1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Running different loads on an amp

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Evil Monkey, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. Dec 3, 2009 at 1:04 PM
    #1
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey [OP] There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    Does it harm the amp to run two different impedance loads on multiple channels? My speakers are a 4-ohm load and the sub is a 2-ohm load (voice coils hooked up in parallel). Currently, I have a 4-channel amp with my driver and passenger speakers hooked up to create a 2 ohm load on the 2 front channels with the dual voice coil sub bridged on the 2 rear channels. If I disconnected the rear speakers, it would jump to a 4 ohm load on the front and a 2 ohm load on the back. I was also thinking about a 5 channel amp, but it would be the same issue.

    The amp I have now works but it shuts off if I turn it up too loud for too long with heavy bass (overheat protection?). I prefer one amp for simplicity's sake.
     
  2. Dec 3, 2009 at 1:58 PM
    #2
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    What amp do you have? I'm guessing that your amp really isn't supposed to be bridged at 2ohms. I find that most are only 4ohm stable in bridged mode.
     
  3. Dec 3, 2009 at 2:06 PM
    #3
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey [OP] There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
  4. Dec 3, 2009 at 2:10 PM
    #4
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    ^Yep, minimum impedance bridged is 4 ohms.

    You buy a sub that wires to 4ohms. Either that or try what you have at 8ohms. It wont have as much power but your amp wont blow up; and that's a plus.
     
  5. Dec 3, 2009 at 2:11 PM
    #5
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey [OP] There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    Okay, thanks.
     
  6. Dec 3, 2009 at 2:20 PM
    #6
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,865
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    No problem man. If you need any other help with it lemme know.
     
To Top