1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Running rca and ground wires in access cab

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Lizard1080, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. Mar 8, 2010 at 9:26 AM
    #1
    Lizard1080

    Lizard1080 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Member:
    #25944
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chase
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    07 5lug SR5
    Readylift SST 5 lug, T-Rex Eyelids, Alpine CDA-105, 12" Alpine Type-R, Kenwood 1000w amp
    I'm waiting for my wires and amp and sub box to get here and getting ready for the install. Running the power cable seems easy but where do i run my rca and ground cables in an access cab? Thanks.
     
  2. Mar 8, 2010 at 11:31 AM
    #2
    81shark

    81shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10567
    Messages:
    1,459
    Gender:
    Male
    depends on where your amp is.

    mine is under the drivers seat. i ran the rca wires down behind the dash, under the center console to the back of the center console and then out the lower side to the drivers seat.

    i've got a few zip ties under the console to hold the wires in place.

    i grounded to the driver seat bolt
     
  3. Mar 8, 2010 at 12:27 PM
    #3
    Anthony

    Anthony San Antonio Detailer :)

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Member:
    #6464
    Messages:
    860
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston - Spring/Tomball area
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner access cab 2.7L M5
    Nfabs Afe Pro Dry UWS linex'd toolbox
    id say either under the console or pull up the door sills and run them thru there.
     
  4. Mar 8, 2010 at 2:17 PM
    #4
    81shark

    81shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10567
    Messages:
    1,459
    Gender:
    Male

    for what it's worth, i kept mine in the console to keep the RCA wires away from the power wire that i ran under the door sill. although i could have gone done the passenger sill. i was concerned with interference from the power wire, however, i did run speaker wire down the driver side door sill and havne't had any noise issues.
     
  5. Mar 10, 2010 at 2:27 PM
    #5
    JoeSchmuck

    JoeSchmuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Member:
    #17443
    Messages:
    261
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 2x4 O.R., Timberline Green
    NASTA Black 3" Nerf Bars, Pop & Lock, Access LE Rollup Cover, Alpine PDX-5 Amp, Image Dynamics CS-6/CX-6 & 10" Sub (using stock Head Unit)
    I like the console idea myself. It's good to read these forums, many good ideas and practical experience.
     
To Top