coat hanger and taped it up. I put some lube (yes from the nightstand lol) on the tip of the wire and pushed it though as much as I could, then pulled on the hanger from the other end.

    To make things easier, take out the kick panel, door jam panels, and seats first. And don't forget to disconnect the negative battery terminal.
     
  5. Sep 6, 2009 at 11:40 AM
    #5
    Raylo

    Raylo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    430
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab, TRD Sport
    I ran mine under the truck (also an access cab) and up through a bolt hole where one the rear seat belts used to be. Of course this only works if you don't want to ever carry any passengers back there. I had already taken out the rear seats, head rests, and buckle end parts of the seat belts. This was for an amp for a 10" woofer. Mine is just 8 ga but probably will work for 4 ga. See install photos here: http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/audio-video/48261-09-access-cab-sub-install.html
     
  6. Sep 6, 2009 at 11:53 AM
    #6
    JayAre

    JayAre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Member:
    #21395
    Messages:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    OR
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Sport DCLB
    Interesting...do you have pics of the underside of the truck showing how you routed it?

    I think 4ga is too thick for a seat belt hole though.
     
  7. Sep 6, 2009 at 12:14 PM
    #7
    Raylo

    Raylo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    430
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab, TRD Sport
    I don't have pics from underneath. Just used a bunch of zip ties and some corrugated cable housing for a little extra abrasion and heat resistance, esp around the cat heat shield. Yeah, 4 ga may or may not fit. If it doesn't you could splice the 4ga into 2 parallel pieces of 8 ga underneath and take one up each seat belt hole, then rejoin the ends. Or you could always drill out the hole... or drill another hole in that vicinity and pop in a grommet. Also, there are several large rubber factory plugs under there that could be used.....
     
To Top